We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada San Jose

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Granada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Posada San Jose
Calle El Cisne, Granada, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 35 hotels in Granada
Karlsruhe, Germany
2 reviews
“Nice place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The Posada San Jose is perfectly situated in the middle of a gorgous town, Granada.
The rooms are clean, the beds are big and the service is excellent.
On the opposite side there is the restaurant El Corral which has excellent food.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    6
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
6
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granada, Nicaragua
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed a couple of nights in this hotel. It has an excellent locations, close to all attractions and night life in Granada, without being noisy. It is run by a local Nicaraguan family, the rooms are simple but very clean and comfortable. From the balcony you have a spectacular view over Granada and mombacho Volcano. The stuff is very nice and helpful and available 24hours.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Nicaragua
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

it is a very good hotel. it is familiar and cheap. inside the hotel you can have a balcony which is comfortable. the personal is kind and know how to communicate with foreigners. The hotel is clean and it is located on a quiet street. everything is nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hotel is owned and operated the way all hotels should be. It is located in the heart of the city, and everything is at your fingertips. The hotel staff is so friendly and will accommodate you with anything you need. I recommend this hotel to anyone ever going to the Colonial City.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011 via mobile

I never visit one hotel where the people try to help you like a realy good friend and is beautifull and economic.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

Close to the central park, surrounded by cafes and restaurants, this hotel is well worth checking out. First we stayed here for five nights (I think?) in an absolutely charming and airy room with wooden floors and big windows, then left to another city and came back.

Too bad they didn't have that beautiful room available, and we ended up in a windowless stamp-sized burning hot hole, full of tiny flying bugs. They wanted us to pay the same rate as we had payed for the other room (which was at least twice the size with a much bigger and nicer bathroom), so we decided to leave. Especially when we had heard them offering that very room to a random couple for many dollars less, and with us they wouldn't compromise.

So all in all, a very nice place to stay, if you have luck with the room.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

When we initially showed up at the hotel the receptionist told me that they did not have me reservation, despite the fact that I had a printed email with a confirmation. We had booked a room with two beds, private bath and AC for $55, but the only room they had available was with one bed, private bath and fan for $25. We decided to try it out and slept great. Kenneth (the person I had initially contacted about the hotel) showed up later that evening and apologized immensely for the lost reservation. His computer had gotten a virus and that is why our reservation had been lost. He also took us on a free tour the next morning of the Isletas and gave us a discount on the Mombacho volcano tour to make up for our lost reservation. So, in the end we were extremely pleased and had much more cash in our pockets than originally planned. The rooms were very clean, quiet, although sparse. They had cable TV, a computer for free internet in the lobby and a phone for free calls to the U.S.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Posada San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada San Jose

Address: Calle El Cisne, Granada, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 35 hotels in Granada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Posada San Jose to your Saves list