We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stunning scenery, peaceful location.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang

Save Saved
You added Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   63 Moo 4, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
SUPER SALE 40% OFF
Ranked #9 of 71 hotels in Ko Chang
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“stunning scenery, peaceful location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

i stayed here with a friend and had a great time relaxing. I would say it would be a lovely place to go as a couple and very romantic.

The lighthouse restaurant is the highest point in Koh Chang and you really must go upto the top, it was awesome!

rooms were very large, with glass walls in some parts. Luckily there are blinds so you can have a bath or shower in privacy ;)

private beach and the sea... wow... i couldnt wait to finish breakfast to get straight in.

The cable car takes you up and down the resort, there are 4 stations. One with a viewing point which is perfect for photos of sunset.

food was a let down really, but you cant have it all. Would recommend eating at the beach hotel in the evening, food is better, staff better trained and tables by the sea.

Have a lovely time.xx

Room Tip: make sure you can see over the palm trees from your balcony for great veiws of sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    168
    112
    39
    14
    10
See reviews for
121
157
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sidney, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I was disappointed to read some of the recent negative reviews of the Sea View Resort. Our experience was a very positive one and as such I have decided to write about our stay

Our family of 4 (2 adults and 2 teenagers) stayed at the Sea View Resort in mid March for 5 nights. We stayed in a family suite at the top of the hill in the same building where the buffet breakfast was held. The room was large with a queen size bed in one room and 2 twins in a common area. The bathroom was huge with separate tub and shower. The views from the room over the ocean were stunning and the grounds were beautifully landscaped.

We had a choice of 2 pools both of which were very big and clean. The upper pool was the quieter of the 2 and had a slide and waterfall while the lower pool was just off the beach and equally as nice. Both pools were surrounded by lush tropical gardens. Getting to the beach from our room was very easy as a tram (funicular) ran up and down the hillside. The beach was beautiful, very clean and private. The resort was at the far end of Kai Bae and as a result only guests at this resort and the one next door used this part of the beach which made it feel like it was your own. The ocean was calm, the bottom was sandy and shallow (very safe for children) and the water was very warm and crystal clear.

The buffet breakfast was huge and the best offered at any of the hotels we stayed at on our trip; there was something for everyone. The restaurant at the beach was also good and served great spring rolls and ice cream sundaes. Staff at both restaurants were friendly and attentive.

Overall, this is a beautiful resort in a stunning location, we had one of our most enjoyable and relaxing trips ever as a family and we would love to go back one day.

I was very happy to read that the resort is now offering free wi-fi and would encourage the hotel administration to extend that to the entire resort so that the rooms would also have access. I was also glad to read that a shuttle service has now been established to provide transportation into the village of Kai Bae. This was a much needed service given the main road is narrow, very hilly and does not have a sidewalk which made walking unsafe particularly at night.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Adorable location, quiet, private beach and still very close to nearby village in Koh Chang!

I've been living for 3 years by now in Thailand and I'm glad to have found this little heaven on earth. Seaview Koh Chang is in driving distance from BKK (about 6 hours door - to - door incl ferry and driving along the Island) thus airplane tickets (i.e. if considering a big family) can be saved from this point of view. The private beach @ the hotel was just the perfect fit for small kids: no big waves but the sea rather resembles a big pool, not deep (you can walk for about 20 meters and still an adult can stand) and transparent water!

another highlight is for sure the panoramic deck with 2 swimming pools connected by a small slide which fits perfectly well for the little ones. The view is gorgeous and breathtaking which includes also fantastic sunsets and later, one can see hundreds of green dots each one belonging to the countless fishermen boats which stay afloat at night.

As the hotel has a high and low area, both are connected by a small train / funiculaire which adds one more element of fun to small kids.

Gardening is well done and passes on a permanent well being feeling - congrats to all staff working here!

Fore completeness reasons I also mention points that could / should be improved.
Restaurant menu & i.e. breakfast: could offer some more options
Restaurant @ beach: some upgrade would be welcome
The jungle path was not accessible - some disapointment as kids were thrilled after crossing the hanging bridge and were looking forward to see whatever animals may have been on the other side
Small resort on left hand side of beach is run down and falling partially apart, so just dont go there. A pity as it limits the beach on one side.
Could not understand the way how sand was taken out of the beach to fill some garden area some 20 meters on the back: the beach was left with wide ranging wholes which admittedly is not a nice way to handle it, i.e.this practice contradicts the very nice gardening of the whole hotel
The hotel has a wide range of accommodation / locations which is confusing for first time. Make sure you really understand what type of accommodation you have and what advantages / disadvantages it may imply

but overall the positive items compensate by fare the negative points, just of course working a bit more on those will make a stay even more memorable!

