We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buri bad resort” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Chang Buri Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Chang Buri Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chang Buri Resort and Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   99/9 Moo 4, White Sand Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand (Formerly Ko Chang Hillside)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 71 hotels in Ko Chang
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Buri bad resort”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I stayed at this resort because of its closeness to the main hub of the town and 'White sands beach' i have given the resort one star rating because the breakfast was okay, the rest of the hotel was complete rubbish.
If you took the hotel staff away, nobody would have noticed! i asked if it was possible to upgrade as i was on my honeymoon to which i got the reply 'not our policy' or pay 5000 baht for a beach house........not even a congratulations or a free welcome drink ! when asked if i might be able to speak with the manager i was told he was out.
So very cold and rude. We also was told we would have a swimming pool view, but all we could see outside of our window was waste land.
I highly recommend you either stay away from this resort/hotel or if you are deaf or/and dumb enjoy your stay, you should be on their payroll.....
Kevin

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    52
    17
    8
    10
See reviews for
13
45
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Upgraded to a private villa after being shown a damp-ridden room at the Hillside part of this complex.
Pros: Uninterrupted view of the sea from the pontoon area which has plenty of sun beds. The pool is good too.
Cons: Dirty, sweat stained headboard. Filthy balcony that was covered in rotting leaves and fruit from the trees above. The room was wiped over during our stay but not cleaned with products despite requests. The staff are completely unfriendly other than to Thai people and everyone drags their feet around, looking bored out of their minds or texting. They're just not interested. Some of the staff have digusting fingernails and to be honest this is off putting when having them lean over you to retrieve your plates (when they can be bothered!)
The entire hotel is tired and tatty. For £100 per night this is not acceptable, especially on an island where you would expect the standards to be higher (as they are in Koh Samui). We stayed in Bangkok at the Best Western and the Continenet in Sukhamvit, the latter with a 38th floor roof bar and pool for £25 less per night.
On my last note there was the additional pleasure of local prostitutes roaming the complex completely unchallenged. The security is usually not there but when it is it is pointless.
Please do not go!

Room Tip: A budget room opposite the 711 would be best as these are the newest but they are opposite the noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Booked at this resort for a last minute deal and was reasonably priced for a resort in a good location, we stayed for 4 nights. Pros: Good location, quiet, close to beach, modern bathroom, swimming pool was good with plenty of sunbeds, we were allowed an early check in Cons: Room stunk of smoke no matter how much it sprayed or aired out, resort is geared towards chinese holiday makers, breakfast was average (egg chef was good though), verandah was tiny with mouldy deck chairs and cushions, limited english speaking tv channels, wifi was very slow

Room Tip: If you are a non smoker, be aware that rooms have strong cigarette odour
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Four Elms, England
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Firstly hotel refers to a private beach. Be aware that it is a rocky beach with no direct access to the beautifil white sand beach of Ha Sai Khao. Difficult access to sea down a slope. A very nice swimming pool however.
Stayed in an expensive suite room which looks very nice.. The bathroom had no water in the evening for 3 days so couldn't shower for dinner. I was told the pumps had gone but would be fixed. Bluntly I believe this was a lie! Aircon and internet reception in room was also very poor.
Asked at least twice to see and speak to a manager but was refused. Reception staff just don't care and no apology made on checking out or gesture for lack of facilities in an expensive hotel and room.
There are many hotels at White Sand Beach at all price levels and with good service. I have stayed at many over the years.
Don't stay here. This hotel is very poor for Thailand and needs management put in to up standards.

Room Tip: Don't stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Chang Buri is a nice hotel in White Sands area, the busiest part of the island. If you like to be in a paradise island but you still want to have many options to eat, bars and some shopping then this location is perfect for you.

We stayed in the sea side rooms, the room was ok, not view to the beach but it was nice. Keep in mind that the hotel has to parts: the hill side rooms and the sea front rooms. Since the road is quiet busy in this area, specially at night, I strongly recommend you to get a room in the sea side.

The pool area is just amazing, very nice and quiet, and eventhough you dont have sand in this area you have stairs just close to the beach to get right to the sea and have a nice swim. You have a very nice view of the island from the hotel deck near the pool.

The breakfast was very good and the service in general was fine.

I think Chang Buri is a good option if you dont want to pay a fortune for your stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Chang Buri is a nice hotel in the White Sands area, whilst it is located sea side- there is no beach sand out the front of the resort. You need to walk back towards central White Sands area to locate the sand.

Rooms are well appointed and the daily breakfast was great. Lacking was internet access in the room, we stayed in the hotel wing on the beach side of the road which overlooked the lady bar area (although our room looked outward over the sea). Considering we are in 2012 and the lack of 3G reception on the island Internet access in the room is a must. They do have free wifi in the lobby but it is open air and alot of mosqitoes are there.

Staff were friendly, but the pool area is super nice.

Eating in the restaurant near the pool was great (see photo contribution)

If having a beach is a must- select another hotel, otherwise if you pick this hotel up on a deal it would be worth the money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This hotel was a good choice, stayed kasha resort last trip but booked here for Christmas 2012. Great reception upon arrival, drinks, warm welcome with nice intro to hotel and room. Nice lay out and kept very clean. 6am staff are out raking private beach, cleaning pool & water ways. Nice. deluxe Room beach side big, very modern in nice surroundings. Tv,DVD,fridge bath,shower Internet in room!? Maybe. Internet is present but could i connect in room.. No. Read this on few reviews... Reception say "signal room sometime" Shame this would make it perfect. Can get connected in or near reception tho no prob. Breakfast and room service is good. Room had no safe and back door wouldn't lock but this was sorted out in less that 1hr. Fair enough. Enjoying my stay here right now!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chang Buri Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chang Buri Resort and Spa

Address: 99/9 Moo 4, White Sand Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand (Formerly Ko Chang Hillside)
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Ko Chang
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chang Buri Resort and Spa 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and HotelsClick so you can book your Chang Buri Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chang Buri Hotel Koh Chang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chang Buri Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.