We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mid-Priced hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Islita Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added La Islita Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
La Islita Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Calle El Cisne | de la alcaldia, 2 c al lago, 1.5 al sur, Granada, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Spring Promotion, 10% Off
Ranked #8 of 54 Granada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Mid-Priced hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Spent two weeks in El Salvador and Nicaragua. Ended our trip in Granada and La Lisita was the best little hotel we stayed in. The beautiful little courtyard is so inviting. The hosts are friendly and helpful, and the room was terrific. You actually can see the Cathedral and the Mombacho Volcano from the little rooftop terrace. Cold beers and sodas are available all the time on the honor system.

It's down a quiet little "cul de sac", and it's only a couple of blocks from the Plaza. Lots of restaurants close by and lots of help choosing which one to visit. A great little mid-priced hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    35
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
30
111
31
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrenton, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

As we arrived to the beautiful hotel, we were greeted by the owners Tim and Andres. They immediately checked us in and showed us to our room. The layout of the room was beautiful. Very, very clean and spotless. We were invited to check out the rooftop. From there we could see "El Mombacho" and "La Catedral". As we checked out the rest of the hotel, we found a refrigerator full of sodas, waters and beers. It was an honor system operation and all had to do what mark it off on the sheet. The breakfast provided was delicious. We ate in the patio with a view of several tropical plants. The ladies who waited on us were on top of things, as we didn't need to ask for anything else.

The hotel is located 3 small block from "La Calzada", where all the bars and restaurants are located, not to mention "La Catedral" and "El Parque Central".

When checking out four days later, we had to leave to our next destination at 3:00 a.m. As we were headed out, the night desk person had breakfast packed for us and stated "This is compliments of Tim and Andres"

They really make you feel at home and I will DEFINITELY recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This nicer mid-range hotel has a rooftop deck and decent breakfasts included in the price. The beds were comfy but a few mosquitoes were in the room. And the A/C never really cooled down things down, which wasn't helped by the staff unlocking & going in the room to turn it off every time we stepped out. If I am paying a bit more, I tend to expect a bit more as well.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed 4 nights here while backpacking through Central America (Honeymoon) and it was excellent. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful and so were the little dogs waddling around looking for attention. They recommended sites, bars and restaurants. Booked us taxis. Let us use the internet to check stuff out and even paired us up with another couple who we travelled with for a few days. Breakfasts are delicious and the waitress is the nicest person in the world. They literally can't be any friendlier and apart from some cock-a-doodle-dos nearby it is quite and very peaceful. Wouldn't stay anywhere else and could recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

La Islita is an oasis tucked back from Granada's La Calzada that understands what guests need, whether they've come in from another hemisphere or just need a break from more local life. I'm working in Managua for a year and needed to escape for a night. When I called up, the owners, Tim and Andres, were immediately sympathetic, and sent a secure driver to fetch me (Evert is fantastic). The hotel's lobby is lovely--it's worth a peek even if you're not staying. They only had two rooms available, so I had room #4 (three beds!), but it was clean and cool, and the bed I chose was so comfortable I crashed for fourteen hours. Others have commented on the fruit salad breakfast; I woke up to a local specialty - nacatamal de cerdo with pan simple, juice and coffee. It was a little heavy (nacatamals are), but very Nica and good fuel. Tim, Andres, and their head staffer Michael are attentive, great to talk to (in English or Spanish), and create an atmosphere of calm. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitsllor2
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here at La Islita. They first arranged a pickup at the airport and it worked great. The hotel is in a nice location and very convenient to the main square and all the site. They are quite friendly and helped us arrange day tours and a ride to San Jorge. Both the gentlemen owners are first class acts!

Room Tip: We had one with a balcony and that was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hot springs, sd
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We had spent several days in Granada over Holy Week and decided to extend our stay in the city by two days. Our hotel (Casa San Francisco) was booked, but they bent over backwards to find us another room in the city, which was very busy with the holiday. La Islita was delightful. Our first night was disturbed by bats dining on mangoes on the roof, which has made for a great travel story. Our second night we slept through, no worries. We enjoyed having access to the fridge to store our beer and sodas and while we missed having a little pool to cool off (we had gotten SO spoiled) we found the lobby cool and comfortable and the rooftop terrace funky and quiet. And a sweet cocker spaniel, Emmet, in the lobby. The AC worked well and the room was BIG! The hotel is located on Granada's version of a cul de sac, just a block or two off La Calzada, so it was was easy to stroll up to the action. It helped too that we were invited to a potluck at a friend's house which turned out to be on the same street. I hope that when you visit, the charming abuela in the fancy red dress will still be in her rocker on the 'porch' of the house next door. Safe travels and happy trails.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Islita Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Islita Boutique Hotel

Address: Calle El Cisne | de la alcaldia, 2 c al lago, 1.5 al sur, Granada, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Islita Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Islita, a cozy boutique hotel with Spanish Colonial charm, is located on a quiet street in the heart of Granada's historic center. Restaurants, shops, language schools and cultural sites are a quick walk away. Our eight rooms are equipped with A/C, Cable TV, Hot Water, Stylish Fans, and Wi-Fi access. Two suites have oversized private balconies. New saltwater swimming pool in a tropical garden is available to all guests. The rooftop terrace offers some of the best views of Granada. A great value for your money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your La Islita Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Islita Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.