We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Dewa Koh Chang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Dewa Koh Chang to your Saves list
The Dewa Koh Chang
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   24/1/1 Klong Prao Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 71 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nakhon Pathom, Thailand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Overall the resort has a good standard. The staff is excellent with prompt services. However, the villa that we stayed in was a bit dim and stuffy (maybe because of the lack of ventilation). Surprisingly the breakfast buffet was excellent with good quality materials to choose from. Nightly dining was BBQ on the beach with live music and the occasional torch light fire show.
This is a nice resort to relax and get away from it all. It is a quiet resort with nice beach access with plenty of beach area, beach beds and large bean bags. Or just lounge quietly by the pool.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa K, General Manager at The Dewa Koh Chang, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Pornpimon W

Greetings from the team of THE DEWA

We thank you for your kind comments and your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to hear that you had a great time with us and for your praise of the excellent service you have received from our team members and the breakfast.

I thank you again for your stay with us and your kind comments that give our team a great boost of motivation.

I look forward to welcome you again in the future.

Best Regards
C. Behrend - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    183
    35
    18
    12
See reviews for
102
327
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nakhon Pathom, Thailand
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. There was a sense of niceness walking into the resort with a view of a beautiful pool and a corridor of villas leading down to the beach. We stayed in one of the round villas. The room looked quite big from the outside but from the inside the bathroom took up half the area. The room is a modern polished concrete design but it feels tight with heavy furnishing. And don't expect too much brightness in the room. The resort does provide free Wifi throughout for those who could not get away from it all.
The staff was excellent with prompt services. Our first night the air conditioning was quite warm, at least to our standard, so the next morning we reported this and the staff was quite expedient in repairing the problem giving us a truly nice air conditioned room.
The breakfast buffet was surprisingly excellent and the nightly dining was a BBQ on the beach with live music.
We do recommend this place if you do have a budget for it. It is a nice relaxing get away place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa K, General Manager at The Dewa Koh Chang, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Asukon,

Greetings from the entire team of THE DEWA

We are all very pleased to read that we gave you an excellent and prompt service.

The Resort's concept goes for the rustic/tropical and romantic feeling approach so in general all rooms are lighted in that line of concept. It may feel darker than what some of our guests maybe used to in other Resorts.

We are very glad to hear that you find the breakfast and the nightly BBQ to your enjoyment.

I thank you again for your recent stay with us and your kind comments and recommendations here at tripadvisor.
I would be delighted if I can welcome you again in the future.

Best Regards
C. Behrend - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iver
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I booked The Dewa Hotel after reading previous reviews on trip advisor. Overall the hotel was a good standard, although we felt that the restaurant let them down, as everytime we asked a question about the food, we were met with a blank look. My main issue with The Dewa is that we had to cancel one of our days holiday and advised The Dewa by email on the 13 November 12 that this was the case, we promptly received an email on the 14 November 12 saying this was not a problem and would be getting a refund back to the same card within 25 -30 days -10% admin fee, this was not a problem. I kept checking my account but no refund was made I chased The Dewa on the 2 January 13 by email and was told they would refer to their accounts department, I received an email back on the 3 January saying it would be in my account in 2 weeks. Fast forward until today 6 February 2013 and we are still waiting for our refund. I have lost count of the amount of emails I have sent asking for this to be sorted and asking for the email address of the General Manager, but my emails are being ignored. I hope The General Manager reads this and takes the time to reply so we can get this sorted and get our refund back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa K, General Manager at The Dewa Koh Chang, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear LouLew72

Greetings from the team of THE DEWA.

Thank you for your stay in November and I am terribly sorry for any mishapps that may happend in your refund process.

