We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel! Would stay here again...and again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Xalteva

Save Saved
You added Hotel Xalteva to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Xalteva
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Trillo Santa Rosa | Calle Obispo Ulloa, Granada 0500084, Nicaragua (Formerly Xalteva Condominiums)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save on Activity tickets
Ranked #6 of 35 hotels in Granada
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel! Would stay here again...and again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights while in Granada. Wish we stay here for our whole trip while in Nicaragua. Can't beat the price, free small breakfast (muffins and fruit bowl w/ yogurt), excellent service from manager Melissa and swift email responses from owner Jay. Very clean rooms with individual warm showers. We stayed during Valentine's Day and the staff left chocolates and towels in the shape of swans in our room. Although this is in a safe part of town, the hotel is in the outskirts of Granada (still only 5-10min slow walk to the city center). There is a 24-hr security guard that watch the hotel. My boyfriend got food poisoning during the trip in the middle of the night, and the security guard (who could not speak english) was kind enough to walk me to the only pharmacy open at 11pm to get medication. The pool is gorgeous and clean, and a great way to relax. Free towel service for pool.

I rec'd this hotel to everyone of all ages. There were a few families staying from days to weeks while we were there. The environment is quiet and still a stone's throw from all the city action. My boyfriend and I were able to enjoy the bars and restaurants in the city, and then walk back alone around midnight to our room without a problem.

**Make sure to tell you taxi to bring you to XALTEVA CONDOS (and not the hotel). There is another hotel with the same name, so drivers won't know where to take you.

Room Tip: Ask for a 1st floor room near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaysnyder, General Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we are glad to have been a service. We offer a variety of amenities to help customize unforgettable moments. We are so happy you enjoyed the details. You are also correct to say that we have a name similar to another location. Casa Xalteva Spanish school is nearby to Hotel Xalteva and some taxi drivers have tried to drop guests off at the other location. We now offer an map and driving instructions to send incoming guests by email if they ask for it and hope that will facilitate travels. Thank you so much.

Great accommodations are only the beginning at Condo/Hotel Xalteva. Please ask to speak with Melissa Lombardo, our Operations Manager and Onsite Tour and Activity planner to see what Condos/Hotel Xalteva can do for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    20
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
37
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This hotel/condo Xalteve is an excellant place to stay in Granada, Nicaragua. My wife and I were there 5 nights and our married children and grandchildren staye d there 5 weeks. The hotel manager is super helpful in answering questions, getting you places and suggestions on all kinds of businesses you may need. I can not say enought about all the hotel staff from the housekeepers, maintenance men and woman, night guards etc. They treated our family as their own.
The condos are only a 10 minute walk to the Central Park of town where everything happens. It is a fun experience and well worth the time and money spent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaysnyder, General Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Staff at Condo/Hotel Xalteva are here to help. Owners, Jay and Kathy Snyder are so proud of their team of talented individuals headed their Operations Manager Melissa Lombardo, Ivania, Ana and Maria Jose of the cleaning team, Jackson and Francisco on Security, Nelson and Luis onsite, full time maintenance members, and Jenniffer and Fatima of reception staff are all onsite and available for assistance to help make your stay pleasant and comfortable. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again...in fact we had the honor of hosting your family again for a few days and it was a joy knowing that they wanted to return to Hotel Xalteva!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stumbled upon this adorable hotel for two days in Granada. Located a short walk away from main square, it's a very beautiful, well-maintained hotel. Condos are available, as well as simple rooms which are very clean. Pool is perfect. The architecture of this hotel is amazing. You don't even feel like you are in the center of a city once you enter the gates. Small breakfast provided of fresh fruit and pastries. Staff is super friendly and helpful. They're really doing it right at Hotel Xalteva!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaysnyder, Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We appreciate your attention to details. Our Hotel Xalteva is constructed in colonial fashion and being in a residential section of town we really fit in with our surroundings. Coming into the Hotel is like being transported into an oasis of peace and tranquility and our light breakfast is the perfect way to start your day.
Looking forward to your next visit,
Sincerely,
Jay, Melissa and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous hotel and suites. We had a suite with a huge living room and full kitchen. Everything was great, nice to have a pool to cool off in after hot days. Only thing is the distance from the main restaurant row. It's a short and cheap taxi ride but can be a long walk to evening activities after a long day.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaysnyder, Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your nice review. We are glad you enjoyed your time here. Hotel Xalteva provides a full range of activity, restaurant and transport recommendations and being a bit off the city center we are more than happy to arrange a taxi to and from your destination points so that you can relax and enjoy all that Granada has to offer.
We hope to see you again,
Sincerely,
Jay, Melissa and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peru, Vermont, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We just spent one week at the Hotel Xalteva and can hardly wait to return. We are definitely planning a visit for a longer time next year and can't think of a better place for a winter getaway. Everything about the experience was wonderful. The office staff, under the direction of Melissa, were always courteous and extremely helpful with all of our many questions. The hospitality staff were a pleasure: courteous, punctual, helpful. The touch of the founding owners of the hotel, Jay and Kathy Snyder, was evident everywhere. They helped to give it a real family feeling even though they were not in residence when we were there. If you would like a getaway in a charming Central American town with opportunities galore for sight seeing and meeting local residents, then this is the place to go. Thanks, Hotel Xalteva for a wonderful vacation! Welthy and Paul Myers

