We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Paradise', 'Heaven'...I repeat what has been said before.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of K.B. Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Chang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
K.B. Resort
Save
You added K.B. Resort to your Saves list
10/16 Moo 4 Kai Bae, Ko Chang, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“'Paradise', 'Heaven'...I repeat what has been said before.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Well I've tried to find a place like this, all over South East Asia and beyond. But I can't. But oh how I've tried. Hence I have stayed three times in four years. I give up.

It's the kind of place which makes you giggle to yourself, while you think of those unfortunate souls who are NOT here with you.

There are three main things I have learned from KB Resort:

1) Hard-to-find paradise hotels are often 'hard-to-find' on websites too [why is this not in the Hotel section? It's a hotel, one of the best].

2) Some 'difficult guests' will mess up the rating of a great hotel, simply because they are scared of harmless things (ie dogs); and therefore you wonder whether they should have ever left their comfort zone back home. One person even rated the hotel down, due to what sounds like a normal Thai massage. Jeez.

3) There are people in the world, who won't add their 5-star reviews, because they don't want YOU to know about it. This is one of those hotels.

This hotel is one of those places where you struggle to find a flaw. Although some clearly 'need' to find a flaw...any flaw...to appear intelligent - which, of course, always has the opposite effect.

This is the best pound-for-pound hotel I have ever stayed in. In a way, it is what most of us are looking for, when we sit imagining a far away beach in a dreary office.

Dao, the friendly owner, has done an awesome job, particularly with a difficult new extension. Previously, it was a blissful array of beachside bungalows - which suit the 'Thailand types', with a bit of comfort. A swish extension was recently added alongside the laid-back bungalow area - including an upgraded restaurant, a sundeck, and some tastefully built 'normal' hotel rooms.
But if you really want the feeling of 'being in your screensaver', then any bungalow by the beach will put a big smile on your face, and a tiny dent in your wallet. The basic room choices vary between air-conditioning or fan, having a TV (with 300 channels), and your proximity to the beach or pool.

Try swimming, or eating at the restaurant, as the sun goes down (yes, those sunsets again) and you'll understand why this hotel receives the more 'human' of the accolades on here.

During the day it's a fairly chilled beach area: no hawkers, a patch to sunbathe, swings to swing on, a warm sea with no dangerous creatures (but the occasional small rock underfoot for those who don't look where they 'walk'...er...in the sea), beachside massages, elephants having a swim every day, etc.
Some free quality beach towels are available at the pool; but failing that, find a dog and use him instead.

During the night it's as gorgeous-looking as you hoped a beach resort would be; lots of pretty lights and landscapes. But the nice thing is the hotel is located in a perfect spot along 'The Road' - ie the peaceful part, just at the point where the nightlife area begins (geographically speaking).
As you move further down the road (towards the lively Klong Prao beach, then the 'louder' White Sands), the nightlife will pick up the further you go. The cool local bars are Mojito and Filou. Thais like to drink in this part of the island too, which actually says a lot. This area is often regarded as the 'nice part' of the island. You can choose your holiday style here.

The Kai Bae area is full of long-stay foreigners and residents, so it's more chilled, perfect for couples, families, and any solo travellers not wanting to run a gauntlet of 'welcooome!' just to buy some cigarettes. The walk down 'The Road' is one of the more pleasant ones in life. This area of Koh Chang caters for both fun loud nights and quiet romantic ones. It is also a great base for any activities on the island.

Opposite the hotel is a cheap relaxed noodle place which is always open for your coming-home-late-and-drunk munchies. Even the shops in the road (closing at 10pm) tend to sell better items than the tat elsewhere. Plus there's cheap laundry and scooter hire at the entrance to the hotel. And day trips or transport (to anywhere in Thailand) can be done just outside too, or at reception. 'Getting organised' is far too easy here.

