We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in Granada” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Xalteva

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Xalteva to your Saves list
Hotel Xalteva
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Trillo Santa Rosa | Calle Obispo Ulloa, Granada 0500084, Nicaragua (Formerly Xalteva Condominiums)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Granada
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Oasis in Granada”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed here for a week in February 2014. The location to all the sites and activities is excellent. The condos are new, spacious and have everything you need for your stay. The staff are friends and very helpful. The front desk staff can arrange your excursions and they refer you to the best service providers. The tours and taxis were always waiting and we're very professional. The fruit and coffee in the morning were a welcome surprise. The pool is there for a quick dip in the hot after noon. I recommend this place to anyone traveling to Nicaragua.

Room Tip: Choose and second floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaysnyder, General Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. Our light continental breakfast gets you going in the morning, our pool helps you unwind after a day out in the sun and our guests are what makes our job worth it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    22
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
58
38
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Old Lyme, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Together with another couple we stayed two nights in Granada on our way to other areas of Nica. Never having been there before, we really had no idea what to expect. From the moment Giovanni fetched us at the airport in Managua until we left to continue our journey it was such a pleasure. Fatima was in consistent contact with us prior to our arrival to coordinate aspects of the stay. When we arrived late on Thursday evening we felt that everyone was waiting for us and the accommodations were terrific (We were assigned to Suite 101) - comfortable, spotless and homey. In the morning we had a lovely breakfast under the arbor at the pool and Fatima was immediately on hand to help us plan our short stay there. We toured the Masaya Market, had a city tour in a horse drawn carriage (Gustavo is a wonderful tour guide) and, that evening went to the Masaya volcano for a night tour. All so interesting. The hotel staff - Ivania, Maria, Jenniffer were more than attentive to our needs. Melissa oversees the operation with quiet leadership and makes you feel that everything is under control - even when we had some worries about delayed transportation to our next location. This is a fantastic accommodation at a very reasonable price. Next time we will stay longer!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaysnyder, General Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
It was great to have you stay with us and we hope your time in Nicaragua was memorable in part to your positive experiences with our staff members. Thank you so much and yes, we too hope you return to Hotel Xalteva!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Staff was friendly and eager to help with taxis, suggestions for restaurants, and places to see. Rooms on the second floor get more of a breeze and have a nice view of sunset. Hotel is a few blocks from town and was surprisingly noisy from traffic, and a busy neighborhood,but quiets down at night. A security guard is on duty all night, and compound is locked so it was really safe. You can still walk to restaurants, churches, etc. but is about 5-10 minutes from Central Park area. We usually took a cab in (called by the hotel) and walked back from dinner. Great value.

Room Tip: The website shows the condo rooms complete with kitchen areas and sitting room. We got one bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaysnyder, General Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
We are here to help all of our guests and we really enjoyed having you stay with us...it was a pleasure...please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

The accomadations were nice but there was a mix up with the reservation. I had reserved a 2 bedroom condo but when we arrived was told that I had reserved 2 single rooms. I even confirmed that we were getting a 2 bedroom unit. They charged me for 2 rooms, which was only $4/night per room more but we had planned on cooking our own meals. Ended up giving our food away to locals on the street.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaysnyder, General Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Valued Guests,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We apologize that we made a mistake in your reservation for your two night stay. Unfortunately we were not able to move you into a two bedroom suite for those two nights since we were 100% full during those dates. We have since refunded the difference to your Paypal account as that was an oversight on our part.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, NJ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

A few friends and I stayed at Condo/Hotel Xalteva during a girls vacation. The property was extremely well maintained and safe. Xalteva is located about 6-8 blocks away from the town square and the restaurants and nightlife. It was a safe and welcome walk for my friends and I - away from the late night noisy madness in Granada.

What stands out about this hotel is the service. Melissa, Jenniffer and Fatima are simply AMAZING! They went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Even as far as making sure we had dinner in our room after our late evening arrival. They booked tours for us, recommended restaurants, got us discounts to spa and made our appointments. The list goes on and on. They were very very helpful in every way and I hope the owners of the property recognize this.