Room Tip: No fitness center or restaurant but coupons are provided for both.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaysnyder, Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Having you here was just as fantastic as you felt while staying at Hotel Xalteva. It was so nice to have attended to your group and we will look forward to your next visit. Thank you very much for mentioning the coupons. Hotel Xalteva looks for ways to maximize guest stays and does so by having local discount coupons for guests at restaurants and with local activities.
Have a wonderful spring,
Sincerely Jay, Melissa and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

On our second yearly visit to Granada, my wife and I decided to rent a house, however, the unit was not available and we were fortunate to be able to stay 19 days at this wonderful Hotel/Condo.

The owner Jay and his wife Kathy made us feel like one of the family, all of the staff went above and beyond what was expected of them, even when we moved into the house. The guest staying at this hotel during our stay were some of the nicest people we have ever met and we will cherish these memories and their kindness for a long time.

The hotel was well kept, clean and an oasis amid older Granada, roosters and dogs being our wake up call each day. Breakfast served at the poolside morning meeting place, and my Spanish lessons with the staff, great fruits and coffee. We spent very little time inside, since the weather was sunny and hot all the time, and at night it was early to bed, great flat panel tv in living room, however, couch was very uncomfortable which nicely reduced our tv viewing.

There is so much more to say, however, previous reviewers stated it all and we can only agree.

Room Tip: Best unit to stay in is #204, has own small balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaysnyder, Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Friend,
Thank you very much for your kind words. It is a pleasure that you felt so at home at the Condos. Our pergola area is a perfect way to relax, enjoy a cup of locally brewed coffee and meet other guests. We look forward to seeing you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batchawana Bay, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Having spent four weeks at Hotel/Condos Xalteva, we can't say enough good things about this oasis within Granada or its warm and wonderful staff. Ideally located within walking distance to the Market, grocery store, and city centre, we were able to take in many of the city's attractions by foot, including the nightly entertainment for the International Poetry Festival. As we did not speak Spanish, Melissa and the office staff (Jennifer and Fatima) were very helpful in arranging tours and taxi service. Granada and surrounding area offers a variety of tours and activities for visitors. The facilities at Xalteva were clean and surpassed our expectations (e.g., great pool, lovely spacious condo, enjoyed sitting out on the second floor balcony with a view of Mombacho Volcano). By far the best experience was meeting other travellers from all over the world and interacting with the staff who represent the best of Nicaragua. For future visitors with children, the staff are wonderful with children. Also, a surprise was the breakfast of fresh fruit, a pastry and coffee provided each morning down by the pool with a big smile from staff members, Ivania and Maria. We did get to meet owners, Jay and Kathy, as our time at Xalteva overlapped with their stay. They were also available to answer questions and welcomed guests warmly. Thanks to all for a great stay in Granada.

Room Tip: Second floor condos catch more breeze and have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaysnyder, Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Hotel Xalteva loves their guests and often times one will see a staff person holding a baby, showing a small child one of the turtles in the garden or taking the time to say hello to them. Thank you for noticing that about our staff members. It was wonderful to have you both as guests here and hope to see you again. We welcome back all of our guests with open arms and do our best to create a personal connection with each unique individual that walks through our doors. Have a wonderful day and until we meet again, we will always remember you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Xalteva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Xalteva

Address: Trillo Santa Rosa | Calle Obispo Ulloa, Granada 0500084, Nicaragua (Formerly Xalteva Condominiums)
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Granada
#9 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Xalteva 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Xalteva is the first of it’s kind in Granada. It combines timeless colonial design with modern conveniences. Located in the safe residential neighborhood of Xalteva, the name “Xalteva” (pronounced “al-TAY-vah”), refers to the original indigenous peoples who were in Granada before the Spanish Conquest. Built in 2007, by visionary/founder/president D. Jay Snyder they are the first available condominiums in this beautiful colonial city of Granada whose mission is, “To create and provide comprehensive comfort, value and lifestyle options to all guests and visitors whether it be for a transit traveler or a lifelong resident” through, “high quality attention to details, customer service, employee training and development and support of the local culture and environment.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Jetsetter and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Xalteva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xalteva Condominiums Hotel Granada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Xalteva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.