We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Colonial Hotel with Wonderful, Helpful Hosts Victor and Katya” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Terrasol

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Granada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Terrasol
Save
You added Hotel Terrasol to your Saves list
Avenida Barricada | Antiguo Teatro Colonial 75 Varas al Sur, Granada, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Granada
Yorba Linda, California
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Colonial Hotel with Wonderful, Helpful Hosts Victor and Katya”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

I took a friend to Nicaragua and have to say that the best part was visiting the colonial city of Granada. The accommodations at Hotel Terra Sol were wonderful, clean and it is also located in a very safe area of Granada. In addition, the hotel rooms are colorfully adorned with paintings from local Granadian artists that becomes a feast to the eyes. I felt at home with Victor and Katya, as they both are friendly and knowledgeable of places that would interest any tourist . I would definitely recommend Hotel Terra Sol to my friends and family !!
Many regards to Victor and Katya
Ana Dascanio

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    46
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
25
166
52
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

I just stayed with my husband and 6 year old twins at Hotel Terrasol for five days. Please pay no attention to the one bad review they recently received. Read the other ones - they describe the hotel perfectly. The rooms are small, and, yes, two of them don't have a window - but hey, lady, get a life! It's also incredibly charming, and the owners are everything that people say and more - they are just the most genuine sweet people - always there to lend a hand, to help you have a nice stay in their hotel and in Granada. The hotel is so charming - absolutely spotless (I stayed a few nights in one of the windowless rooms, and you could eat off the floor - it certainly wasn't smelly), filled with lovely original oil paintings, the old colonial style building - really lovely place. And Victor and Katya are sooo lovely. We got there at 9:30 one night after an 8 hr. bus ride with two 6 year olds, no food all day long, and a car full of luggage - tired and crabby doesn't begin to describe it. We went up to our room, came back down at 9:45 (?) and they handed us a full menu to their restaurant. I worked in restaurants for 6 years in NY, so I kind of understand staying late to cook for one customer (!) - people just don't do it. Anyway, we ordered some food (the food prices are ridiculously inexpensive) and Victor disappeared into the kitchen and 10 minutes later we had this wonderful freshly cooked delicious meal on our table. And Victor just really wanted to know if everything was ok? I can't tell you how delicious that meal was, and really what made it so nice was the warm feeling behind it, the genuine desire to provide what makes his guests happy. That was what our whole stay was like. They found American cereal for my son every morning (I think maybe Katya went home to get it - it wasn't in their kitchen). They arranged trips for us, gave us ideas for good restaurants, and then kept our leftovers from those restaurants in their refrigerator and heated them up for us the next day (OK, you can see that I'm a little food/obsessed - but if food = love, then they have a lot of love at Hotel Terrasol). They gave us good advice for everything and left us alone when we weren't looking like we needed anything. So..

I just feel like I have to counter the bad reviewer's comments. It's a small hotel with a small price-tag to reflect that fact. In the double rooms with an extra bed, you can't unpack because there's no place to put your clothes or the suitcase if you are actually sleeping in both beds. But it is clean, lovely, and in how many luxury places can you sleep four people in a room for $44/night? How many places will allow a family of four to stay in a room for $44/night? They are kind, generous, and run a lovely hotel at a very fair price. All the good things that are in the rave reviews are true. Enough said.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

The staff and service here were excellent, rooms spotless, hot water, cable tv, the bed was comfortable and the room was air-conditioned, which was great in the heat of Granada. When we left, we really missed the whole place and especially the people there. The restaurant was top noch. I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, La
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

We stayed there for one night but next time we will stay there longer. We had a lovely little room with a balcony, overlooking a volcano. Hotel Terrasol is a small family run hotel in the heart of Granada with all the criteria - charming little room, clean, well light, private bath and ac. Well decorated with colorful local art work gracing the walls. We appreciate the graciousness and warmth of owners katya and victor chamorro. Our stay there was a highlight of our trip. I felt very safe and comfortable there. There's no hot water but it was not bad because it was so hot outside.
sincerely.
Julie and Luis

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

This hotel is absolutely awesome! The new internet site for the hotel is www.hotelterrasol.net, the email address is [--], the telephone number is [--]. Owners Victor and Katya Chamorro are amazing and wonderful people. They will arrange to have tour guides come pick you up at the hotel. Victor is a retired professional chef who makes amazing dinners in the restaurant on the first floor and the included breakfast every morning with the homemade guava jam is unforgettable. They are incredibly helpful, unbelievably friendly and the rooms were spotless. Very inexpensive, with a discount for using cash, fans were enough to keep us cool without AC, an easy three blocks to the square and very very quiet. Free internet, drinks any time of the day or night. Fully recommend a long stay!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

We stayed in a double room with private bathroom.
Good points:
- Fan included in standard room price (room has air conditioning but this adds $10 a night onto cost)
- Breakfast included - bread, fruit, jam, juice, tea/coffee
- Comfortable bed and towels provided
- Very clean and quiet (except for church bells every morning!)
- TV
- Very friendly, helpful owners (American gentleman and Costa Rican lady) and other staff, - they recommended some good tours
- Security box in room (although the hotel itself is secure)
- Walkable to central Granada
- Free internet
- $34.50 including tax per room per night seemed like good value

Bad points
- Cold shower (however Granada was so hot at the time, we didn't mind this so there was no point in mentioning it to the staff)
- Restaurant was closed which we were quite disappointed about because it had good reviews. To be fair we stayed for three nights and I don't think there was anyone else staying there the whole time, so probably a good time to let the chef go on holiday!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

Very nice owners, clean, good prices, amazing food, free internet, cold beer/water available at any hour from the front desk, and just overall good service made this hotel a highlight of my trip. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Terrasol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terrasol

Address: Avenida Barricada | Antiguo Teatro Colonial 75 Varas al Sur, Granada, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Granada
#9 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrasol hotel is constructed as a neighbor's typical colonial house, which turns it a hotel with enchantment totally equipped to the present necessities of comfort, keeping a esthetic and a decoration, so that their stay and lodging in Granada are unforgettable. Our hotel in Granada respects the initial structure of the building, that is to say, the rooms are arranged around three balconies with huge views to the outside, from which the majestic Mombacho volcano can be appreciated. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Terrasol Hotel Granada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Terrasol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.