Please let me know your details such as full name, date of stay, credit card details and so on, so that I can take personal charge in this matter and will try to solve any problem to your satisfaction in this.
Please feel free to contact me under gm@thedewakohchang.com

Best Regards
C. Behrend - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in Feb 2013 after staying 7 nights at a Lonely Beach hotel (Bhumiyama). The Dewa is a true resort, not just a hotel, located at the southern end of Klong Prao beach next to VJ's and Amari. The resort flows down directly onto the beach from the beautiful natural style pool area, past the Villa style rooms which are circular in design in contrast to the 3 level wings which surround the pool. Unlike some other hotels, while we were there all the bar and beach facilities were open and staffed. There are many sun lounges facing onto the beach under the palms ( be quick, the get taken early) and a few big bean bags to lie on at the beach. One reason they have the bags and lounges is because the sand on the beach is rock-hard and uncomfortable to lie on with just a towel.
The Dewa is breathtaking in design, and very modern and architecturally considered. It is constructed boldly from raw concrete walls and timber decking. The exterior and room interiors are polished concrete softened with thatched roofs on the outside and room fabrics and curtains inside. The gardens are well maintained. I think they catch the leaves as they fall. The pool is brilliant. Dark grey-green tiles and shady palms over timber decking makes it very opulent.
It may not be for everyone and to be honest you could be anywhere tropical when you look out. It doesn't have much Thai about it in a traditional sense. If you want the classic Thai bungalow maybe consider the many other choices. The Villas are an attempt at the bungalow but it takes a stretch of imagination to turn the round, concrete drum-like shape with thatched roof into a traditional bungalow.
The staff are great, the breakfast buffet is very impressive, the services are many. But it is one of the most expensive hotels for that reason.
Our major drawbacks for the Dewa were the busy beach area with hard sand and rocky water and that our room had a string mildew smell (which I have seen reported here before). We were in Room 224. I know it is not uncommon in the tropics to have a mouldy smell but this was pretty bad and if we had been staying for more than 3 nights we would have asked to move. I think the room design doesn't help. There is no flow through ventilation.
Would I recommend you to stay here? Yes, if you're not on a budget. Too many good features to mention. But ask for a fresh smelling room. Oh, and like most of Thailand, the bed is like the beach; rock-hard. It is a good location though we personally preferred Lonely Beach.
At night there are plenty of restaurants with tables on the sand. we loved Pilot Bar just a few doors north.
I got lazy and hired a scooter from the hotel for 300Baht which is roughly double what you get them for from the street. Ironically it was older and more worn out than my previous 200Baht hire. I suggest take a little walk and hire one from the main street. there is a hirer just on the turn off to the hotel. A word of advice is you don't normally ride motorbikes, be careful! I have a mb licence but most hirers don't and their scars and bandages prove it. They ride fast, drunk and overloaded and without helmets. Crazy. I ride like I do at home - with tough laws.

Room Tip: Villa, if you want Bungalow style near the beach but a bit tacky. The poolside rooms at pool level o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa K, General Manager at The Dewa Koh Chang, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Relentless Traveller,

Sunny greetings from the team of THE DEWA.

We thank you for your recent stay with us and leaving your experience as a review here at tripadvisor.

The entire team is very happy that we could make your stay an enjoyable one.

We are sorry that you find the bed to hard and I would like to take the opportunity to encourage our guests to give us direct feedback so we can, in case of the sleep quality for example, do more layers of sheets on the bed to soften it up.

I thank yopu again for your recent stay with us and I look forward to welcome you again sometime in the future.

Best Regards
C. Behrend - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed here during our honeymoon. We arrived at the Christmas Eve and we had to book the room including the Christmas Dinner (almost 200$, drinks not included!!!). The Christmas Dinner was served in form of a buffet on the beach. The food was really mediocre...It was European food of buffet/cantine quality. When we arrived there was no choice of fresh meat or fish anymore and we felt really disappointed and betrayed. Most of the dishes were already finished and we ordered a Mojito to drink that was prepared with frozen mint! Then there was a stage with a lady who tried to entertain the guests....
The room we received first smelled like mold. It was one of the rooms on the first floor next to the pool. Despite the moldy smell you could not open the windows, because they were just not made for it!After having complained and having talked to the hotel manager, the manager found a room closer to the beach (no view though). The room was much better since you could open the windows and it had a small terrace. The breakfast was not that good either, the only time I ordered a pancake it was served almost raw! i had to bring it back and ask the chef to cook it properly. I ate during my whole stay cereals for breakfast and the breakfast was not what you expect from a 4* hotel. Only the coffee they served was good! The beach was nice. You had a possibility to have a massage on the beach which was really cheap or have a drink. Also I would not recommend to take the transfer organised by the hotel since it is at least 2 times more expensive than the transfer you can book with one of the travel agencies.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa K, General Manager at The Dewa Koh Chang, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Anna_1507,

Greetings from THE DEWA and thank you from the entire team for staying with us over the Christmas period.