And the dogs? Well I've always got on with them. They greet me home, and come to say hello if you're on your own at the beach. But 99% of guests don't notice them. These dogs are part of the island, they are a Koh Chang breed. The handful of dogs (hanging around the hotel) might just return your good attitude, and therefore we can avoid their 'terrifying' behaviour of sleeping in the sun...or their even more 'terrifying' behaviour of sleeping in the shade.
By the way, the small black dog someone mentioned is seriously old, lame and grumpy; but in a fight between him and a tiny sandcrab, my money would be on the crab.
[Also note: there is a new sign on the beach about the dogs - more for insurance protection, than reality - but a sign which one reviewer seems to have 'copied and pasted' into her head, and subsequently flounced about it, with self-inflicted fear. Maybe she'd just watched Cujo on the tellybox.]

Anyway, it's paradise.
You'll gloat internally, you'll have fun, you'll relax, you'll take too many photos, you won't notice any dogs...and you'll probably come back.

Actually, don't tell anyone...or the dog 'gets it'!!
Thank god it's NOT in the 'Hotel' section of TripAdvisor. It's our little secret...and no one shall know!
Er...except the readers of travel websites, and the rest of the English-speaking world, of course.

Room Tip: Choose a bungalow as near to the beach as you can, maybe one row back is best for more privacy. Your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    73
    20
    5
    4
See reviews for
57
79
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon, India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed there for 4 days. This place is heaven.. very relaxing, sweet little pool, located right on the beach. The beach was quiet compared to most other beaches in Koh Chang. Very clean and super staff. The massage that can be taken anywhere and everywhere you like at the hotel. The entrance is very simple but once you get in you will be pleasantly surprised. The beach front rooms are lovely. The food at the multi-cuisine restaurant is also nice. There are great eateries located right outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Beach facing rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlaar, Belgium
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights at the end of our 4 week trekking, this place is really heaven to relax. Beach & pool: we were here in mid August, but the beach was extremely quiet, so enough silence, beach, sand, waves and sun to relax. The brand new pool is also pleasant, located at the back of the property. They provide free beach towels, which is good to know before going there.
Room: we had a bungalow with garden view, which actually means you are not on the first two rows. We were lucky that we actually had a bungalow on the 3rd row facing the sea, so we actually had a sea view bungalow, which is awesome to sit on the terrace and see the waves and sunset. The bungalow itself is spacious, clean, comfortable, all you need.
Breakfast: rooms include breakfast, they serve the best and most varying breakfast in buffet style that we had on our trip.
Service: excellent, very helpfull.
Area: Kae Bae beach is not as big as white sand beach, but offers many excellent restaurants and shops, but without the busy tourist feeling, so again very relaxing.
Stray dogs: well, in Thailand dogs are all around on the streets, etc. So there are also a few dogs walking around the hotels, including this hotel. During breakfast they just lay on the floor or next to a table, they don't bite, don't bark, don't look angry or whatever, don't follow you, don't come in the area of the bungalows, don't come on the beach, so actually it's absolutely no problem.
Conclusion: excellent resort, with moderate prices, you can find maybe a bit more beautiful ones, but a much much higher prices, we would definitely go again!

Room Tip: If you really want beach front, sea view, or something of your preference, make sure to make a reser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

KB Resort has na nice beach, good and clean accommodation and an OK restaurant. The pool is great and new and the massages are a treat! Staff are friendly and helpful. What the resort should do somethuing about are the stray dogs... When entering the resort the first thing you'll see is a big sign warning you about not feeding the stray dogs because you might be held accountable when someone gets a bite and gets Rabies. Whereever you go on the resort, you will be sure to encounter begging dogs. In the restaurant there was usually one laying around at every table... I was very surprised when I saw staff feeding them while we were having dinner. What about not feeding the dogs?
So, KB resort is a nice place to stay whith good value accommodation but you have to be a a (stray) dog lover!

