We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad, rotten food” 1 of 5 stars
Review of El Tercer Ojo

El Tercer Ojo
De Catedral 1/2c Al Lago Calle la Calzada Plaza EL Tercer Ojo | Calzada. Granada, Nicaragua, Granada, Nicaragua
+505 2552 6451
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 112 Restaurants in Granada
Price range: $5 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: El Tercer Ojo Since 2001 in the heart of Granada Nicaragua. El Tercer Ojo is an element for everyone...Tranquility and good taste. A crucible of flavors and aromas from around the world... This is where the Far East meets the Mediterranean and Americas. We specialze in world cuisine and offer an array of live music events. At Tercer Ojo you will find a plaza with specialty stores selling leather goods and a vintage market selling specialty goods from around the world.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Bad, rotten food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

When we first entered, it seemed like a really nice restaurant -- the ambiance seemed a little bit try-hard but it was still unique in Granada. But when the food came, this place turned into an absolute disappointment. The seafood platter was overcooked, for a good reason-- THE SEAFOOD WAS NOT FRESH. The octopus had the consistency of liver and the mussels were "powdery". The pork ribs had nice seasoning/flavor, but the meat itself was unchewable. My boyfriend had to bite off the meat and swallow the entire thing whole. He tried to get some meat off the bone and it sounded like cracking wood.

As other reviews have mentioned, the menu is in dollars but the bill is in cordobas-- a little confusing to say the least. Compared to other restaurants in Granada, this place is very expensive (and totally not worth the price). And btw, the seafood platter was 90% left uneaten.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    93
    40
    21
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unreal, surreal and totally unique place to dine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

Come 'n get your Om on at this truly unique and mystical restaurant in Granada. The menu is as diverse as the Universe, the wine list is great and there's no hope of being disappointed. Omnivores, carnivores and vegetarians can all find nirvana... Buddhas and statues abound in this palace of groove. The dinning room is in the center of the building, and is open to the sky. Ceiling fans are everywhere, so even on a warm night, comfort is total.

Pace is tranquilo, so don't be in a hurry. Relax, enjoy your surroundings and dig the vibe...

I had Gazpacho Fresco, Chorizos Mixtos and Flan Caramel. Glass of house white (de-lish, btw) with the gazpacho and a glass of house red with my chorizos. Presentation is elegantly simple, everything is super fresh, and the dessert put me right over the edge of Bliss. Love this place... Cash only. My dinner was about $30.00 (600 cordobas) You can spend a lot less... and you can certainly spend a lot more. The exotic drink list is also very intoxicating (whoops) impressive!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not recommended”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

This place has a nice atmosphere for a drink but the quality of the food is poor. Many better places to go in Granada.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Decent food, great setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

A really varied ambitious menu which is nice to see in Nicaragua, slightly let down by a fair few items being unavailable. Grilled meats and cold cuts were good quality, pasta was pretty poor. Wine list is varied and quite long for Nicaragua - quite a few unavailable again.
Staff were really nice and easily managed our limited Spanish, plus it is a lovely building and nicely kitted out - a really nice setting to waste away an afternoon or evening.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A close second to Jimmy's for great food in Granada”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

With just one night left after travelling the country for 2 months, I had eaten at just about every restaurant on La Calzada and most of the ones located away from “Gringo Gulch”
Looking for something different I was faced with two options. A self-promoting “ #1 restaurant”, famously abusing the intellectual property rights of a long dead hero of mine- John Lennon- or the place I finally chose.
At first glance El Tercer Ojo looks like a throwback to the hippie days of the ’70’s with Batik adorned walls. Buddha statues and incense burning. The décor so overwhelms that it takes a while to realize that you are not inside but rather in a small courtyard with the stars as your ceiling.
While Jimmy Three Fingers will always remain my first choice for an evening meal in Granada, the Third Eye was the perfect choice for “something different” on my last night.
A Thai influenced, sweet and sour chicken provided the perfect balance of flavour and texture. Accompanied by rice and a just cooked blend of carrots, broccoli and cauliflower, it was simple yet simply delicious. A caramel custard with a small scoop of icecream was my reward for eating all my vegetables! Service was excellent with wait staff being attentive but not intrusive. I look forward to eating here again on future visits.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Tercer Ojo also viewed

Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 
Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 

Been to El Tercer Ojo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Tercer Ojo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.