We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best stays in Granada!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada San Jose

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Granada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Posada San Jose
Save
You added Posada San Jose to your Saves list
Calle El Cisne, Granada, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 35 Hotels in Granada
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best stays in Granada!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I had no words to describe the experience I had at La Posada San Jose in my recent travel to Granada. I stayed at the posada for a few days with my family.

The service, rooms cleanliness, and personalized attention we received from the personnel cannot be compared. Everyone, from the security guard to the owner!, was very nice and attentive. This is the type of experience you can only find in a family-run hotel.

One of my favorite things were the breakfats!!!! SOOOO GOOD! Homemade meals with the true taste of Nicaraguan cuisine.

And I can't forget the GREAT MEALS I had at "Restaurante El Corral" It is a superb place to get lunch and/or dinner. It's located right accross the posada and it's run by a member of the family, so you will still get the same wonderful personalized attention!!!

If you want to have a great experience stay in Granada, at a fantastic location, with great service, and the most reasonable price, I encourage you to stay at La Posada San Jose.

Valeria
Birmingham, USA
_____________________________________

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    8
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
9
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Karlsruhe, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The Posada San Jose is perfectly situated in the middle of a gorgous town, Granada.
The rooms are clean, the beds are big and the service is excellent.
On the opposite side there is the restaurant El Corral which has excellent food.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed a couple of nights in this hotel. It has an excellent locations, close to all attractions and night life in Granada, without being noisy. It is run by a local Nicaraguan family, the rooms are simple but very clean and comfortable. From the balcony you have a spectacular view over Granada and mombacho Volcano. The stuff is very nice and helpful and available 24hours.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

it is a very good hotel. it is familiar and cheap. inside the hotel you can have a balcony which is comfortable. the personal is kind and know how to communicate with foreigners. The hotel is clean and it is located on a quiet street. everything is nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hotel is owned and operated the way all hotels should be. It is located in the heart of the city, and everything is at your fingertips. The hotel staff is so friendly and will accommodate you with anything you need. I recommend this hotel to anyone ever going to the Colonial City.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

I never visit one hotel where the people try to help you like a realy good friend and is beautifull and economic.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

Close to the central park, surrounded by cafes and restaurants, this hotel is well worth checking out. First we stayed here for five nights (I think?) in an absolutely charming and airy room with wooden floors and big windows, then left to another city and came back.

Too bad they didn't have that beautiful room available, and we ended up in a windowless stamp-sized burning hot hole, full of tiny flying bugs. They wanted us to pay the same rate as we had payed for the other room (which was at least twice the size with a much bigger and nicer bathroom), so we decided to leave. Especially when we had heard them offering that very room to a random couple for many dollars less, and with us they wouldn't compromise.

So all in all, a very nice place to stay, if you have luck with the room.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel El Maltese
Hotel El Maltese
#32 of 35 in Granada
4.0 of 5 stars 52 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Estrada
Hotel Estrada
#12 of 35 in Granada
5.0 of 5 stars 62 reviews
0.3 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#13 of 35 in Granada
4.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#22 of 35 in Granada
4.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Pergola
Hotel La Pergola
#26 of 35 in Granada
4.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada San Jose

Address: Calle El Cisne, Granada, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 35 Hotels in Granada
Number of rooms: 48

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.