We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel con Corazon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel con Corazon to your Saves list
Hotel con Corazon
Calle Santa Lucia 141, Granada 0000 Granada, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Granada
Rotterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

We (2 female travellers) stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and loved it.

The hotel is clean, the personnel is very friendly and helpful and the food is very nice. Maybe this place isn't the cheapest but that is just fine as the money goes to locals.

I would recommend this hotel to everybody.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    52
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
95
177
47
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2009

You can’t do better then this place. Lovely hotel, central location, and interesting, smart, helpful staff. Hotel Con Corzon is clean, comfortable and chill and the staff goes above and beyond to take care of every need. (They came up with Aloe Vera for my sunburn!)AND the hotel’s profits go to educate Nicaraguan kids. Stay here you will be glad you did.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2009

very very nice hotel, the room is great, not luxury but with the basic that we need: hot water, ac, fan, nice bed. the staff is super-extra-excellent, always with a smile and available to help. tha breakfast is amazing (fruit, juice, coffee, milk, bread, eggs and anything else you want). 60 USD/night/room in a relaxing colonial house, with swimmingpool, quit rooms and is a way to help children with needs. Thank you Hotel con Corazon!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2009

if you consider that all profits from this outstanding hotel go towards the education of underpriviliged children from the surrounding villages, then the hotel con corazon in Granada, Nicaragua, is your BEST choice! My wife and I stayed in this hotel four nights just before the " Thanksgiving Holiday " and had a wonderful time. The staff, from the front desk's Alfredo and Gabriel to the Manager of the hotel, Freek Sanders ( the Manager, who is from Netherlands and co-founder of the NGO that runs this hotel, is the soul of this wonderful place) treat you like you are their closest relatives, returning back home. Their hospitality and service is exemplary. The last day,upon our departure, we needed a few additional bags of high quality local coffee and the Manager of this hotel left the hotel and in a few minutes returned with some more bags. Service above and beyond any expectation! The hotel is a new structure, in a colonial building, a very civilized, quiet and well equiped place (free wi-fi, purified water,boookcase with hundreds of books) just two blocks away from Granada's main square and most attractions. The breakfast every morning,served in a very beautiful and refreshing open atriun and garden, includes, the best coffee in town, fresh fruit juice and bread (every day different juice and bread), pancakes,french toast, cerials, omeletes, fresh fruits, marmelade,peanut butter,butter etc. The high ceiling rooms are modern, airy and light, equiped with air-condition and ceiling fans. The hotel has a beautiful swimming pool, decorated with various plants as well as a restaurant. The Hotel con Corazon and its staff stole our hearts. These people fight the "good cause."

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aruba
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

friendly staff, clean spacies rooms and the best thing, they support the locals!

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

This was a great place to stay. The rooms were clean and functional. Well decorated and had everything we needed and some things we didn't, we didn't use the air con. The communual areas of the hotel were very cool. Nice places to sit and have a drink, hammocks to chill in and a decent size pool to sit round and swim in. It is placed in a nice central location and the walk to the central plaza, and a number of places to eat and drink, is a 5 min stroll. Granada is a lovely old colonial town and is well worth a visit and Hotel Con Corazon is the perfect place to stay while visiting. Everyone at the hotel made us feel very welcome and were happy to talk about the education projects the money from the hotel was funding. Which as teachers we found particulary interesting. We only ate once in the evening at the hotel, which was a well sized portions and very tasty and provided an off menu option for my vegetarian girlfriend. Breakfast while we were there consisted of fruit, eggs bread and cereal and coffee. We did experience some power cuts while there so would recommend taking a torch. This advice is probably relevant to a stay anywhere in Nicaragua. Overall top marks.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

Hotel Con Corazon is not my favorite hotel in Granada. It's my favorite hotel in the world. The place manages to achieve an unlikely balance between genuine friendliness and meticulous professionalism. The atmosphere inside the walls of Con Corazon, as Granada expats and long-term tourists call it, reminds me a little of an alhambra -- cool, calm, and quite to the bustle and dust of Nicaragua's colonial city just outside its walls.

While other hotels in its range (Hotel La Colonial, Hotel Alahambra, etc) seem to offer only medeival service but at baroque prices, Con Corazon is a modern standout. Its focus on giving back to the community -- in a literal sense, as profits go towards funding social sustainability projects -- there's also a sense that your money and vacation aren't only an indulgence (even if a well deserved one). Seeing groups of students learning English in the hotel's airy courtyard and even speaking to the excellent local staff is a heartening bit of inspiration.

The food is great. Breakfast hearty and fresh. The cocktails are well priced and refreshing. And the pool is crystalline, cool, and somehow seems like a necessity once you've dived in.

The current manager, Freek (pronounced Fregge, it's Dutch), meets and greets all the guests. I'm happy to now call him a friend. Free wi-fi, purified water, colorful rooms, and a fast laundry service are added bonuses.

As is obvious by this point, I recommend Con Corazon wholeheartedly. You will not regret the stay.

Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel con Corazon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel con Corazon

Address: Calle Santa Lucia 141, Granada 0000 Granada, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Granada
#5 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#7 Business Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel con Corazon is a boutique hotel in Nicaragua. Located in the city, in a colonial building with fifteen rooms, a restaurant, bar, patios and a swimming pool. The hotel offers all the modern comforts a traveler desires. It's a place that feels like a home away from home. But these simple luxuries aren't even what makes this hotel so unique. Your stay helps Nicaraguans build a brighter future, as 100% of our profits are invested in education. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel con Corazon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Con Corazon Hotel
Con Corazon Granada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel con Corazon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.