We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No if's and butt's. Remarkable place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Garden Resort to your Saves list
Garden Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   98/22 Moo 4 | Kai Bae, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No if's and butt's. Remarkable place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

It was my first visit and i picked up this place from reviews i saw on TripAdvisor. I did spoke to the Manager ( a dutch gentleman of high order)., who was very helpful upon my arrival. He personally showed me around and never ever asked me about to sign in or payment on arrival until i feel comfortable. This place is remarkably well designed and beautiful. Excellent cleanliness, excellent crew and unmatched breakfast. Me and my wife were very happy to find a place according to our expectations. The main attraction was well designed furniture using the local resources, marvelous garden and salt water pool. The sanitation and cleanliness was top class. I highly recommend this place to all the visitors to Koh chang. Keep up the good work (management) and i am coming here only on my next trip. Mr. Saj Farid.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    97
    25
    7
    1
See reviews for
80
171
33
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

After my second visit to Garden Resort this year I can repeat my previous testimonial just word for word. No more or less - just perfect!
Thanks to Mause for cold beer in the fridge! ;-)))
We have chosen the hotel for the next trip on Koh Chang - it's Garden Resort.
Couple tips about cafes:
1) a cheap one with tasty thai food to the right from hotel named "Muslim food"
2) Porn's bungalow cafe and restaurant - about 10 min walk to the left along the beach

Room Tip: Choose a bungalow with garden-view - they are cheaper and quieter than the pool-view ones. The bunga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed here in May for a week. We were welcomed the moment we turned up. Maus the owner checked us in very quickly and our luggage had already been taken to our room. He also explained how everything worked. There is about 20 rooms here some are single bungalows and at the back there is double bungalows with connecting rooms if needed. We had a single bungalow closer to the front of the resort. The room was quite spacious, with good cupboard space, loads of Tv Channels and a dvd player, mini bar, room safe, air con was good. Even when after being out for a while the room stayed quite cool. We were supplied towels for the bathroom and separate towels for the pool. The bathroom was also pretty spacious, with a huge shower area. We didn't have any shelving in the shower to put your soap, shampoo etc on, which would have been good to have. We did have a small problem with the shower drain clogging up from other peoples hair. However on saying that the rest of the room was cleaned very well. Loved the towel animals made for us each day. There is also a computer to use for free in the lounge/entertainment area just behind reception. The pool was big and clean and the owner worked very hard on getting it cooler which was hard at this time of year. Loved the area the resort was in because you did get the feeling you were in amongst the tropical jungle and you could hear lots of birds and wildlife which was really nice-but right at the front entrance were bars, restaurants and convenience store. Although as its low season some of the restaurants were closed - but there was still plenty of options available. The gardens were very well maintained and the staff always had a smile for you. Yes there are mozzies -but its to be expected when you are in a tropical climate. I enjoyed the breakfast. You could get eggs made to order, and you just helped yourself to cereal, bacon, toast , juice, tea etc. My scrambled eggs were great. There is a popular bar across the road out front - but once we were in our room you couldn't hear the music. Even sitting on our terrace it wasn't that loud. Maus was a fountain of information and even helped us out one day with some phone calls. Which was greatly appreciated. We organised our transfer through the resort to the airport back on the mainland and even with some ferry delays the driver managed to get us there on time. Thanks to all the lovely staff we really enjoyed our time here and would stay again next time we head back to Koh Chang.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tioga, North Dakota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Great off the beaten path hotel owned by a foreigner.

The room was clean and comfortable. It had everything needed for a comfortable stay.

In the morning, breakfast is provided. It's simple and good. They make you your choice of eggs, and then you get self-serve bacon, ham, cheese, and a Thai dish. Also, available is unlimited juice, coffee, and water.

The negatives of the place is there is no beachfront for the property. You have to walk a short distance to get to the beach. But, that is really not a big deal. The stay is still worth it for the price.

It's slow season right now, so the hotel bar that served food was not open. Actually, the whole area around the hotel was lacking open eateries due to slow season.

Overall, I recommend this hotel for the price and comfort.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We were here for four nights and were not disappointed at all.
Mause the owner, his wife and staff couldn't be more helpful or friendlier. I forgot my hairdryer and they supplied us with one and a kettle
Have to say, we loved the" towelart" that the maids do is amazing from elephants to turtles.
Gardens are beautiful, pool is great and clean.
The villa bathrooms are spacious and the toiletries supplied more than do the job.
Just a quick "thank you" Mause for a great time from my husband and I !

Room Tip: All the rooms are great but if you have children, maybe the pool ones would be best so you can watch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Stayed here couple weeks ago for six nights with my husband and 21 year old son, had a room right near the pool, it's in a pretty good location near bars and eateries, located in a tropical garden so you need mosquito repellent which is fine, good value for money as we were in low season, breakfast not bad, nice big pool, staff lovely, all in all not a bad little spot!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I suppose I qualify as a Garden Resort veteran by now. I've just completed my seventh visit. So I guess you could say I quite like the place.
I've encountered some of the other guests on previous visits, so they must be fairly keen, too. We've become friends, well sort of, enjoying holiday-type conversations over breakfast and at the bar.
Interesting company, some of them. Maybe one day I'll bump into Mark again, who doubles as an explosives expert in the Antarctic and a sheep farmer in Western Australia.
So, Garden Resort, what's the attraction? Why would anyone want to go back to the same place seven times?
Firstly, it backs onto a tropical rainforest. You wake up and go to sleep to the mysterious sounds of the jungle.
And the swimming pool, with its waterfall, is a delightful refuge from the heat. It is the deepest on Koh Chang.
The resort's 20 thatched-roof bungalows, set well back from the main street, have all you need: more than ample shower room, solid wooden furniture, huge beds, TV, free wifi and so on.
The days start slowly for me. I stroll down the winding stone path from my bungalow to the restaurant, say “sawadee, kap” to the gardeners in the early morning sun, and I start on the tropical fruits and Thai or Western food, often both. The bread, by the way, is home-baked every day.
Anything you want to know about Koh Chang, just ask Mause, the Dutch owner, who is an entertaining conversationalist and general good guy.
He is happy to put you right on just about everything. He'll tell you where to go if you want to ride elephants. Some camps look after their elephants better than others, apparently.
He'll advise and book you on trips to nearby islands and tell you where to hire a motorbike, if you must. I have never hired a motorbike as I prefer my holidays injury free. I take a taxi, every time.
For the first-timer in Koh Chang, there's enough to see and do: trips by land and sea, excellent beaches, bars, good fish restaurants and trying to get bargains. Finding fresh attractions on a second visit might be a challenge.
Then again, I don't do the tourist things anymore. I just fall naturally and happily into a relaxed routine and take the day as it comes.
Roll on, visit number eight in August.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, Poolside rooms have the edge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
6.0 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#18 of 71 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 stars 592 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang
2.7 mi away
Koh Chang Paradise Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
The Dewa Koh Chang
The Dewa Koh Chang
#8 of 71 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 stars 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Resort

Address: 98/22 Moo 4 | Kai Bae, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Resort is located in the center of Kai Bae on Koh Chang just 200 meters walk from the beach. Lots of shops, bars and restaurants are within walking distance. We feature (among other things) a beautiful salt water swimming pool and pride ourselves on a very personal service towards our guests. Garden Resort: Koh Chang's best kept secret! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kai Bae Garden Hotel Koh Chang
Hotel Kai Bae Garden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.