We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again: Incredible” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Bocona

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Bocona to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel La Bocona
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle La Libertad | 2 Blocks West of Central Park, Granada, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 35 hotels in Granada
Braedstrup, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Once again: Incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

I visited this great hotel another time and again, the experience was stunning. Fabulous rooms, fabulous service! Would be willing to pay 50% more.

Room Tip: Any room is an experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBocona, General Manager at Hotel La Bocona, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
It is always wonderful to host you! You are such a treat to have under our roof!

Looking forward to seeing you again soon,
Nadene Holmes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    17
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
19
79
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Valley, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Last week we spent several nights at the Hotel la Bocona. It was our first time in Granada.
The hotel was an enjoyable way of experiencing the history and charm of an old colonial city.
The staff were all amazingly pleasant and helpful, from the front desk to the girls making us great breakfasts! Although it is just two blocks from the hustle and bustle of the central square, the hotel and it's beautiful inner courtyard was a quiet respite. We highly recommend Hotel la Bocona for anyone looking for a boutique hotel experience in the heart of Granada.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBocona, General Manager at Hotel La Bocona, responded to this review, February 25, 2012
Thank you for your recommendation of our hotel!
We strive to please our guests and your comments feel like a hearty pat on the back for a job well done.
Hoping to host you again soon --- Muchas gracias !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Need a REAL massage? The kind that hits every sore, stressed muscle and makes it relax? The kind that makes you groan in pain/pleasure when your shoulder and neck muscles finally unclench and relax? The kind where you walk in with your shoulders up to your ears and you walk out looking human again?

Come to Balance Spa and ask for Omar. No joke -he's got magical hands! I loved it so much, I went more than once. If I had more time, I would have gone every day.

Prices were reasonable ($20-30 US/hour depending on the kind of massage. I don't think we spent more than $20 or $25 - I can't quite remember as we paid in Cordoba) and the spa itself was quiet, lovely, clean and airy.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBocona, General Manager at Hotel La Bocona, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
I understand how you feel and COMPLETELY agree!

We are proud and thrilled that Dr. Amos Abdias decided to locate his spa here at the hotel. It is so easy to recommend such professional services!

Thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We chose Hotel La Bocona to round out our colonial Granada experience and were so pleased we did. The hotel offers a truly old world experience with with elegantly appointed rooms and common areas, immaculate gardens, friendly staff and a relaxed atmosphere. Centrally located, the hotel provides easy access to Granada and most activities on foot. The downside to this locaiton is that there is street noise, as the rooms face the street and rely on large doors for ventilation. The staff is friendly and helpful with recommendations to make the most of our stay, despite our inability to speak Spanish. Our only challenge was at check-out where we had some confusion. We would highly recommend Hotel La Bocona to others looking for a colonial Granada experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBocona, General Manager at Hotel La Bocona, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
We are so pleased to be able to provide an authentic version of the luxury of the colonial time and even more pleased to host travelers who have come in search of it !
Hasta la proxima vez y gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

My partner and I stayed at Hotel La Bocona for 4 days at the very end of December and both of us enjoyed it immensely. The hotel is perfectly located about two blocks away from Parque Central. It’s a short walk over to restaurants on Calle La Calzada and other Granada landmarks.

The hotel is small (with only six rooms) so sometimes you feel like you're the only ones staying here. The hotel is simply gorgeous! It’s a fabulous restoration of a Spanish colonial home, with original ceiling artwork and tiling. The interior courtyards, along with a pool, are wonderful places to relax. The rooms were large, with lovely high ceilings, and were beautifully furnished.

I can’t say enough good things about the staff at La Bocona. Jakob at the front desk was very helpful in making tour reservations. Nadene, the manager, gave us a fabulous tip about where to spend New Year’s Eve (we had a great time at Hotel Granada's party). And Olga and the rest of the kitchen staff were very friendly, attentive and cooked delicious breakfasts. They were marvelous.

One caveat about La Bocona: our room was loud and hot during the day. Some of the rooms border Calle La Libertad, which can get very noisy. The noise dropped off almost completely at night but if that’s an issue for you, you might want to request the interior room by the pool or one of the rooms on the other side of the hotel. The rooms do not have A/C, which is not much of a problem at night. But we were too uncomfortable to spend much time in our room during the day.

All in all, we loved our stay in Granada and Hotel La Bocona was a wonderful choice.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBocona, General Manager at Hotel La Bocona, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words! We, the Hospitality Team, were so pleased that you enjoyed our suggestions. It feels great to show off our city's events and amenities!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful stay in Granada.
La Bocona is a gem! The rooms are enormous, elegantly decorated and emmaculately maintained. This boutique hotel is quiet and relaxing, breakfast is simple and delicious, the spa is delightful and the staff warm and friendly.
I had the poor luck of falling ill during my stay in Nicaragua -- nothing related to the hotel ---- and a staff member, the sweet Olga, took care of me like I was family. She made me tea and made sure I was ok. A big thanks to Olga and the entire staff at La Bocona for making our stay feel like a home away from home. I highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for an unique experience in Granada.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBocona, General Manager at Hotel La Bocona, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
You were the sweet one! We all appreciated your visit and I personally enjoyed our conversations. Unfortunately, you did fall under the weather but, Doctora Olga is always happy to oblige where needed--she's so great!
I know you generally branch out to new countries trip by trip but, I'm hoping Granada found a place in your heart. We'll be here waiting to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ont
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We rented all six rooms at this hotel for three nights for our daughters' wedding. The hotel is absolutely gorgeous. It is evocative of another era and is both grand and comfortable. The staff were attentive, friendly and discreet. We really felt as though this was our home for those three nights - an oasis of serenity and luxury. The rooms are huge and airy and all the beds are king size. The pool was inviting and always crystal clear, and very romantically lit in the evening. Breakfast was delicious and beautifully presented each morning. This is truly an amazing place. Thanks to Nadine and all the staff for helping make the the wedding and reception run so smoothly, and to generally make our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBocona, General Manager at Hotel La Bocona, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Your family and friends staying with us could not have been any more friendly! We, the staff, felt like we were all part of your group and that a member of our family was getting married --thank you for that.
R was stunningly beautiful and radiant! It was definitely our pleasure! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel La Bocona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Bocona

Address: Calle La Libertad | 2 Blocks West of Central Park, Granada, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 35 hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel La Bocona 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Bocona is a six guestroom restored colonial mansion with a large swimming pool and an on-site professional spa to be enjoyed by travelers from all corners of the world who come to Granada looking for an authentic portal to exciting times in Latin American history. An architectural showpiece, the Hotel boasts all colonial period features including cathedral ceilings throughout, solid wood ornate doors, pillars, chandeliers, embellished wood sun-catchers above the doors and, of course, Spanish courtyards of tailored gardens inside. Included in our rates is a full breakfast, afternoon snack, local gym membership, wifi and private parking. We promote responsible tourism by donating half of all revenue to Carita Feliz, a local charitable organization that offers personal, professional, health programs to young people and serves more than one hundred thousand meals annually to children and other community members of little means. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel La Bocona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Bocona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.