A couple of really minor things I recommend for the owners of the property (none of which would stop me from staying here again):
1) Place phones in each room - so groups traveling together can call each other or the front desk can be called with any questions
2) The suite we stayed in had only one mirror in the bathroom - it could really use another mirror especially when multiple people are trying to get ready
3) Place an iron in each room
4) Place a blow dryer in each room

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaysnyder, General Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
It was so much fun to host you on your visit to Granada and we are glad you enjoyed your time here. Great suggestions and some of them are already in the works to happen. Hope to meet you all again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I can't recommend Hotel Condo Xalteva enough! My daughter & I were so pleased with our accommodations and the hotel from the moment we arrived that we cancelled reservations in Managua to enjoy the hotel's peaceful premises & our beautiful condo apartment. We had the good fortune to meet owner Jay and his wife Kathy. Both were friendly, attentive and warm hosts. Melissa, their able manager, and her assistants, Jenniffer and Fatima, were gracious, helpful and patient, always pleasant and eager to satisfy every little request and need -- from providing tourism information to arranging taxi rides for trips within and outside Granada to ordering take-out food. We got to meet Melissa's handsome young son and her mother-in-law, who prepared some meals for us on a private basis. The hotel's housekeeping, maintenance and security staff were caring, polite and performed all their duties effectively and with a smile, whether they prepared breakfast (complimentary fruit, pastry, coffee/tea), rushed to a pharmacy or market to get a needed item, fixed a faucet, or ensured guests were safe upon arrival at the hotel after hours. The Hotel grounds and pool were well kept and the greenery around lent to the peaceful atmosphere. During our stay, the hotel hosted a local networking event and all guests were encouraged to participate. It was a good time. We all enjoyed the food and the music, and got to celebrate Jenniffer's birthday! The pool setting made it easy to get to know other guests, whose company we enjoyed often. An additional perk (besides breakfast) was a free membership to Pure, a Spa and fitness center nearby, that offered hotel guests a 10% discount for services. Although our stay at the Xalteva was only 12 days long, by the time we left it felt as though we'd known Jay and Kathy, their staff and several of the guests for a long time. We became a family. I agree with my daughter, we must make plans to return soon. We miss them all and wish continued success to Jay, Kathy and the Hotel Xalteva.

Room Tip: Book early. Upstairs far corner condo apt. is airy, sunny and has two private balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaysnyder, General Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Wow, I have no words to describe how touched all of our staff members feel right now...your comments are a beautiful reflection of the passion we feel doing our job. Thank you very much for making our day completely worth it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saskatoon sk canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Condo Xalteva met all our expectations for two weeks. The staff were excellent; helped with tours. The condo grounds were beautiful and well maintained. We especially enjoyed the company of the other guests staying at Xalteva. Jay and Cathy were excellent hosts.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaysnyder, General Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
We hope to achieve your expectations and then some. Thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Xalteva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Xalteva

Address: Trillo Santa Rosa | Calle Obispo Ulloa, Granada 0500084, Nicaragua (Formerly Xalteva Condominiums)
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Granada
#11 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Xalteva 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Xalteva is the first of it’s kind in Granada. It combines timeless colonial design with modern conveniences. Located in the safe residential neighborhood of Xalteva, the name “Xalteva” (pronounced “al-TAY-vah”), refers to the original indigenous peoples who were in Granada before the Spanish Conquest. Built in 2007, by visionary/founder/president D. Jay Snyder they are the first available condominiums in this beautiful colonial city of Granada whose mission is, “To create and provide comprehensive comfort, value and lifestyle options to all guests and visitors whether it be for a transit traveler or a lifelong resident” through, “high quality attention to details, customer service, employee training and development and support of the local culture and environment.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Xalteva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xalteva Condominiums Hotel Granada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Xalteva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.