We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miss Margrit's Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Miss Margrit's Guest House to your Saves list
Miss Margrit's Guest House
Calle Gutierrez | Iglesia Xalteva 1 ½ Al Norte, Granada 100074, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 54 Granada B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simply the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I have been to Granada many times but only just found this wonderful B&B. The place is stunning and full of colonial character, something lost in many of the hotels. Of the many establishments I have stayed in, this is easily the best. Freshly cooked breakfast, made to order is included in the very reasonable price. All the comforts you could want and a laid back, fun atmosphere to boot. My girlfriend and I had the best time with Chris, the host. As hosts go, he can't be faulted. Thank you for all your help Chris! We will never forget our stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
135
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Definitely not overrated this 4th place for central american hotels at tripadvisor and 1st in Granda! The place is bigger and even more beautiful than on the pictures. Chris and the people working or staying at Miss Margrits are so welcoming and nice and you feel immediately relaxed. The pool is cold and refreshing, the breakfast yummy and the rooms stunning with chandeliers and Nicaraguan handcraft. If you are in Granada, you have to stay there!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Salinas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stayed here with my cousin shortly before Christmas. An absolutely charming spot. Pip was a wonderful host! Great atmosphere, beautiful rooms and lovely breakfast from Veronica. A great spot to escape from the backpacker-dom for a few days. We were really made to feel at home. You enter first into the large living space and the place just grows from there to an open courtyard with water feature to the open-plan kitchen with dining area and pool. A fave.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Staying at Miss Margrits was the best possible start of our holiday. We stayed five days and enjoyed the wonderfull breakfasts, the nice house and the welcoming athmosphere. Chris was not there but Pip Wildman made us feel at home, she was the best host ever. And Veronica was sweet and made delicious scrambled eggs.
Are there no disadvantages? Yes the airconditioning made a lot of noise, but they gave us a blower and that solved the problem. Miss Margrit's is a short walk from the center of Granada but we had a good time walking to town and watching the Christmas trees an all the families sitting in front of their houes celebrating Christmas.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful 3 nights stay at Miss Margritts. Good breakfast, friendly owners and clean, spacious rooms. Definitely recommendable! The tour to Masaya volcano with their tour guide David was awesome! Thanks for the good times, Jacqui and Nils

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My family stayed at Miss Margrits for 3 nights following Christmas 2012 based on the positive Trip Advisor reviews. We would typically stay at a luxury 5-star accommodation, but Granada just doesn't have the world-class hotels. This was our family of fives first time at a guest house and we had many concerns, but we were pleasantly surprised with our experience and can 100% recommend stays at this quaint oasis in this quirky city of Granada. Chris, the owner, never requested advanced deposits and was very relaxed with the reservations, even though we were staying at this 3-room inn during a holiday week. We were greeted at the front door by Pip upon our arrival. Immediately, we felt welcomed to her home and felt like a distant relative. Our 3 teenage children truly embraced the warm & fuzzy feeling of their stay - especially the well-behaved house pets. Our two accommodations had air conditioning and fans. We would have left the windows open if there were screened windows because of the wonderful amount of windows and nice breezes. The huge stall showers have great water pressure and plenty of hot water (always a plus). Rooms were extremely clean and towels changed daily similar to a hotel experience. Breakfast was wonderful and included fresh fruits, hand-squeezed juices, made to order eggs, bacon. The locally made honey, jams and even fresh ground peanut butter were amazing touches. Pip informed us that the kitchen was always open and as a good hostess told us to make ourselves at home. It truly was a nice experience. Everyone wants to read at least one negative review - there were no full-length mirrors, limited hooks in the bathroom and not a powerful air conditioner. The location is a few blocks further from the own's Central Park, but worth the walk to stay at this lovely inn. Bottom line - very clean, well-appointed amenities, hearty breakfasts, comfortable beds and lots of TLC make Miss Margrits Guest House a 5-star experience.

Pip helped us plan an ideal itinerary in and around Granada. She pointed us to the best restaurants & cafes, and introduced us to David Alejandro Rosales, an excellent independent English-speaking guide based in Granada. david_okni@yahoo.com Cell 8863-9844 or 8668-1662. Miss Margrit's owns a Land Cruiser and will happily drive you around. David works with a driver named Antonio who owns a Mercedes Sprinter. For $60 US, Antonio drove our family and loads of luggage to the Managua Airport (45 minutes away).

Room Tip: Only three rooms in the Inn - our two rooms were similar in size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Miss Margrit's for 5 nights before heading to Ometepe and the beach. This guesthouse was one of the highlights of our three-week vacation. In fact, it's probably one of my favorite places I've ever stayed anywhere. We had the feeling that we were staying at the home of long-lost friends. We spent mornings and evenings relaxing in the courtyards or on our balcony, which had a view of of Mombacho volcano. The breakfast was delicious and healthy. Chris and his staff are helpful, kind and welcoming hosts. Five nights was not long enough for a visit to Granada!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Miss Margrit's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miss Margrit's Guest House

Address: Calle Gutierrez | Iglesia Xalteva 1 ½ Al Norte, Granada 100074, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miss Margrit's is a stunning Colonial Guest House boasting two vibrant tropical courtyard gardens and a revitalizing swimming pool. With only three double rooms our guests can enjoy the luxury of a boutique hotel within the privacy of a private home. The rooms are spacious, each with air-conditioning, walk-in wardrobe and en-suite bathroom. Delicious Breakfasts with fresh juice and artisan bread is included. Includes: Wi-Fi, indoor parking, laundry service, computer facilities, library and Cable TV lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Miss Margrit's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miss Margrit`s Guest House Hotel Granada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miss Margrit's Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.