We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Capricho

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Casa Capricho to your Saves list
Hotel Casa Capricho
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   401 Calle El Arsenal, Granada, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 54 Granada B&B and Inns
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

All the staff at Casa Capricho were warm, helpful, and always seemed to be smiling. I cannot say enough about Irwin, Leandro and the two Anna's ! They made the stay in Granada even more special. That being said, the value was good and the common area great for lounging. The rooms could use a little updating but were comfortable and a good deal. I would definitely return and recommend it for travellers who want a great staff, a good deal, and location...location....location

Room Tip: The double level rooms seemed to be the best although I did not see every room. The staff would be g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    11
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
16
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

All of the staff here go out of their way to help you however they can - nothing is too much trouble. Great, clean duplex room - and the pool is small but perfect for cooling off in.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

We were so pleased with our stay at Casa Capricho! It is a paradise right in the heart of Granada! Its only 1 block away from the tourist area but its high walls make it feel quiet and peacefully secluded. The pool is gorgeous and a "must have" to cool off after walking around the city. Even if you aren't a swimmer, a nice quick dip is really refreshing. The staff are really nice and helpful. Our room wasn't very big and has a funky layout but it was comfortable and private and had a beautiful view on the pool and courtyard.

I did a lot of research before I picked this place so I wanted to check out the other hotels and hostels I had considered while I was there, just to see if I had made the right choice. I am so glad we picked this one!! There are lots of other places in town that had nice websites but when you see them in person its not the same! This place was much much nicer than all the other places I saw within this price range.

This is a wonderful, funky, colorful and peaceful getaway! We couldn't have picked a better place! If we go back to Granada we will definitely stay there again!

(The only catch is we wouldn't recommend the tour company they work with. But the staff were really apologetic when we explained our bad experience.)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochabamba, Bolivia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

helpful staff, nearby plaza but far enough away to be quiet, clean, large common area including kitchen, small pool a bonus & would be safe for kids
highly recommend!

Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

This friendly & relaxing hotel fulfilled it's name and our expectations. The staff, friendly & professional is alert to your needs. Great breakfasts, dining with other guests, sharing travel adventures, one of the nicest ways to begin each day. After a full day of touring, Capricho was our colorful, quiet retreat, whether chatting with guests, sitting by the pool or reading in a hammock. This hotel delivers a true Nicaraguan experience.


stations.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Very nice, tranquil spot with nice people. Defenite a recommendation.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Staying at Casa Capricho was comfortable and relaxing. Our hosts were gracious and friendly and we felt right at home. The delicious breakfasts were beyond our expectations and we enjoyed meeting the other guests at breakfast time. Having the use of a fully equipped kitchen was definitely a bonus. The hotel is within easy walking distance of everything we wanted to visit in Granada. We will return!

Room Tip: Some rooms are adjacent to the in-house pool. This is convenient if you plan to use the pool a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa Capricho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Capricho

Address: 401 Calle El Arsenal, Granada, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Capricho 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa Capricho is a restored home in the old colonial city of Granada, Nicaragua. We are located behind the great walls of Convento San Francisco on Calle El Arsenal, just two blocks from Parque Central towards the Grand Lago de Nicaragua. Calle El Calzada, is located just two blocks from Hotel Casa Capricho. Here you can enjoy restaurants, bars and music. If you have a late night, our security guard will be waiting for you. The house has 10 bedrooms, some with queen size beds, others with double or single beds. Two of the rooms have two levels. We also offer an apartment with one bedroom, living room, kitchen and two balconies. All the bedrooms have private baths, hot water and 9 are air conditioned. Maid service and breakfast are included. Computer, Internet and Vontage phone calls (to the US & Canada) are available for your use to keep in touch with friends and family at no charge. We offer a "Guest Kitchen" which is shared by all the guests. Fully stocked with everything you will need to make your meals at home! The house has several seating areas for you to relax or visit with friends. The pool is clean and refreshing ~ a wonderful amenity to enjoy after a day of sightseeing. Our house is your house! Stay a night, weekend, week or a month! We look forward to serving you and making your stay in Granada, Nicaragua a pleasant one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Casa Capricho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Capricho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.