We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorry I cannot agree with your reviews published!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel con Corazon

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Granada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel con Corazon
Calle Santa Lucia 141, Granada 0000 Granada, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Education
Ranked #2 of 35 hotels in Granada
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Sorry I cannot agree with your reviews published!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

As we are older people and were doing voluntary service in Granada in February (the warm season) we needed a comfortable base. This hotel was warmly recommended to us, and since it is run by a Dutch Charity, to help young people in Nicaragua to be trained for the hospitality industry,we thought we would be supporting day and night! Unlike many of the reviews mentioned here, we did not find the rooms comfortable at all! Indeed we found them quite spartan! There was no hot running water in the morning (only in the middle of the night!), our toilet was blocked (and had to be unblocked), it was so hot during the night (my husband had to get up and get fresh air at the communal balcony). Sorry I have a health problem with air conditioning! Also we found the breakfast monotous and insufficient..sorry we don't eat pure yoghurt daily either, it was a question of big negotiation to ask for an extra roll instead. If we wanted to eat dinner at the hotel, we had to inform by 4 pm on the day! Although the idea of 'giving back' and training the young people is excellent... we found the hotel uncomfortable and inflexible! Instead of staying 4 weeks as planned, we moved out after 10 days! The young staff were quite upset when we left early...sorry we were uncomfortable One positive thing..we found many of the other guests (mostly from Canada) very charming!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    371
    47
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
85
169
45
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is a lovely place to stay. Very quaint, clean, and comfortable, and the staff was excellent. The included breakfast was great too. The tour they arranged for us was not as good as tours I had taken through other agencies, but other than that everything was perfect. I would definitely return to this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Nicaragua
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This hotel is one of a kind! While the rooms and common areas are beautiful and comfortable, it's the staff that really makes it! They make you feel like you are truly part of something, and are always available to help you out and make your stay a little better. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Hotel del Corazon is a winner in every category. The best part of all, other than the great staff, location, rooms, breakfast, bar(great Mojito's) is the concept of Giving Back. 100% of the proceeds of this hotel go to help the kids and their education! what more can you ask for?
we love this hotel model and what it stands for. Stay here and you have done something already to help the local kids!
We will return and tell our friends about this one!
keep up the great work!!

Nancy B.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, NJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We chose this hotel because of its commitment to education and the great reviews we read. We found it to be a wonderful place and an excellent value. The room was attractive, very clean and a welcoming place to which to return in between excursions. The queen-size bed was comfortably firm, and the hotel and neighborhood were quiet and relaxed. The outdoor spaces were beautiful to look at and to relax in. The pool was very nice and clean. The breakfasts were very good, with fresh fruit and juice, cereal, yogurt, bread, butter, jam, peanut butter, coffee and made-to-order eggs. The outdoor patio where breakfast was enjoyed was lovely, and the servers were very friendly and accommodating. In fact everyone at the hotel was friendly and helpful. We need to mention Nohemy at the front desk, who provided us with maps and information, and who called the airline for us and helped untangle our reservation for us. The hotel also runs a travel/tour service and we went on two tours with Franklin (to Mombacho and to the Pueblos Blancos) and one with Maria (to the Isletas). All three trips were wonderful and very informative and these two guides were knowledgeable and fun to be with. The little bar in the hotel was great for a late afternoon or after dinner drink (mojitos were awesome!), and one afternoon we had the opportunity to have an interesting conversation with Jost and his wife (whose name I cannot remember...sorry!), who are from the Netherlands and are the hotel managers. They gave us a couple of helpful suggestions about restaurants, and told us something about their experiences running a hotel in Nicaragua.

Hotel Con Corazon was a fantastic place to stay, and we can recommend it whole-heartedly to travelers who want a warm, friendly, relaxing refuge.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Nicaragua
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We picked Hotel con Corazon, in large part, due to the overwhelmingly positive reviews of others--and found those reviews to be warranted. The staff goes out of its way to provide a positive experience and actively seek ways to make the stay enjoyable. We were also impressed by the owner's commitment to support educational advancement of Nicaraguan children. It's our understanding that that commitment extends to staff--who can earn additional money for going to school, studying English, and otherwise improve their own circumstances. The facility is clean and well maintained, the breakfasts are the best we've found in Granada (*and they're included in the room rates), and they make a way more than decent mojito. Hotel staff can also arrange tours, trips and transportation--another major plus for first time visitors to Granada. They get our unsolicited thanks and approval!

Room Tip: Rooms were relatively small but adequate. We don't like stairs so found first floor accommodati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My family of 5 (kids ages 14, 12 and 8) spent 2 nights in June at Hotel con Corazon. We had 2 rooms as their family suite was not available during our stay. Our rooms were good, swimming pool was enjoyed by all, good wi-fi connection, great location in Granada and excellent breakfast. Really, no complaints what so ever.

We had the hotel arrange tours of las Isletas, Mombacho Volcano hike and ziplining. Frank was an excellent guide and my children really liked him. The hotel also arranged for our transportation to various places in Nicaragua, which was very helpful. But I think the lovely staff at the hotel is what makes us want to return.

We loved Nicaragua, Granada and Hotel con Corazon. When we return, Hotel con Corazon is where we will stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel con Corazon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel con Corazon

Address: Calle Santa Lucia 141, Granada 0000 Granada, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Granada
#4 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel con Corazon is a boutique hotel in Nicaragua. Located in the city, in a colonial building with fifteen rooms, a restaurant, bar, patios and a swimming pool. The hotel offers all the modern comforts a traveler desires. It's a place that feels like a home away from home. But these simple luxuries aren't even what makes this hotel so unique. Your stay helps Nicaraguans build a brighter future, as 100% of our profits are invested in education. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Con Corazon Hotel
Con Corazon Granada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel con Corazon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel con Corazon to your Saves list