Room Tip: Get one of the AC bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Chang, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Rooms are nice and clean with great air-con. We stayed in a beach front room which has excellent views. I felt rooms were a little expensive for quiet season but are comparable with others of similar quality in the area. Staff are friendly but fairly relaxed and service in the restaurant can be slow but the cocktails are some of the best in the area. I recommend the passion mojito! Definitely a recommend.

Room Tip: Beach front with AC, rooms are quiet with great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 8 nights. We had no booking however were told of this place by my borther who highly recommended it, and said that if you turn up you will be able to negotiate a better rate on the day, provided it was not high season. Being should season we thought we would try our luck.

We were given a standard air conditioned room with a beach view for 2100 baht per night including buffet breakfast. As we really wanted to stay beachside, we asked if there were any rooms available right on the beach, and were advised that on day 3 one would be available, so we opted for that. The lady at reception (who has fairly good English and we found very helpful as opposed to other reviews) advised us that we would have to pay 700 baht extra for that room for the remainder of the stay, so we jumped at it. She mentioned that we could fix her up at the end of our stay for the difference, so we left it at that. Three days later as we were walking into the village, she called us over and said not to worry about the difference, so we got a beach front air conditioned villa for 2100 a night, absolute steal!

The rooms were well presented, with ample storage space, an in room safe, TV and airconditioner. The bathroom is basic but clean with flush toilet, full wash basin and hot shower.

We ate at the restaurant every day for breakfast and every night for dinner, the food was exceptional. The staff were very attentive and helpful, but not pushy and their English was very good. They even suggested specials that were not on the menu, and would assist us in choosing the fresh fish from the bbq to be cooked! The flavours and the cooking of the team were faultless except for one occasion where they slightly over cooked the squid. Drinks were very reasonable priced for a hotel (85 baht for a large Chang beer, 90 baht for a local whiskey, 150 baht for a Scotch/American whiskey).

The pool area is fantastic, with sun lunges (both shaded and open air, a small slide for the kids, and a cabana for massages and manicures etc. A Thai massage was 250 baht, with an Aloe Vera treatment 400 baht, and both went for over an hour.

The beach is great at high tide, at low tide it exposes some of the rocks etc, but it is not a bad beach at all and very quiet at this time of year.

The reception area has a limited tour desk, in my opinion you can get better value in the village itself, but it is very convenient. Free wifi available throughout the resort as well.

The only thing I would like to mention as a downside is the music from the Kai Bae Beach resort next door at night. Loud wailing karaoke or dance music is not my idea of a peaceful background when having a sublime dinner right next to the beach. However this is out of the resorts control, but did detract from the dining experience.

I would highly recommend this restaurant and we will be definitely returning again.

Room Tip: Room number 4 is right next to the beach at the end of the resort, but wi-fi is flaky If Room numbe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 4 night as a last stop before going home after 3 weeks of travelling trough Laos & Thailand.
What a wonderful place! We heard different stories about Koh Chang and were excited to find out by ourselves.
The boattrip from Trat to Koh Chang was fine - 40 mins. We got a tuktuk wich was quite expensive (100B/p with 7 persons). We drove trough Koh Chang; not a nice view: just little restaurants and massage-saloons. Most of them closed and in Russian language.
Then we arrived at KB resort and wow! What a paradise! We had a luxe villa with garden view. Supermodern, clean, spacious, perfect bathroom... Free wifi everywhere. Good variety with breakfast. Beautiful garden and especially: silence!
Massage at the beach or at the swimmingpool; wherever you like.
The beach is very spacious and just a few visitors.
We've had dinner at the resort everyday beacause the food is delicious and the street outside looks cheap and desolate.
After all: great place with fantastic service.
Don't want to leave tomorrow...

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to K.B. Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K.B. Resort

Address: 10/16 Moo 4 Kai Bae, Ko Chang, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 46
Also Known As:
k.b. Hotel Koh Chang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage K.B. Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.