We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome restaurant, cool hosts, clean and beautiful property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oasis Koh Chang

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Chang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oasis Koh Chang
Save
You added Oasis Koh Chang to your Saves list
Soi Tian Chai 3, Lonely Beach | Koh Chang Tai, Ko Chang, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
vancouver
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Awesome restaurant, cool hosts, clean and beautiful property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Pros: The main restaurant is perched on top of a hill and overlooks the jungle to the water. Very cool and a great place to lounge. Free WIFI in the restaurant and in the bungalows. The music tastes of the hosts are great (no top 40 here). Restaurant is one of the best places to eat on the whole island (yellow curry and spring rolls are to die for). The young Dutch hosts are super friendly and chill but not invasive. Thai staff are super friendly. Property is constantly being cleaned and maintained.

Cons: There are two dogs that live on the property. They are allowed to be in the dining area and often come and sit up on the mats where you can lounge and eat. They are super friendly dogs, but if you're allergic to dogs, you should probably sit at a table in the dining area instead.

We stayed in both types of bungalows - AC bungalow and jungle fan bungalow. (1100 baht vs. 450 baht high season). If you got the money, get an AC room. There are only two AC rooms on the property.

AC bungalow pros: A LOT more space, nice design, strong AC, hot water shower, flat screen TV, fridge, lots of room for your bags, good bed, table/chairs on porch, large porch, safe, lots of power outlets. The bathroom is large, very clean and modern.

AC bungalow cons: None.

Jungle fan bungalow pros: Clean, no bugs or creepy crawlies aside from a few ants that somehow made it through the net onto our bed, hammock on patio, mosquito net, safe, a few shelves and such to put/hang things on.

Jungle fan bungalow cons: Manual flushing toilet (this means there's a bucket of water next to the toilet and you have to use a bowl to dump water into the toilet to flush it), cold shower (some people prefer this so it could be a pro if you're one of those people), very dark interior and dark sheets give off a gloomy feel and make the room feel too small, the fan in our room was not very powerful.

Oasis and Little are pretty comparable (we stayed at both and I reviewed Little Eden as well). Oasis is not a party hostel. It's a place to chill out. If you want to party, you can walk down to the beach bars.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    31
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
83
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We were sad to have only spent two nights in our jungle bungalow in Oasis. The owners, and their extra friendly team of staff, were so helpful and accommodating for the during of our stay. The tree house, where you can have food and drink, is one of the loveliest places that I have ever put my feet up for the night. Such a beautiful setting, and a great place to meet other people. Really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Oasis is owned by an awesome Dutch couple who have excellent management and staff. They will do anything to help you during your stay. The main lounging area looks out over the jungle and you can even see the ocean from it. You can relax all day up there if you choose. Music, books and even movies are available in the open air lounging area. All rooms are very comfortable and clean! No insects in the room during our 5 day stay. Oasis is about a 10 minute walk to a beautiful beach. This place is the best place to stay in the town and a great deal. It also has a great mix of western and Thai food.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbridge, Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a week and cannot fault the place. Amazing location, close to the town but far enough away not to be disturbed by the music. Pleasant walk to the beach. The owners were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble. The dogs and cats are hilarious! 250 baht a night in the low season and because we stayed 7 nights it went down to 200 baht a night. Bargain! Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and have been recommending it to other people while we're still travelling. Oasis is the only choice in koh Chang.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

-Basic authentic clean and well maintained huts with open cold shower - we loved it!
-we had very good sleep with jungle sounds at night of unfamiliar creatures and yet felt safe with the local habitat all around
-relaxing spots at main house with good wi-fi connection and great chill out music
-the oasis crew are friendly very helpful and yet not to pushy
-we loved the good quality of food with fair prices. we tried most of the wide range meals from the menu- thai and western food and breakfast of course, and it was tasty and was high level throughout.
- laundry services were very good comapres to other local services in thaliand
even though we stayed in low season we did not feel deserted and alone as many resorts in the island looked like
You can enjoy a differnt kind of relaxtiaon in oasis with the option of short walk to the bars and clubs of town, lonely beach is not the best place if you into white sandy beaches but in my opinion you need to get a scooter to travel around the island anyway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I am a regular traveler in the region, and always are looking to find places like this! The small differences in places to stay make it special for me...personal, passionate and to a grade professional, that's what my experience was based on. F&M are managing this place with the right touch and style. It's a budget hostel, so don't expect the silver cutlery and a butler, but rather hang out with the best over-the-trees-sea-view and be happy you are NOT on the beach and in the craziness of nightlife down in the village.

Take time in the morning to see wildlife right in front of you, or play with the dogs in the lush garden. Meet other travelers and see the room as just the mattress to crash at night... There is a hammock on each Bungalow. They are small and cozy, good old backpacker Asia style!!

We came with family and also the kids enjoyed the safe environment, the food and care we received.

TIPS:
- Get a motorbike to explore the surroundings
- Eat the biggest breakfast ever @ Oasis
- See the hammock shop in the next village
- Ask for the newer bungalows if you can afford, they are brand new with A/C

All in all, if you are used to spend 300+ THB for a small and cozy bungalow THIS IS THE PLACE TO GO FOR.... We will be back, cu soon I hope F&M!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed at this place for a week, after traveling for 10 months in several countries. The accomadation is simple, but clean and comfortable. At the time I visit this place, they were building a few new, more luxeurius buildings for those who are a bit more demanding. The location is perfect. Just a few minutes walk from the beach and cafe's and bars. Beceause of it's higher leveled position it's having stunning fews (see there pics!). The owners are a couple that did a lot of traveling themselfs and are really helpfull. They can advise you about planning trips/activities. The atmosphere I experienced was very laidback and friendly. In the restaurant they have good food and drinks. Facilities like laundry service, wifi, tv with DVD-player (in the common area) are present. For me this is a winner and would certainly go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oasis Koh Chang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Koh Chang

Address: Soi Tian Chai 3, Lonely Beach | Koh Chang Tai, Ko Chang, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leave the main road behind you and take the walk up to Oasis. Our bungalows are spread out in a beautiful garden, bordering the jungle of the National Park and a group of macaque monkeys are among our regular visitors. The hillside restaurant has sea view. Don't want to miss out on the fun of Lonely Beach? Just a three minute walk downhill and you are in the middle of the village! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Koh Chang Oasis Hotel Koh Chang
Hotel Koh Chang
Resort Koh Chang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oasis Koh Chang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.