We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice secluded resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nirvana Resort Koh Chang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Nirvana Resort Koh Chang to your Saves list
Nirvana Resort Koh Chang
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   12/4 - 5 Moo 1, Bangbao | Koh Chang Tai, Trat, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand (Formerly Nirvana Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 71 Hotels in Ko Chang
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice secluded resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

We stayed at the Nirvana in April 2011. It was a great experience. Staff was very friendly and service minded. Rooms were nice and spacious and reasonably clean. The pool area was wonderful. The hotel is basically located in the jungle with monkeys jumping around on the roof. The location, however, is not perfect as the resort lacks a beach. The water is not for swimming as it is too close to the fishing and boating village of Bang Bao (which is only 10 minutes by foot from the resort and well worth a visit). Another downside was that it took a long time to get food in the restaurants especially at the pool bar were only one (hardworking) guy shopped, cooked and served. Lunch would take a good hour.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    50
    25
    7
    5
See reviews for
34
98
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

This was the first place we stayed at in Koh Chang before we set off for Koh Kood and Koh Mak. Once you get off the ferry it is about a 45 minute drive to the resort. The location can be both good and bad, depending on what your looking for, as it's very secluded. At dinner time you can either request a taxi from reception to go find a nearby restaurant or eat at the resort's restaurant.
The resort itself is nice and quiet and the rooms were amazing, very clean and heaps of space, great pools and pool bar and awesome rock walk. I strongly recommend you request a seaview room but. Ours overlooked Bang Bao Bay and we had hammocks set up on our own private little strip of beach, very relaxing.
Service was mixed, there was one lady in reception mostly in the afternoons who seemed a little unhelpful. Also the waiter in the restaurant didn't write down your meal requests so he often forgot what you wanted.
Value for money and sleep quality were generally pretty good. The best thing at the resort would have to be the rock walk where they served beer and margharitas at sunset which was a big tick from us. Overall I would recommend this resort to anyone.

Room Tip: Request a sea view room, this is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

We arrived with the ferry at Koh Chang without having booked a room. While having a drink at White Sand Beach (what a horrible overcrowded place), we decided to check-out the top hotels in Koh Chang and in this was bumped into Nirvana. We went there by taxi, which is about a 40 min drive but absoluetely worth it. What a fantastic relaxing place! As we were with our 2 kids (total 4), we took the double suite. This has two bedrooms and a third living room. the rooms are wonderfully decorted in Bali style, the beds are very comfortable and the bathroom nice as well. The views are very nice on the bay of Bang Bao. The restaurant is fantastic, both in style (chill-out on the lounge beds while enjoying your drinks, snacks, great views...). as other reviews say, the price of the food is very reasonable. We very much enjoyed the breakfasts and the late-afternoon lounge. Don't forget to take the hotel boat to the little beach on the other side of the ay, have a wonderfull snapper at The Beach and just relax there the whole day.

All in all, we had a wonderfull 3 days at the resort and we can certainly recommend. Only annoyance is the staff in the restaurant, who is a bit too talkative and did not seem to get our signals that we wanted some privacy...

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

Okay, so we booked this resort and expected it to be the best on Koh Chang because it was at the top on tripadv. I suppose I was a little naive about basing my expectations on tripadv. I am an expat living here with my family and one 6 year old child. We were disappointed with this place and will not return, I am sorry. We did book via latestays, but it was still a bit overpriced for what it was. The lady at the front desk was helpful and the rooms are stylishly decorated. My biggest problem with this place was:
a HUGE amount of mosquitos, yes, I know its an island and yes I live in Thailand an understand the mosquito problem, but come on, my family and I came away with huge welts of mosquitos all over us!! (and we had mos spray on us) Also, there were biting ants at the pool area. Also, this is NOT a resort for families with small or even younger children. The pools are too deep for children, my 6 yr old could not stand in either of them. Also, the rock pool was really nice (hubby loved it actually) but you couldn't sit there because the mozzies were too bad. Also, the tide is out most of the day here and its muddy flats so you can't take a boat anywhere until 2pm and then if you want to go anywhere else, the transport might not be there. We felt stuck and didn't know what to do. The best part of this place is the rock walk, its beautiful at sunset. But, geesh, the reviews for this place are just very different than what I was expecting. I guess I'll stop there.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

I found this place through latestays website and got a good deal on price. I arrived at Koh Chang late in the evening after an arduous cross country journey from Kampot in Cambodia and was initially a bit disappointed to find how developed the northern part of the island was. So it was great to arrive at Nirvana with its wonderful quiet location tucked away in the jungle. It is a very resful place with extremely well appointed rooms, the most comfortable bed I slept in on my travels and great amenities. The staff were friendly and helpful. The jungle walk and cliff path were great for an early evening stroll. the fabulously located restaurant did good and reasonably priced food and the only downside was that I was traveling alone and on the couple of evenings when I dined there I was the only customer so atmosphere was a bit lacking. One other tip: if swimming at the lovely salt water pool avoid the loungers at the beach end of the pool! I sat there for just one hour and was bitten all over by sand fleas or flies from the adjacent beach.

Room Tip: See above
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

Go there if evaluation between „kitsch vs. tastefulness“ is important to you. Such a difference from the line of „kolchoz“ hotels in the White sand’s beach, welcoming with multitude of plaster elephants...
After we‘ve entered some sort of „state of Nirvana“ which resulted in things being left in room safe, we have experienced that hotel manager Tom‘s honest care and attention hasn‘t end within our departure. Many thanks!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

Easily the best hotel of our trip so far, the Nirvana has just about everything you could ask for in a hotel/resort; great location and service, extremely comfy rooms and good food at affordable prices.

The staff is very friendly, and we were greeted upon arrival with the good news that we had been upgraded to a bigger room, which meant a private veranda and a day couch.

Sure, the hotel has some slight disadvantages, like not being right at the beach, and it's a little worn here and there, but the staff goes out of their way to make up for it. If you get tired of the excellent pool areas, the closest beach isn't all that, so the hotel offers free boat transfer (10 min) to a tropical beach just across the bay. They also offer to drive you to Bang Bao village, even though it's only a nice and short 10 minute walk away.

Anyway, you mostly just want to stay at the hotel and enjoy the spectacular views across the bay, chill out with a movie or two on the BIG flatscreen-tv in the room, or watch the beautiful sunset at the twilight deck while enjoying the hotels happy hour drinks at just 3 dollars.

All in all a wonderful hotel for anyone wanting to get away from the crowds, and thus perfect for families with kids or couples seeking romantic solitude.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nirvana Resort Koh Chang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirvana Resort Koh Chang

Address: 12/4 - 5 Moo 1, Bangbao | Koh Chang Tai, Trat, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand (Formerly Nirvana Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Ko Chang
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Nirvana Resort Koh Chang 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nirvana Resort is a special place designed to surpass its name. Made with lovers of natural beauty, comfort and service in mind. Nirvana is the special getaway for anybody who is yearning for peace and tranquility with comfort. Famous for its positioning, Nirvana is the one resort on Koh Chang offering views of both sunrise and sunset. Our stunning rock walk offers breath taking views with total privacy. There's nothing like it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Nirvana Resort Koh Chang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirvana Resort And Spa
Nirvana Hotel Koh Chang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nirvana Resort Koh Chang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.