We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xalteva was great for families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Xalteva

Save Saved
You added Hotel Xalteva to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Xalteva
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Trillo Santa Rosa | Calle Obispo Ulloa, Granada 0500084, Nicaragua (Formerly Xalteva Condominiums)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save on Activity tickets
Ranked #6 of 35 hotels in Granada
Manhattan, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Xalteva was great for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

When my nephew was baptized we had the after party at Xalteva. The staff went above and beyond to make the event an ideal conclusion to a busy morning. The food was in great abundance and in high demand by our party, the surroundings were classically Nicaraguan and the staff felt like an extension of our family (minus typical family drama ;-) There were about 15 people in our group ranging from infants to the elderly. The venue had a pool for the kids and and a cabana for the adults (fit with natural shade from the vines and trees growing around us). What surprised me the most is the cleanliness of the Hotel and it's facilities. Grenada is a fun city but is often dusty, hot and cluttered; Xalteva was an oasis we didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: Any room on the second floor is great. The view alone is worth it. If you don't like the heat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streifler, Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Yes, you are correct. Xalteva is great for families. Whether you are a large family or a small family, Xalteva is a perfect place for your family to be together. Our pool and common areas provide enough space to enjoy each others company while meeting other guests. For families with small children, our location is safe and secure and we can close our front wooden doors for your comfort and peace of mind. If you wish to have a luncheon or small event while staying with us our staff can help you arrange your event too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    21
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
37
13
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I visited the Hotel for the first time while visiting my sister who lives in Nicaragua. They took me there and I had a great time. The second floor has views of the volcano. The pool was great, very clean and the staff was very friendly. I even had a chance to practice my Spanish although a lot of the staff spoke English.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streifler, Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
We are so glad you came to visit us while in Nicaragua. Our staff likes to help our guests practice Spanish and equally loves to learn English. While enjoying your stay with us we can help you arrange not only Spanish classes but also drawing and painting, mosaic, and cigar rolling classes. There is also a local gym that offers a 5 day free membership to all of our guests as well as a discount on spa services. While a guest here various Granada businesses have extended special discounts on their products and services. Hope to see you back again in Nicaragua soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Nicaragua
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My 8-year old son and I frequent the pool at Hotel Xalteva. It is always a relaxing, enjoyable time. The pool is sparkling clean. The staff are friendly and ready to help. Above all, it's quiet. Stop in for the afternoon!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaysnyder, Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your patronage, we appreciate your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Xalteva for one month and enjoyed it immensely. The hotel is exceptionally clean and well maintained, and the staff is genuinely friendly and extremely helpful. We have two young boys and very much appreciate what is easily the cleanest pool we've seen in Nicaragua. When we commented on the poor reception of the wireless Internet into our room they installed a booster just outside of our door. The staff ran numerous errands for us including bicycle repair, pharmacy, etc. In short, service quality is outstanding. The hotel and grounds are very well maintained and secure. A fantastic choice for families and for those looking for something that combines the service of a hotel with the convenience of a home.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaysnyder, Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you so much. Our pool is clean, the environment is great and guests like you make our job worth doing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in Hotel/Condominios Xalteva in Granada and we are completely satisfied. It was by far the cleanest and best maintained place we have found in Nicaragua, the building is very beautiful and you see on the first sight that they used only the best materials. We did't expect to find such a place and can recommend it 100%.
The staff is very friendly and one can notice they do their very best to help you where ever they can. They helped us to plan our further trip and even made some reservations in other hotels in other towns for us.
They hotel is not exactly in the centre, but a 5 minutes walk, in a not too touristic neighborhood which we liked very much since the only noise is the children playing on the streets, and no annoying people trying to sell you tourist crap.
The pool is quiet big and has a nice shape, there is a hammock and a small bar by the pool. There is also a cute parrot.
Breakfast was fruits, coffee or tea and little bit of cereals and yoghurt on top, delicious but not too much.

The only thing that was not perfect was the (milky) glass door from our room to the neighbor's flat (in the hotel itself), which in the night was a bit annoying because of the light and the noise of the television. But don't worry, the door is locked and you cannot look through.

All in all we enjoyed our stay and would definitely come back on our next Nicaragua trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streifler, Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We at Hotel Xalteva strive to offer the best possible service and atmosphere. Your comments are very important to us and having read your review we are looking into installing curtains in each room to improve our operations. Guests like you help us make the difference. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

hotel xalteva is a family friendly hotel that has incredible workers. the staff were so kind and courteous to the guests and they would make you breakfast with fresh local fruits and yogurt with fresh granola every morning. the pool occupied most of my time when i was actually at the hotel... the hotel property was so cool, when you walked in off the street into the gates it was like you were walking into a whole other world. i would recommend this incredible hotel for families with children or large group of friends.
- brendan shields age 14

Room Tip: get a suite on the second floor and you get a view of the volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaysnyder, Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your visit. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inman, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Wow, it is our home away from home each June, July, and August. We spent 6 weeks of a true vacation at Hotel Xalteva!! I don't want too many people to know about this place but the overall is Superior!! SO, let's not tell anyone but our friends!!

Service is outstanding!! Any need is provided with a smile!!
Value is worth every penny!! The community is worth every one of those!!
Sleep Quality is perfect!! None better!!
Cleanliness is spotless!! It is a treat to be a part of these condos!!
Location is perfect for us!! We enjoy the local cooking that is available by neighbors!!
Rooms are plenty big and comfortable. Love the floorplan of each unit!!
Fitness Center is the pool for me! There are several gyms down the street but the cardio in the pool works for me!!
Restaurants are available and within a short ride with a cheap and safe experience!! Staff have cabs that are used for those that reside at Hotel Xalteva!!

So, I am a real supporter of the condos and will be back!! Y'all know that though!! Reservation is already made!! So, shhhhh!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaysnyder, Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you. Awesome review and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Free internet...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#4 of 35 in Granada
5.0 of 5 stars 537 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
4.7 mi away
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.8 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#9 of 35 in Granada
5.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Romantic...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 35 in Granada
4.5 of 5 stars 339 reviews
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#8 of 35 in Granada
4.5 of 5 stars 419 reviews
Free Parking, M...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Mar Dulce
Hotel La Mar Dulce
#14 of 35 in Granada
4.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Xalteva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Xalteva

Address: Trillo Santa Rosa | Calle Obispo Ulloa, Granada 0500084, Nicaragua (Formerly Xalteva Condominiums)
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Granada
#9 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Xalteva 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Xalteva is the first of it’s kind in Granada. It combines timeless colonial design with modern conveniences. Located in the safe residential neighborhood of Xalteva, the name “Xalteva” (pronounced “al-TAY-vah”), refers to the original indigenous peoples who were in Granada before the Spanish Conquest. Built in 2007, by visionary/founder/president D. Jay Snyder they are the first available condominiums in this beautiful colonial city of Granada whose mission is, “To create and provide comprehensive comfort, value and lifestyle options to all guests and visitors whether it be for a transit traveler or a lifelong resident” through, “high quality attention to details, customer service, employee training and development and support of the local culture and environment.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jetsetter, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Xalteva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xalteva Condominiums Hotel Granada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Xalteva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.