We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chang Buri Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Chang Buri Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Chang Buri Resort and Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   99/9 Moo 4, White Sand Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand (Formerly Ko Chang Hillside)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 71 Hotels in Ko Chang
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
“nice place...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

we stay for two nights here on our short holiday
this hotel close to centre of white sand beach
good and quiet location
but if you walk out to the road at night
it's very loud sound of music from the beer bar
good swimmimg pool
breakfast was good also
friendly staffs and helpfull
but the room need more upgraded

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    63
    24
    11
    14
See reviews for
21
63
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Byfield, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was the worst experience of my life as previous people have said it too was our honeymoon. Staff are rude. rooms are mouldy pillows are mouldy linen is filthy pull sheets back and they were filthy. Food was crap unless you Asian because that is all they cater for. I emailed the manager with my thoughts and still have not heard back 3 weeks later.

Room Tip: Don't not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I stayed at this resort because of its closeness to the main hub of the town and 'White sands beach' i have given the resort one star rating because the breakfast was okay, the rest of the hotel was complete rubbish.
If you took the hotel staff away, nobody would have noticed! i asked if it was possible to upgrade as i was on my honeymoon to which i got the reply 'not our policy' or pay 5000 baht for a beach house........not even a congratulations or a free welcome drink ! when asked if i might be able to speak with the manager i was told he was out.
So very cold and rude. We also was told we would have a swimming pool view, but all we could see outside of our window was waste land.
I highly recommend you either stay away from this resort/hotel or if you are deaf or/and dumb enjoy your stay, you should be on their payroll.....
Kevin

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Upgraded to a private villa after being shown a damp-ridden room at the Hillside part of this complex.
Pros: Uninterrupted view of the sea from the pontoon area which has plenty of sun beds. The pool is good too.
Cons: Dirty, sweat stained headboard. Filthy balcony that was covered in rotting leaves and fruit from the trees above. The room was wiped over during our stay but not cleaned with products despite requests. The staff are completely unfriendly other than to Thai people and everyone drags their feet around, looking bored out of their minds or texting. They're just not interested. Some of the staff have digusting fingernails and to be honest this is off putting when having them lean over you to retrieve your plates (when they can be bothered!)
The entire hotel is tired and tatty. For £100 per night this is not acceptable, especially on an island where you would expect the standards to be higher (as they are in Koh Samui). We stayed in Bangkok at the Best Western and the Continenet in Sukhamvit, the latter with a 38th floor roof bar and pool for £25 less per night.
On my last note there was the additional pleasure of local prostitutes roaming the complex completely unchallenged. The security is usually not there but when it is it is pointless.
Please do not go!

Room Tip: A budget room opposite the 711 would be best as these are the newest but they are opposite the noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Booked at this resort for a last minute deal and was reasonably priced for a resort in a good location, we stayed for 4 nights. Pros: Good location, quiet, close to beach, modern bathroom, swimming pool was good with plenty of sunbeds, we were allowed an early check in Cons: Room stunk of smoke no matter how much it sprayed or aired out, resort is geared towards chinese holiday makers, breakfast was average (egg chef was good though), verandah was tiny with mouldy deck chairs and cushions, limited english speaking tv channels, wifi was very slow

Room Tip: If you are a non smoker, be aware that rooms have strong cigarette odour
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Four Elms, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Firstly hotel refers to a private beach. Be aware that it is a rocky beach with no direct access to the beautifil white sand beach of Ha Sai Khao. Difficult access to sea down a slope. A very nice swimming pool however.
Stayed in an expensive suite room which looks very nice.. The bathroom had no water in the evening for 3 days so couldn't shower for dinner. I was told the pumps had gone but would be fixed. Bluntly I believe this was a lie! Aircon and internet reception in room was also very poor.
Asked at least twice to see and speak to a manager but was refused. Reception staff just don't care and no apology made on checking out or gesture for lack of facilities in an expensive hotel and room.
There are many hotels at White Sand Beach at all price levels and with good service. I have stayed at many over the years.
Don't stay here. This hotel is very poor for Thailand and needs management put in to up standards.

Room Tip: Don't stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Chang Buri is a nice hotel in White Sands area, the busiest part of the island. If you like to be in a paradise island but you still want to have many options to eat, bars and some shopping then this location is perfect for you.

We stayed in the sea side rooms, the room was ok, not view to the beach but it was nice. Keep in mind that the hotel has to parts: the hill side rooms and the sea front rooms. Since the road is quiet busy in this area, specially at night, I strongly recommend you to get a room in the sea side.

The pool area is just amazing, very nice and quiet, and eventhough you dont have sand in this area you have stairs just close to the beach to get right to the sea and have a nice swim. You have a very nice view of the island from the hotel deck near the pool.

The breakfast was very good and the service in general was fine.

I think Chang Buri is a good option if you dont want to pay a fortune for your stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chang Buri Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chang Buri Resort and Spa

Address: 99/9 Moo 4, White Sand Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand (Formerly Ko Chang Hillside)
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Ko Chang
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chang Buri Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Chang Buri Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chang Buri Hotel Koh Chang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chang Buri Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.