We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In A Class Of Its Own” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Xalteva

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Xalteva to your Saves list
Hotel Xalteva
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Trillo Santa Rosa | Calle Obispo Ulloa, Granada 0500084, Nicaragua (Formerly Xalteva Condominiums)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Granada
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“In A Class Of Its Own”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Condo Hotel Xalteva is unlike anything else in Granada. The condos are newly built yet reminiscent of a bygone era. Each unit is elegantly appointed with rare attention to detail and a sought-after condo layout not found elsewhere.

The hotel is small enough to feel cozy yet large enough to meet people from all walks of life who are drawn to the city of Granada. Guest often find themselves staying longer than expected. With significantly less turnover than a traditional hotel, the result is camaraderie and enduring friendships.

The staff is friendly and the personalized attention is unparalleled. Melissa is a force of nature—with a stunning depth of knowledge, boundless energy and impeccable Spanish.

Superb views of Mombacho and the Cathedral await; the location is unsurpassed. The tropical pool area is an oasis of calm within the city of Granada. Whether you’re seeking tranquility, social engagement or an adventure in the city of Granada, Condo Hotel Xalteva is the place to be. It truly is in a class of its own.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaysnyder, Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
You are so kind and we so appreciate your visit. Melissa and the rest of the staff miss you and hope you return again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    22
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
58
38
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Londonderry, Vermont
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

We stayed two weeks at the Xalteva Condos recently and had a wonderful time. The condos are centrally located and within walking distance to most of the things you want to see in Granada, including the local market and grocery store. The Snyders are wonderful hosts, and the staff is wonderful. Fresh fruit, coffee and pastries every morning poolside. We had a one bedroom, one bath unit with full kitchen which was more than sufficient. The mix of guests you interact with there is great. Canadians, Americans, many of whom are return guests.The place is well maintained and very clean. We will definitely return for future vacations. There are many wonderful restaurants in town which are very reasonable. Transportation by taxi is also very reasonable and readily available. Take your crisp, clean, unmarked $100 dollar bills and change currency on the street with the money changers! Easy. Granada is noisy, so take your ear plugs. This is our second vacation at the condos, and we were very happy.

Room Tip: No elevators, so if stairs are a problem, downstairs is good. Much better views upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaysnyder, General Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We are so happy you left pleased with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Just completed a month at Xalteva Condos. The Snyders and their new manager Melissa along with the great staff do everything they can to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
We rented a two bedroom condo that was big enough to enjoy. The furnishings were good but not really too comfortable. The owners are looking for better cushions for all the chairs and settees.
The pool is exceptionally good. Breakfast of fresh fruit and bits of pastry was delicious and convenient out by the pool.
The condos attract guests that are very pleasant . Sometimes we had meals out together or took daytrips. Melissa can arrange all sorts of outings or just a reliable taxi driver.
The ladies next door will cook an evening meal for you, Easy walk to the park or the Pali or the market. You can easily take a taxi anywhere in town for a dollar for two.
You can hear the sounds of Granada--music ,dogs, fireworks so take earplugs or a white noise machine and you wont hear a thing
I think units 202 and 203 are the best--2nd floor units see Mombacho Volcano and get breezes

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaysnyder, General Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Yes, Melissa is our new manager and she does a great job. Thank you for appreciating her and the rest of our great staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed 6 nights in a 2 bedroom studio with full kitchen. We have found here everything we needed. The place is clean and well maintained, safe, the staff is always willing to make your stay perfect. The pool is small but perfect for refreshing. The small garden beside the pool is a perfect place to relax. If you get a chance to stay on the second floor, the views of the cathedral and volcano Mombacho are great. The location, a bit outside the Parque Central more congested area makes driving in and out of town very easy. Try to find a city map where 1-ways are indicated. It took us a while to find the hotel. Asking around made it even more confusing.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaysnyder, Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa monica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

I meant to stay two nights and ended up staying five nights here. The comfort, cleanliness, and hospitability is unbeatable. Grethel, the manager, and staff are very knowledgeable and friendly. My friend and I arrived very late after everyone was asleep. the night staff greeted us by name and got us settled-in. As we travelled to and from Granada, the staff stayed in touch to make sure we made it to our destination safely. The rooms and condos are tastefully decorated and have all the necessary temperature controls. The beds and pilllows are comfortable. You could spend the whole afternoon resting peacefully in the hammock under the vineyard or next to the pool under a banana tree. Truly a gem!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaysnyder, General Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We will gladly be your home away from home any time you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

Xalteva is The Place to stay in Granada. Stunning property, great location, friendly and knowledgeable staff. My family and I stayed at the condos during the Easter week, and loved every minute of it. The place is safe and clean: a true home away from home…and we are usually very picky. Every unit has a fully equipped kitchen -- travelling with kids, we found it to be very convenient. If you need groceries, a supermarket is near-by. And so are numerous great restaurants. Staff at the office was very responsive. They can help with anything you may need: finding a reliable guide, taxi, restaurant recommendations...whatever. They connected us with an English-speaking guide who was with us the entire week. He truly made this trip unforgettable. Out of curiosity we checked out several high-ranking hotels in Granada, but hands down, Xalteva is the best place in town.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaysnyder, General Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your patronage and we will look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

I stayed in one of the condos here for a month and would definitely recommend it to other travelers. The condos are incredible, pool is wonderful and the staff are unmatched. I'm typically very critical of accommodations, but I honestly have nothing but good things to say about my stay here.

You certainly won't regret booking your trip with these folks!!!

Oops. I almost forgot, my one complaint was that there was a barking dog in the adjacent building that barked for hours each night. I had to wear earplugs in order to sleep.

Room Tip: First floor. Less noise from street due to a wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaysnyder, General Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We are glad you had a wonderful stay and we hope to repeat this experience for others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Xalteva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Xalteva

Address: Trillo Santa Rosa | Calle Obispo Ulloa, Granada 0500084, Nicaragua (Formerly Xalteva Condominiums)
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Granada
#10 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Xalteva 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Xalteva is the first of it’s kind in Granada. It combines timeless colonial design with modern conveniences. Located in the safe residential neighborhood of Xalteva, the name “Xalteva” (pronounced “al-TAY-vah”), refers to the original indigenous peoples who were in Granada before the Spanish Conquest. Built in 2007, by visionary/founder/president D. Jay Snyder they are the first available condominiums in this beautiful colonial city of Granada whose mission is, “To create and provide comprehensive comfort, value and lifestyle options to all guests and visitors whether it be for a transit traveler or a lifelong resident” through, “high quality attention to details, customer service, employee training and development and support of the local culture and environment.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Xalteva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xalteva Condominiums Hotel Granada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Xalteva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.