We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dewa Koh Chang

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Dewa Koh Chang to your Saves list
The Dewa Koh Chang
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   24/1/1 Klong Prao Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 71 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brussels
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Lovely experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

End of January 2014 spend 5 days / 4 nights at The Dewa and it was overall a lovely experience.

The hotel layout and beach location - slightly away from the main road - is good. As commented by other travellers, architecture is particular and we found it great.

We had room 216 which was on the ground floor and gave us 'direct' access to the pool and the sunbeds (in front of our room). This was really nice. Pool area is absolutely nice.

The sand beach in front of the hotel is very wide. Sunbeds on the hotel grounds facing the sand beach are however limited and sometimes there are no sunbeds available (also because people tend to 'reserve' these sunbeds. Management indicates that they will remove 'reserved' sunbeds after one hour, but that never occured....

Room was of a decent size and was pretty clean. Storage space was however rather limited.
Bathroom was absolutely adequate and everything in the room and bathroom was properly working.

Staff was friendly to very friendly and helpful.
Beds are pretty hard but we asked for a top layer which was immediately provided.

As mentionned, a lovely experience it was.

Room Tip: Groundfloor rooms give direct access to the pool and the sunbeds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa K, Manager at The Dewa Koh Chang, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Hello Thibojo,

I would like to thank you for sharing your “lovely experience” at The Dewa in January with the TripAdvisor community.

Particularly pleased you enjoyed our design and our friendly and helpful team. As I mention often here on TripAdvisor, our design is distinctly different from the more traditional Thai resorts and of course subject to personal preference.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience and please do not hesitate to contact me personally upon your next trip to Koh Chang.

Best wishes,
Torgrim Viken
Executive Assistant Manager
eam@thedewakohchang.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    183
    35
    19
    12
See reviews for
103
327
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Top Contributor
942 reviews 942 reviews
313 hotel reviews
Reviews in 296 cities Reviews in 296 cities
1,344 helpful votes 1,344 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed at THE DEWA because we very much like the design of the hotel, modern, not the typical old-fashioned Thai style.

But there're also quite a lot of lows:
- People reserve beach-beds already very early in the morning. So when you come to the beach after breakfast (10:00) all beach beds are taken - even nearly nobody is there. They do have a sign that after 1 hour they do remove the towels, books, heads which were placed by guest, but in reality they do nothing. We spoke to the staff there, but he only said 'all booked'.
- Breakfast isn't up to the standard. There's very cheap cheese, terrible 'supermarket-Sushi', no Mango at all, no fresh juices.
- the staff wasn't very friendly. I often had the feeling that they feel disturbed when I asked something
- there isn't a nice place to sit and have a cocktail in the evening. Even they do have a lovely beach they don't put there any lounge-chairs to sit in the evening.
- No fitness center

Why I wouldn't return to Koh Chang? Because of the sand flies!!! We've been bitten every night. After 4 days on Koh Chang we each had more than 10 sand fly bites! And they're terrible, last at least one month.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa K, Manager at The Dewa Koh Chang, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Hello HONkiev,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your recent experience at The Dewa. I apologize that we did not live up to your expectations on this visit. I am still glad you enjoyed our design and the lovely beach.

We have taken note of your comments about the sunbeds and staff friendliness. As for our breakfast we offer three imported European cheeses; Emmental, Gouda and Edam. Our sushi is made in house and our fresh fruits follow seasonal patterns, hence why mango is not served in January.

Apologies again and hope to see you soon again at The Dewa.

Best wishes,
Torgrim Viken
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Loved our stay so much that we extended our stay by a couple of days. Superb rooms and amazing service. You can do a lot of water sports and spa treatments from the hotel itself. We hired a moped and when its tire blew out, the hotel sent a car to rescue us on the house. Service is exceptional!!!!

Room Tip: Eat at the restaurent of the beach shacks close to the resorts...Food is absolutely awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa K, Manager at The Dewa Koh Chang, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Hello Hetro,

Thank you for your excellent brief feedback here on TripAdvisor.

Glad to read we impressed so much you decided to prolong your stay. Always great to hear!

Your comment that we provided exceptional service is heartwarming and I will be pleased to share it with my team. Once again thank you for your post.

Best Wishes,
Torgrim Viken
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Great place to stay! It's situated at Klong Prao Beach, more quiet place compared with White Sand Beach, but still enough to do and enough good restaurants on walking distance. If you do would like to go to White Sand Beach so now and then, you can easily take a taxi. We stayed for 2 weeks @ The Dewa in a deluxe room on the 2nd floor, grand balcony and enough space inside. I do agree with the comments about the bed. Tor (EAM) and his colleagues indeed took care of this problem immediately but still it was a little bit to hard for me, but my partner didn't complained about it so it realy depend on what you prefer. The hotel is situated by/on the beach and also has a very nice swimming pool. Food at the beach restaurant and breakfast were good, only the coffee served during breakfast sometimes tasted not good. But if you asked for a new and fresh cup, they immediately took care of that. All the staff work very hard to keep all the toerists happy and satisfied. The staff not always speak fluent English, but they really try and do their best. If you looking for a good and relaxing place to stay, I can recommend The Dewa for sure!!

EXCURSIONS WE RECOMMEND:
- Coocking class @ Napalai Thai Cuisine School. The teacher (Bunny) whom give the classes speak fluent English and is very funny. You definately will enjoy this!
- Elephant trekking @ Chang Chutiman Khlong Phrao. We dit the 2 hour tour and also wend swimming with the olifant, it was AMAZING!