We are sincerely sorry that you had not found the room and the breakfast to your personal liking.
We strive to impress every guest with our service, but in your case it seems we weren't successful.

The mandatory Christmas Event is well published in several broshures and websites to inform our potential guests that it is included during their stay. To keep the prices for those events reasonable, we unfortunately can not include drinks in the price. We have a reception before the event with 3 different drinks and a vast choice of snacks to "make up" for the non included drinks during dinner.

Our breakfast buffet is one of the biggest on the island with over 30 different items, from fresh made juices (daily changes), 4 kinds of cereals, 4 choices of bread, 6 different choices of danish/bakeries, homes made yoghurts, vast variety of Thai and Western dishes, fresh egg station, etc.
Not to mention 5 different teas you can choose from and on request we brew cappucino as well. My Team and I am surprised that you couldn't find anything to your liking.

All drinks at our bars are freshly made and we sure not use frozen, but chilled Mint for our Mojitos, since in the heat the leaves wouldn't stand a chance. All fruits, leaves, herbs are in the refrigerator to keep them fresh.

If guests like to choose a private transfer it is reasonable priced for 2.300 Baht for the whole Van and the convenience you have when you can decide when to leave and not have to wait for others in other hotels. If guests prefer to use a shared transfer to Trat airport we can also arrange this for 550 Baht per person, which is not 2 times higher than "outside" but just 80 Baht more than to walk out in the heat looking for a bargain.
We would like to clarify this for fellow travellers who might misunderstand your comment in this matter

The entire team thank you again for your stay with us and we all wish you a happy marriage.

Best Regards
C. Behrend - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at The Dewa for three nights at the end of our trip to Koh Mak and Koh Chang. We booked their most basic room - The deluxe room and were very impressed bearing in mind it was their "cheapest" room. The bathroom was well equipped with lovely bath, large shower and the room itself was very spacious. We had two single beds pushed together but this meant we had a very large bed.

The hotel is located in Klong Prao Beach, which is ideal if you want to be close to White Sands for some night life as it is only 10/15 minute taxi ride away (50BHT per person) or if you would rather have a more relaxing stay exploring the local area. The beach is fantastic - when the tide is out you can walk all the way around the bay if you wish and see all of the local hotels and restaurants on your way. The sea was calm and quite clear.

The hotel itself is very impressive - it has been designed to a high standard. The pool area is great for sunbathing and it has it's own bar - good for happy hour! We enjoyed seeing the happy staff sounding the daily gong to announce happy hour at 2pm! The hotel bar/restaurant was also good - we ate there for lunch every day and we had a BBQ dinner on the beach twice - try the thai beef kebab as this was delicious (also much cheaper than the imported beef). They also had a good wine menu - the Malbec was 1,400 BHT which is about what you would pay in England. The waiting staff were very friendly and provided a great service.

However, there are a few things that I think the hotel need to work on -

Firstly, they appear to permit guests "reserving" sun beds on the beach before breakfast. It was incredibly frustrating to walk to the beach at 9am after I had already eaten my breakfast to find ALL of the sun beds already had towels and the odd t-shirt or book strategically placed on them with NO ONE to be seen. This was a real shame as the beach area had a lovely breeze, views of the beach and ocean and the bar close by for drinks/food but I never once got to spend any time there due to this ridiculous allowance of sun bed reservation. Furthermore, following a rain-shower on our last day, the majority of guests had disappeared into their rooms to get out of the rain. We decided to have lunch by the beach and noticed that a lot of the of sun beds were now empty, therefore I asked for two towels and chose two sun beds that were free - they happened to have two empty coke bottles and two screwed up wet towels on the table (which I believe to mean the beds are no longer in use, especially as there were no personal belongings?!) but I was swiftly told that I could not lie there as they were in use. Most hotels I have stayed in have a policy whereby they remove towels if sun beds are left unused for over an hour. Please Dewa, sort this out.

