We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding staff, location and mission” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel con Corazon

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Granada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel con Corazon
Calle Santa Lucia 141, Granada 0000 Granada, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Education
Ranked #2 of 35 hotels in Granada
Bend, Oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding staff, location and mission”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed 2 nights the end of November at Hotel Con Corazon and loved every minute. They are walking distance to the central park, lots of restaurants and attractions but far enough off that it is quieter at night. Having said that though, our second night was the start of the Conception of Mary festival and you won't be getting much sleep anywhere in Granada.

This is a very charming hotel. The rooms are a little dark but are very clean and have a/c. The bathrooms are very spacious with hot water. The wifi only works in the lobby but was having problems when we were there and was very infrequent. The staff would happily reset it for you but the provider was working on the power poles so at times there wasn't a lot they could do.
We did have to switch rooms our first night cause the a/c unit sprayed all over the bed and us. Luckily, there was rooms to switch too and the next room was just as nice as the previous room.

The courtyard and pool are beautiful. The pool was very refreshing after a day walking or riding around the hot city.

The breakfast is amazing! Granola, juice, yogurt, eggs and the best bread we had in Central America. Delicious!

The staff are outstanding and speak English. I cannot say enough good things about Dennis. The service is so good there that Dennis actually walked me down the street to find a tailor that would repair my only swimsuit that came unthreaded during my 3 week trip in Costa Rica. He translated the entire thing, it was fixed within minutes and it only cost a $1.00.

The front desk staff set up a bike tour for us with an english speaking guide and it was worth every penny. Wow, did we see a lot! We went thru every church, went along the lake and thru central park. You will get to see areas of Granada you wouldn't normally see and we've been there before.

And the best part is the money goes to help education.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    372
    47
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
85
170
45
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
RapidCity,SD
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Really glad we picked this place and did so based on the reviews from Trip Advisor. The rooms were adequate--comfortable beds, TV, AC, ceiling fans, hot shower, and room safe. There was Wi-Fi in the lobby and computers you can use. They had filter drinking water available too. The hotel is located about 2 blocks from the central park and cathedral area. We felt comfortable walking to and from downtown for dinner and drinks at night. They gave us a map and highlighted places to visit. The hotel bar sold beers for $35 Cordobas which is about $1.50 US.

Breakfast was served everyday starting at 7:30AM and was very good and filling—it included granola, yogurt, fresh fruit, coffee, juice, homemade rolls and eggs if you had room. On our departure day we left at 5AM so we were going to miss out on their breakfast so they volunteered to make us sandwiches to go.

The staff was amazing. They were so helpful in arranging taxis and tours. This was very important as we don’t speak Spanish and most local people don’t speak English. The staff was very friendly and went above and beyond to please us and make us feel welcome. They took such good care of us!!!! I highly recommend this place and would definitely stay here again if we return to Granada.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seguin, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I loved this nice little hotel and its mission! Maritza, Noemi (sp.?), Dennis and others of the young staff were wonderful!!! I hope to bring my wife to stay for a few days soon. paul martin, Seguin, Texas

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
322 helpful votes 322 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

While planning our trip, I came across Hotel con Corazon and as soon as I read about the concept behind it, I booked it without hesitation. They invest 100% of their profits into education for Nicaraguan youth. I just love the concept of going to a country and not just appreciating the beauty and soaking up the experience but actually also doing something good for it, even if it is just supporting an organisation that does it for you.
The hotel is lovely. Conveniently located within walking distance of anything in Granada (we are good walkers), the staff is very friendly and helpful and breakfast is fantastic.
I have read a lot of comments about the WiFi – we found it only worked in one specific spot at the top of the stairs where it was fine and fast.
I am not giving it 5 stars because we had an ant problem in our room (number 10 on the first floor) – we could not work out whether perhaps some previous guest had spilt some fizzy drink or whether they were coming in from the bathroom window. We didn’t have any food or anything that could possibly attract them. On the first night there were a lot of them. I sprayed the room with my insect repellent and we let reception know the next morning. They sprayed something which helped. There were definitely less on the second night and progressively so into our stay.
The hotel has a lovely bar, a beautiful internal courtyard with hammocks and palm trees which we enjoyed lying on on our last night and a pool, which we sadly didn’t have time to use. Too much to see and too much to do in the town, plus we managed to squeeze in a trip to Ometepe, which is highly recommended if you have the time. As well as touring las isletas of course.
We have utterly fallen in love with Granada and hope to return one day and keep exploring this utterly beautiful country

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Clean, Quiet a good location for easy access to the city centre. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. Breakfast was very good. Great coffee! Frank was a wonderfully informed and friendly guide who toured us to the white towns to see all the outdoor "greenhouses" and traditional pottery! The evening volcano/bat cave tour was quite an adventure and highly recommended! We appreciate their efforts in directing their profits back into local childrens education.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 10 overlooking the pool. It was quiet and set away from some of the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Hotel con Corazon does have a heart: they invest their profits into education for Nicaraguans. My husband and I and our two young adult children stayed there over New Years for 5 nights. We rented the "family room," which is actually 2 rooms joined by a bathroom. The rooms are basic and functional. The breakfast is adequate, included in the room price, and the same each day. The staff was very friendly, calling me by name when I walked in the front door. We enjoyed the small (but chilly) pool and the sitting areas. We did a couple of outings arranged by the front desk, and both were excellent with an English-speaking guide. The location is just several blocks from the center of Granada. We had some trouble with our air-conditioner but the staff came and fixed it each time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

A good hotel, within a short walk from the centre of Granada. The room was adequate but a bit noisy as the window faces out onto the walkway to other rooms. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was a pleasuren in the nice courtyard. As others have found, the wifi signal is poor.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel con Corazon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel con Corazon

Address: Calle Santa Lucia 141, Granada 0000 Granada, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Granada
#4 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel con Corazon is a boutique hotel in Nicaragua. Located in the city, in a colonial building with fifteen rooms, a restaurant, bar, patios and a swimming pool. The hotel offers all the modern comforts a traveler desires. It's a place that feels like a home away from home. But these simple luxuries aren't even what makes this hotel so unique. Your stay helps Nicaraguans build a brighter future, as 100% of our profits are invested in education. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Con Corazon Hotel
Con Corazon Granada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel con Corazon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel con Corazon to your Saves list