RESTAURANTS WE RECOMMEND:
- Ciao (Italian cuisine) at Kai Bea
- Ka-Ti (Thai cuisine) at Klong Prao
- Pilot Bar (Thai cuisine) situated on the beach almost next to The Dewa.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa K, Manager at The Dewa Koh Chang, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Hello precillaENmarcel,

Thank you for sharing your comments with the TripAdvisor community.

Good to read that you really enjoyed your stay and thank you for your complementing our pool, breakfast and the beach dinners. I will look into why the coffee was not consistently good. Thank you for bringing this to my attention.

As mentioned before, we do acknowledge that English language is hard for some of our Team Members, but there is always another staff member who speaks better English close by, and if they do not understand they will get a person who does to attend to you.

Once again thank you for your comments, and we hope to welcome you back to The Dewa on another occasion.

Best Wishes,
Torgrim Viken
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Lovely place yo stay. Located by/on the beach, but has a very nice pool area. If we had ever had any requests, challenges or questions the management service by Tor (EAM) was outstanding! That alone makes us want to come back.
If I'm going to point out any options for improvements it would be the time it took to get our lunch. Some days it went fast, some days it took longer time. However, it does make us love this hotel less.
Thanks for a pleasant stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa K, Manager at The Dewa Koh Chang, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Hello vTRAVELv,

Thank you for sharing your brief review with the TripAdvisor community.

I am thankful for your words of praise and that you enjoyed the beach and the pool area.

With regards to our service time for lunches I would agree that sometime during rush hours (13:00-14:30) we could be faster. This is something we currently work on and I am pleased to let you know that the past weeks the speed has improved.

Once again, thank you for your comments and suggestions.

Best Wishes,
Torgrim Viken
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Greetings!

Let's cut to the chase

"+"

1) It is located in a relatively quiet area of Klong Prao. There are not so many hotels
in the close vicinity so the surroundings are not inundated with people

2) The hotel itself looks like more of a set of bungalows piled over each over.
Design is fabulous! Toned-down lighting in the eveing, croaking frogs :-), a couple of fountains streaming into the swimming pool, you name it.

3) Breakfast area is spacious! The breakfast itself is good (watermelon, pineapples, scrambled eggs etc

4) Fox movies HD premium and family are available

5) Room is relatively large,a nice bathroom, is filled with the authentic atmosphere

6) As this hotel is pricey, there's not much ruskies-related activieis (e.g boozing, yelling,
jumping in the dead of night into the swimming pool, etc), but there are in presence. I'd say about 20-30% percent total

7)A Nice, clean beach

"-"

1) BEDS. BEDS. BEDS. I am not sure where the heck they obtained this stone pieces of furniture, but this is outrageous. If you a light sleeper, there is ABSOLUTELY NO CHANCE,
NO CHANCE, YOU CAN GET SOME SLEEP

2) Deluxe room, especially on the first floor, very dark and damp, possibly other types of rooms are better

3) Personnel barely speak English and sometimes need to be put under pressure to get things done

4) It is a bit OVERPRICED

5) Soundproofing is much to be desired

Also, one caveat, DO NOT STAY in the near-by hotels like amari emerald if you do not
want to spend the time among huge throngs of loud-mouthed Russians



"-"

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa K, Manager at The Dewa Koh Chang, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Hello Test T,

Thank you for your review about the experiences at The Dewa last December.

I am pleased to read that you found so many areas of our hotel to your liking such as our beach, breakfast, design, TV Channel selection and our room size.

As I have mentioned to previous reviewers, if you find our beds to hard, please let us know while staying with us and we will take care of it for you by adding an extra top-mattress.

In replies to prior reviews I have mentioned we understand the challenges with English language skills with some of our team members. This is something we remain focused on and have retained an English teacher to address this during low season. I am confident that in time we will see significant improvement in this area.

We have prior to this high season taken a look at our Food and Beverage prices to ensure we are on a similar level with other 4* hotels on Koh Chang, and I can ensure you the prices in The Dewa are very competitive.

Once again, thank you for your review.

Best Wishes,
Torgrim Viken
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marloffstein, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed 21 nights in one of the villas and again loved it. Torgrim (EAM) was always available and tried to give everyone a couple of nice words. If ou are looking for total relaxation - this is the place! Will return soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa K, Manager at The Dewa Koh Chang, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Hello Klaus B,

Thank you for staying with us over Christmas and New Years and for sharing your thoughts with the TripAdvisor community.

I am always very pleased when a guest wants to return to the hotel as it is a proof that we have hit all the right spots. Your next reservation in April is already confirmed and I look forward seeing you and your wife again in a few months.

Best Wishes,
Torgrim Viken
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dewa Koh Chang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dewa Koh Chang

Address: 24/1/1 Klong Prao Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Ko Chang
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ko Chang
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dewa Koh Chang 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinctively different and absolute unique is how we describe The DEWA Koh Chang. With its famous fusion architecture The DEWA blends in rustic, tropical and modern contemporary elements and celebrates in perfection the harmony with its surrounding of the beautiful Klong Prao Beach. You will enjoy the powdery beach where you can stroll along with spectacular sunsets, impressive views on the mountainous rain forest and the Gulf of Siam. Splash in the black shiny 700 sq.m. Pool, and enjoy excellent Thai and European cuisines and last but not least our spacious and totally designed Deluxe rooms, Villas and Grand Villas. We aim to contribute to your happiness, well knowing that this is more over a lifetime task. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Dewa Koh Chang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dewa Koh Chang Hotel Koh Chang
Dewa Koh Chang
Dewa Hotel Koh Chang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dewa Koh Chang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.