We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is by far the nicest place to stay in Granada.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miss Margrit's Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Miss Margrit's Guest House to your Saves list
Miss Margrit's Guest House
Calle Gutierrez | Iglesia Xalteva 1 ½ Al Norte, Granada 100074, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 48 Granada B&B and Inns
Chicago, IL
1 review
“This is by far the nicest place to stay in Granada.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

There is not much one can add to the glowing reviews except to agree 100 percent. We stayed 6 nights. It is a very beautiful house built in a traditional manner and also features all the modern conveniences you might want. We loved our hosts. We loved relaxing by the pool. Miss Margrit's only drawback is that it is so nice you might just spend your entire time in Granada without leaving the premises. Don't do that because Granada has a lot to offer. We would love to return to Granada and would definitely stay at Miss Margrit's again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
120
27
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

Five nights at Miss Margrit’s, and we’re already planning our next visit. Our jaws dropped as host Owen opened the door to welcome us to the grand sprawling Colonial home that is Miss Margrit’s. Two courtyards, one fountain/garden, the other pool/garden, dominate the public spaces downstairs. Gawking continued as we admired antique furniture, exquisite decorations, and manicured but lush gardens. The two guest bedrooms upstairs are large and airy, offering either a/c or large windows and doors on two sides to catch the evening breeze. Exquisite, with no expense spared. How can this be ours for $50/night?

Then it gets better. Owen and Becky are consummate hosts. They will immediately bring you up to speed on their favorite activities in and around their lovely city, and they’ll help you navigate the marvelous bus system that can take you apparently anywhere, and cheaply, should you choose to travel like the locals. (You should.) Owen will be the one to delight you at breakfast with fresh fruits, juices, and a broad range of choices including yogurt, local artisanal breads, eggs, granola, … He’ll then help you plan your day or chat over coffee. We took dips in the pool morning, noon, and night. The location is an easy walk to the center of town but away from the tourist crowds. Free WiFi and free breakfast of course.

I took lots of photos, but it appears others have covered this. It's even prettier than it looks in the photos.

Go, enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

My partner and I travelled to Nicaragua and stayed at Miss Magrit's Guesthouse for 7 nights. We woke up each day to an incredible, freshly-cooked breakfast by Owen, one of our hosts. These included scrambled eggs with chopped tomatoes and onions on homemade bread and fresh juice, tea/coffee. Each afternoon after touring the city and surrounding towns we returned to relax and cool off in the beautiful pool. Our hosts, Becky and Owen were always there to welcome us back and offer us a cold drink. We truly cannot say enough wonderful things about Owen and Becky. It was like staying with family. There guesthouse is a true gem. It was breathtaking and we constantly commented how lucky we were to find such a fabulous place to stay. Our room was clean, large, nicely decorated and with a modern, private bathroom. We walked everywhere, hardly ever taking a taxi and felt perfectly safe walking home in the evenings after eating in one of many delicious restaurants in Granada. We made Miss Magrit's our home base and easily toured local sights such as Masaya, Volcan Mombacho, The Insalatas and Apoyo Lagoon We had a wonderful holiday in Nicaragua and would highly recommend Miss Magrit's Guesthouse.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

This colonial home, meticulously restored, is one of the best, coolest and cleanest places I have ever stayed. The hosts, Becky and Owen, are both gracious and welcoming. The rooms are air conditioned and beautifully furnished. A cool drink and cogent advice are readily available. Granada is a warm city and to come back after doing the tourist slog, have a shower and then jump in the pool was terrific!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for 8 days in March. Had a wonderful time and so enjoyed time spent with Owen and Becky our hosts. Granada is lovely place to walk and browse about with places a short taxi ride away 'Lagoona Apoyo' is not to be missed.

Hard to beat Owen's breakfasts but every place we ate tried their best and Jimmy 3 finger's is a must visit for the best steak my wife say's she's ever had.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

We completely enjoyed our stay at Miss Margrits - perfect for accessing trips and tours in the area. Owen & Becky are knowledgeable and make you feel at home (enjoyed a couple of beers with our host, which is always nice after a hot day). The place is clean, decorated to a high standard, has a pool and a cute cat.

There are some great things to do and if you like an adventure then a trip to Granada is perfect and staying at Miss Margrits is a must.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

We recently spent a week at Miss Margrits and could not have been happier with our stay. Our hosts, Becca and Owen, welcomed us like family and took care of us morning, noon and night. The bed and breakfast is beautifully appointed, with lovely gardens, pool, library and kitchen. The bedrooms were luxurious. Our 22 year old son accompanied us and also found alot to do in Granada and enjoyed our hosts ' attitudes and hospitality. We would return in a heartbeat. We stayed in Granada for 6 nights and found day excursions to satisfy all of us. There was even an international poetry festival going on!
The Gregory Family

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Miss Margrit's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miss Margrit's Guest House

Address: Calle Gutierrez | Iglesia Xalteva 1 ½ Al Norte, Granada 100074, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miss Margrit's is a stunning Colonial Guest House boasting two vibrant tropical courtyard gardens and a revitalizing swimming pool. With only three double rooms our guests can enjoy the luxury of a boutique hotel within the privacy of a private home. The rooms are spacious, each with air-conditioning, walk-in wardrobe and en-suite bathroom. Delicious Breakfasts with fresh juice and artisan bread is included. Includes: Wi-Fi, indoor parking, laundry service, computer facilities, library and Cable TV lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Miss Margrit's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miss Margrit`s Guest House Hotel Granada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miss Margrit's Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.