Secondly, my partner and I returned from dinner early one night - 9.30pm. We decided we would like to watch a DVD on our big tv in our room. We asked reception if we could take a look at their DVD collection and rent a film but we were told a) sorry, you can only get a DVD from the shop which is now closed and b) our film collection really isn't that good anyway. Surely most guests are more likely to use their DVD players at night, not during the day when the sun is out, so I don't understand why the DVD's are under lock and key at the local shop which closes at dinner time and I also don't understand why they offer DVD players in every room but have a DVD collection of about 20 DVD's which they believe is "not very good"! We rented a dvd out the next day and when we settled down to watch the film that night the DVD player wasn't even plugged in or connected to the TV!!!

Lastly, we were given room 121 which was over looking the pool / reception area. Our room was at the end of the building which we didn't mind at all as it meant we only had neighbours on one side. However, for the first two nights we appeared to have a make-shift clothes horse outside our room with somebodies wet clothes hanging up to dry - this I did not appreciate. Also, we had an abandoned blue cot outside our room, which I also thought was quite unsightly and I couldn't understand why it was just left at the end of the corridor opposite our front door.

Overall, I think the Dewa is a top quality hotel in Koh Chang. It is in a great location on the Island and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are impressive as is the pool and I would consider staying here again. There are just a few things that I think they could work on if guests are paying over 5,000 THB a night to stay there.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms were v.nice. Also the ones on the ground floor have a nice front terrace, with seating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa K, General Manager at The Dewa Koh Chang, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear A1119,

Warm greetings from all of us at THE DEWA and thank you for your recent stay with us.

We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant time with us during your stay, to read that you enjoyed the service of our happy Staff and that you found our food and the hotel overall to your liking.

I personally thank you for pointing out the things that were not your liking and we currently working on them, especially the sun bed reservations issue.

All of us at THE DEWA thank you again for your kind comments and we look forward to welcome you here again if you have a chance to come to Koh Chang in the future.

Best Regards
C. Behrend - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This was our second visit to The Dewa. Like all second visits, the wow factor is absent, but still good value for money. We enjoyed the diverse breakfast, friendly staff that make your stay pleasant and the reality it is a smaller boutique style Thailand resort.

Advice to The Dewa: (1) consider providing beach ashtrays to our Eastern Bloc and European friends who perhaps do not apppreciate that cigarette butts do not add ambience to a tropical environment. (2) continue with free Wifi. (3) consider replacing chairs on balconies with more comfortable ones.

Advice to The Dewa guests: (1) consider more effectively managing your expectations of value for money and adapting your engagement with the Thais. For instance, resorts can cost $800++ a night whereas The Dewa ranges from approximately $140-200 per night. If you cannot afford high end, don't expect to be treated like royalty. Additionally, a demanding and entitled style of communicating can create noticeable dissonance when compared to the accommodating and polite Thai style. If you are on holidays, perhaps act like you are and enjoy the opportunity to relax, and leave your brittle and enduring unhappiness for when you return to your cold clim
ate.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa K, General Manager at The Dewa Koh Chang, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Graeme K,

Warm greetings from the entire team of THE DEWA

We are glad to read that we were able to make your second visit a pleasent one and that you have enjoyed the service of our friendly staff and the varietay of our breakfast.

Your advice with the ashtrays is already taken to heart and each pair of beach lounges are equipped with one.
To replace the chairs on the balconies will be considered for the next upgrade during the coming low season.

I thank you again for your second visit and look forward to more visits to come from you.

Best Regards
C. Behrend - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dewa Koh Chang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dewa Koh Chang

Address: 24/1/1 Klong Prao Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Ko Chang
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dewa Koh Chang 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinctively different and absolute unique is how we describe The DEWA Koh Chang. With its famous fusion architecture The DEWA blends in rustic, tropical and modern contemporary elements and celebrates in perfection the harmony with its surrounding of the beautiful Klong Prao Beach. You will enjoy the powdery beach where you can stroll along with spectacular sunsets, impressive views on the mountainous rain forest and the Gulf of Siam. Splash in the black shiny 700 sq.m. Pool, and enjoy excellent Thai and European cuisines and last but not least our spacious and totally designed Deluxe rooms, Villas and Grand Villas. We aim to contribute to your happiness, well knowing that this is more over a lifetime task. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The Dewa Koh Chang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dewa Koh Chang Hotel Koh Chang
Dewa Koh Chang
Dewa Hotel Koh Chang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dewa Koh Chang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.