Really recommend and wish you a good stay :)

Room Tip: rooms on the high part of hotel have a splendid view and are close to breakfast area
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The pool is beautiful looking over to the beach. Relaxed there everyday and was very peaceful and tranquil. The room was very large and spacious. After a long day at the pool fell asleep and woke up feeling great due to an extremely comfortable bed. The hotel is a very good location and next to all amenities. We hired a moped to get around and the nightlife which is small is 2 minutes on bike. Recommend this hotel. Book online in advance.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AjarnDavidKohChang, Manager at Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your experience staying at our Koh Chang resort. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. If you took some photos of your stay, we invite you to take part in our guest photography contest, which you can learn more about on our Facebook page. Thanks for suggesting that it is a good idea to book online in advance. This can be done directly from the reservation page on our website. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Koh Chang beach resort again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed for 1 week, in june 2012. Splendid hotel, beautifull surrounding and gardens, super Thai food, friendly staff, I give them 10 points! We stayed in a very large room up on the hill. If we wanted to go to the beach, we could call the golf cart, or take the liftcabine. In june it is not busy, so never we had to wait. I can image that in high season, many people want to use it. Walking is a bit dangerous, beacuse the path down to the beach is slippery.
We never had to pay for anything, but the wifi.
However, very nice place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AjarnDavidKohChang, Manager at Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

I'm very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with our Koh Chang resort. The path down to Sea View's private beach from our clifftop rooms can occasionally get a little slippery when it rains. I'm glad you took advantage of our free golf carts and cable car, which are a more convenient alternative when things get wet.

You'll be happy to hear that we have now added free wifi in our reception and lounge area, which will make it easier for our guests to upload photos and share their stay at our Koh Chang beach resort with friends in real time.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to Sea View Resort & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed 7 days at this resort. The facilities and the location is great. The kids enjoyed the two pools. Our room was located up the hill, which you had to access by very time consuming elevator. The water in the bay wasn't really clean. The family rooms were very spacious and clean. The restaurant at the beach was ok with slow service. The restaurant at the view top was really bad. We got very bad steaks for the kids, which they refused to take of the bill. Service was extremely slow although we were the only guests. Throughout the stay we had the impression that the hotel staff we're really interested in helping the guests at all. The low service was so different to what you normally can expect in Thailand and must be a management attitude issue. Constantly we ended up in discussions regarding extra costs for everything at this hotel. We paid ridiculously much to get to the closest village with the hotel car service. Staff refused to call another taxi for us. Instead we tried to grab a taxi by the view point which is next to the main road. Would chose another location at Koh Chang if ever returns.

Room Tip: Stay as close to the beach as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AjarnDavidKohChang, Manager at Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay at our resort. I am the new Resident Manager of Sea View Resort & Spa. Although I was not supervising operations during your stay, I would like to apologize for the negative experience that you had. I am now working to improve our service standards with new policies and training programs for staff.

As a resort which tries to have a positive impact within the Koh Chang community, we try to hire and train staff from the local area as much as possible, as well as hire interns from nearby high schools and universities. This staff tends to come from more disadvantaged backgrounds than the staff who work at hotels and resorts in Bangkok, Phuket, and other popular Thailand holiday destinations. So we hope our guests understand those occasions when the service staff might not be as finely skilled as those Thais who come from more privileged backgrounds. I hope the new policies and training programs that we are implementing will quicken the learning curve and better prevent disappointments among guests such as yourself.

In addition to new policies and training, I am expanding the free services that Sea View Resort & Spa provides to reduce the extra costs that you mentioned. For example, we now provide free WIFI internet access in the reception area & lounge and have begun providing free shuttle service at set times throughout the day to the village of Kai Bae.

With regards to transportation within the resort from the clifftop building which you were staying, I’m not sure if you were aware (and, if not, that was certainly our fault) but guests can always ring reception for a free golf cart and driver to bring them down to our private beach and seaside swimming pool versus riding down by our private cable car.

