We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of K.B. Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Chang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
K.B. Resort
Save
You added K.B. Resort to your Saves list
10/16 Moo 4 Kai Bae, Ko Chang, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Not bad at all....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

I must admit, that at first sight, i was ready to leave....we were expected a big room for 6, but got 2 double villa, with no connected doors, construction around the hotel, more or less no reception area and not the beautiful garden i was dreaming of.....but...nice pool area, good breakfast restaurant, beautiful beach, the garden was not so bad after all, clean rooms and some good local restaurants just around the corner...many options of boat trips, if you want to have a great day with snorkling, good options to rent a kayak and enjoy some of the small islands nearby and many options for souvenir shopping...I am sure that when all the constructions are done, this is gonna be an even greater place to stay for some days

Room Tip: Have some great rooms, close to the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    75
    20
    5
    4
See reviews for
57
81
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Eight of us stayed for 10 nights at the beginning of March and we all had a great time with only a few incidents of unwellness which was probably because it was so hot (certainly in comparison to the UK at this time of year). The other reports seem fairly accurate; the buildign work is still going on 7 days a week, sometimes until after dark. They are now up to roof level so the majority of construction has been done. Between our group we had two beachfront rooms (numbers 1 and 2 close to the restaurant), one sea view (number 3 just behind) and two gardens rooms (numbers 4 and 5 slightly further back but close to the new building). Those of us in the garden rooms did get a slight reduction because of the building work, but only when we asked for it. All had air-conditioning and were well presented and spacious.
The majority of staff were quite young and didn't speak much English, coupled with my lack of Thai language made communication difficult on occasions when another member of staff would come over to help. Generally I found them to be quite helpful and as pleasant as they could be given the language barrier. I would agree with one of the earlier reviews that some beachfront chairs / loungers would be appreciated, we all purchased beach mats at a local shop which with some haggling came down to 100 Bht each. The beach directly in front of the hotel is quite narrow at high tide and the sea is quite stony - if you wish to go swimming walk along the beach for 100-200m where it's a lot sandier.
The restaurant was great for breakfast; fresh fruits, an egg station offering omelettes, fried and boiled eggs, cereals, breads, local cuisine, tea coffee and fruit juice and as much as you like. In the evening it was great to have a refreshing drink watching the sun go down sitting right at the edge of the beach. We ate there a couple of nights, the freshly barbequed fish was cooked perfectly and not too expensive in comparison to other restaurants in Kai Bae. Some of the other food we tried from the menu wasn't as nice or as good value as other places in the area.
Overall I thoroughly enjoyed our stay, it was a great location with nice clean spacious rooms and would recommend it, even more so once the building work is complete

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

The resort is beachfront, so great position but they are building a large block of new units next to the restaurant- which means it's way too noisy from 8am ( drilling through breakfast..) until early evening, every day. Beach front bungalows are lovely, spacious and very clean with a small balcony. The cheaper garden bungalows are at the back and can be very noisy with people wandering past at all hours and of course the building noise. There are also no security guards, so people that aren't staying there use the pool and wander through the resort.

Room Tip: Ask for a bungalow away from the restaurant ( and the building site) and as close to the beachfront...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We stayed 6 nights at KB Resort in early January 2012. It was a great experience overall, with only a few nitpicky downsides (see below).

The good:
- Great value!
- Clean, spacious bungalow with your own porch.
- Beautiful pool area.
- Great breakfast (included).
- Friendly, helpful staff.
- Family atmosphere.

The not-so-great
- Ants and cockroach in room.
- Construction going on all day long.
- Beach is small, but adequate.
- Most staff don't speak english.

Room Tip: "Garden" fan huts keep you cool enough at night, but A/C huts seem to be more soundproof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We stayed at KB resort for 5 nights in December. Rented 2 bungalows side by side - not beach front, but honestly I wouldn't bother with the extra cost. Our bungalow (#15) was gardenview but could see the ocean from our porch and was 100m from the BEAUTIFUL beach. During our stay they were constructing a new building beside the huts which I can assume will house hotel rooms. The construction does go on but not too early in the morning and not late at night. You can't hear it from the beach or pool so not really an issue.

While we were there they opened up the brand new waterfront restaurant for business - its a beautiful open air restaurant with delicious food & gorgeous sunset views. Breakfast buffet is fabulous as well - and included!!

The pool is clean and beautiful, but the beach here is so nice we spend most days lounging by the ocean only going for a pool dip in late afternoon.

For the price, I couldn't recommend a better resort in Kae Bai. We walked the beach and checked them out and this one was an excellent balance between traditional bungalows and modern amenities. And the beach was quiet, warm and just perfect!!

Oh, and while minimal time was spent in our hut - the time spent was perfect. Rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable. Western style shower too which is nice!

A tip for beachfront massages - head to Kae Bae Huts next door for their lovely waterside massage pavilion.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

We rented a Deluxe Beach Bungalow for 3 nights. It was 3500 Baht, so pretty expensive. We arrived first of december. But the location, the view, the beach and the resort was worth all the money! The staff is really friendly, the whole place is child friendly - our kids loved the pool. The ambience is great. The food in the restaurant is good, but pricey compared to the local restaurants in town. We had a really nice stay, and even came back to use the pool for the rest of our stay, which was 100 baht a day. So nice!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

I like this place very much.

Nice beach bungalows close to the sea.

But why are there no beach chairs at the bungalows?

Very good breakfasts but the evening meals are not worth its price.

Impossible to accept all these ”wild?” dogs on the beach. Are they holy?

I would give this place five points if there were beachchairs and no dogs.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to K.B. Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K.B. Resort

Address: 10/16 Moo 4 Kai Bae, Ko Chang, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 46
Also Known As:
k.b. Hotel Koh Chang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage K.B. Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.