We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They have bed bugs.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hospedaje Cocibolca

Hospedaje Cocibolca
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Granada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hospedaje Cocibolca
Save
You added Hospedaje Cocibolca to your Saves list
Catedral 3c al lago Calle la Calzada, Granada, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 35 Hotels in Granada
1 review
“They have bed bugs.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

Simply put............ Bed bugs. Staff was nice but I don't like being food for bed bugs. Again staff real nice but the bed bugs are mean.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    8
    13
    11
    8
See reviews for
Families
0
15
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granada, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Stayed at Colcibolca several times in 2010 and 2011 in several different rooms and always had an overall good experience. The staff is very friendly and the rooms were always clean and the beds acceptable. The kitchen could be cleaner and I never found anything good that I put in the fridge remaining in the morning (at least not in its entirety), but I blame that on my fellow guests and not the hotel staff.

While I never had problems with other things going missing, there were a couple times that shady locals posing as pals managed to talk their way past the front desk and to my door (I know they didn't just sneak in because they knew my room number), making for uncomfortable situations as they popped by to ask for money, milk or whatever, though nothing more came of it and after complaints they stopped letting people through. I expect my frequent stays contributed to the idea that these could be my friends, but I would have appreciated tougher standards at the front desk, whose staff should certainly know better.

Rooms upstairs facing the lake get a nice (and usually necessary) breeze blowing in from the lake, but if you need the wifi it will be weak in these rooms (if you can get a signal at all). The hotel's location is great, right on Calzada with several restaurants and bars on the two-block stretch headed back to the park (it's busy, making it less daunting for a late night out) and there a popular ice cream place and a great bookstore right across the street. Altogether not bad at $15 a night. They also have rooms with a/c for a good rate.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs facing the lake might not pick up the wifi signal, but you'll get a great lake br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

This place was totally fine for the price - we paid about $15US per night for a small private room. It's right on the strip with the bars and restaurants and just about a quarter mile from the lake shore, so it's a great place to be. The place is fairly unremarkable but for our needs it fit very well - cheap and simple in a good location.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

One of the best location in the city. Just on the center of the bars & restaurant area. I dont know why its got not good reviews on Tripadvisor - we had a very good experiance. The kitchen can be better - don't count it as a pro‛.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

I had read about the bed bugs on here and still stayed. The first time i had no bed bugs. The second time the bugs paid me a visit. What can I say, hotel staff treated me very well the first time/ I left my phone in the room when I left for the bus terminal, and they sent soneone with my phone after me so I eould get it. I checked out and told them about the problem, whether they take care of the problem I do not know. But the room with bugs I was in is No 16. I am leaving an average rating just cause they treated me well the first time. But now I know tripadvisor recommedations do carry their weight!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Walked in after a Long travel day (intrepid tour) and walked out again. Room was filthy, dark, light switches sparked and the shower was unspeakably horrid. Aircon was Offered for an extra 20 USD but the room did not have it available. Later told by group member who stayed there was no hot water and was
Very noisey.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

Stayed here as it was recommeneded by the Lonely Planet. On the first night my partner woke up at 4am itching, when we turned on the light he had about 15 bites that had come up in welts. Saw a bug on wal and bed, killed them it was bed bugs! Told a member of staff who didn't seem too fussed and moved rooms. Checked the walls of the room in daylight and found bed bugs living in the cracks. Told them again and even showed them, the guy just nodded, again not really bothered. Finally found a room that was ok but should have just left. The worst part was they continued to put people in the rooms with the bed bugs. The hostel has the potential to be good as it has a good area downstairs with a kitchen (although there are a load of mice living in there) and rooms are a good price with a private bathroom but they need to give it a good deep clean and fumigation.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.0 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#13 of 35 in Granada
4.5 of 5 stars 125 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#23 of 35 in Granada
4.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Maltese
Hotel El Maltese
#32 of 35 in Granada
4.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Almirante
Hotel El Almirante
#20 of 35 in Granada
4.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Pergola
Hotel La Pergola
#26 of 35 in Granada
4.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Granada
Hotel Granada
#25 of 35 in Granada
4.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospedaje Cocibolca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospedaje Cocibolca

Address: Catedral 3c al lago Calle la Calzada, Granada, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 35 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Hospedaje Cocibolca Hotel Granada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hospedaje Cocibolca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.