As to the food quality and speed of service that you experienced, we have hired a new chef who will be arriving next week and who we expect will better meet guests’ expectations while dining in our Lighthouse Restaurant or Sunset Beach Restaurant.

I hope you’ll give us a chance to demonstrate our improved service should you visit Koh Chang again, and if while here you experience any problems do ask for me personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Having spent four nights at Sea View Resort & Spa we came to the conclusion that this hotel is a real mix of positives and negatives.
The good side: large room with big balcony and stunning sea view (deluxe room 3), daily room cleaning service of good quality, nice and clean sandy beach, two outdoor pools, green territory with a lot of tropical plants.
The bad side. The walls in our room were thin enough to listen to TV shows our next room neighbor watched every night. Food in the restaurant, both for breakfasts and dinners, was of average taste. You have to use a bike or a car to get in the hotel from outside since there is no walking paths leading to the hotel. However the distance from the nearby village is not too long. On the hotel map there was marked a path to jungle trekking but we could not walk farther after the bridge since the path was covered with shrubs.
There is no free internet even in lobby. The transportation services to other island locations by hotel own cars are not at nominal fee, as the hotel website declares, but at regular local taxi price or even more. You would have to pay extra even for renting a kayak on the beach, or for dvd player in your room. It seemed that golf cart used mostly for transporting staff but not guests within the hotel territory. Once we saw the hotel's cart in the village tried to stop it but he ignored us.
The general impression was like most of the hotel staff felt tired all day. Nothing similar to more or less friendly environment that was in other hotels we had ever stayed.
I think it is a controversial thing to place in the room a list showing how much will be the charge if a guest breaks anything in the room.

At least thanks to the special promotion from travel agent we paid 50% of the normal room rate.

Room Tip: If you go for panoramic view and want to be close to the restaurant where they serve breakfast try t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. We highly value our customers’ opinions and continue to improve our hotel with its. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been. Therefore, I would like to address both your positive and negative reviews.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our newly renovated room and stunning sea view from your private balcony. We prize ourselves to be located in one of the best location in Ko Chang. We work hard to keep our hotel green with minimal disturbance to the rain forest. I am pleased that our room cleaning service did a wonderful job, and I will be sure to pass along your compliment to them.

I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and its team for your negative experience. Our standard procedure in a noise complain is to first inform the source of the noise, if nothing resolve, we would offer a different room to you on a different floor as we do try our best to make your stay as memorable as possible. As for our location, we locate from a beach front all the way up the mountain. We are in more private beach area in Ko Chang, which is good if you like a quiet beach for yourself, but it also means that we are a bit further from Kai Bae village. However, from our hotel to get to Kai Bae village, you can walk along the beach for 15 minutes to get there. As for the jungle trek, after receiving this review, I met with our hotel team and we cleared the shrubs on the jungle trek. The wireless high-speed internet in the hotel is provided by TOT (an external company), we apologize that we could not our guests with free internet access as we are only selling the internet card for TOT company. After reading your review about the transportation services, we sincerely apologize on the confusion of “nominal fee” part, we usually offer a private van which the rate goes up and down depending on the number of people, which could be lower or the same as local taxis. However, we will correct our website to end further confusion. For the list showing prices of item in the room, we actually have guests interested in buying those items as souvenir, which is why we put the price list for those interests in buying those items.I am sorry to hear that you experience less than pleasant service from our staffs. I will be sure to raise your experience with our entire service team as a next training exercise.

We are also please to inform you that we have a buy 1 get 1 free promotion until October 31st (further detail can be found on our website)

Once again, we appreciate your stay and feedback. I hope that the remainder of your trip to Thailand was enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang

Address: 63 Moo 4, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
#4 Spa Hotel in Ko Chang
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ko Chang
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea View Resort & Spa is Koh Chang’s landmark resort destination. Beautifully situated on 20 hillside acres of rain forest habitat, our resort is an ideal location for romantic excursions, peaceful family vacations, and holiday escapes from the hectic pace of everyday life.Enjoy spectacular panoramic views of the Gulf of Siam from our accommodations. Relax a stone’s throw from the ocean in our charming beach. Re-connect with nature in our lush tropical garden. Visit us to experience why so many guests say that Sea View Resort & Spa is the perfect answer for your memorable vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea View Hotel Koh Chang
Sea View Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.