We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon @ Panviman” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Panviman Koh Chang Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Panviman Koh Chang Resort to your Saves list
Panviman Koh Chang Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   8/15 Khlong Prao Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #6 of 71 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Sartrouville, France
1 review
“Honeymoon @ Panviman”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We've booked in Panviman for our 2 weeks honeymoon, not knowing anything about Thailand, and what a surprise!!!
Warm welcome, "don't worry, be happy!" atmosphere, great rooms with all amenities. The little plus that give you more space in your luggages for more gifts is: sun towels provided and changed everyday!
First experience in luxury life, and it was goooood!
Lots of excursions can be done around (snorkeling, diving, elephant/mountain treks, ...). I do not recommend to do the 4 islands trip in showboats (too many people, noisy, smelly) I join Andrew1972_12 by saying private speedboats are more charming.
A special thank you to Winnie, our i_cant_name_all_your_qualities_there_are_too_much person.

"French" kisses from Paris,
Sophie & Nicolas

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Paul K, General Manager at Panviman Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Sophie_Alza,

Greetings from The Panviman Resort Koh Chang!

First of all, thank you for your recent review about our resort. I personally would like to thank you on behalf of the management and staff for your support and being our not only guest but a family. Winnie sends her warm regards and asked me to tell you that the pleasure was all hers.

We appreciate your lovely review from your previous stay and we hope that you will have even more memorable experience on your next visit. Winnie also sends her regards. I wish you safe travels and we all look forward to welcoming back very soon.

Best and Personal Regards,

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    79
    25
    7
    7
See reviews for
58
151
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I would like to say a big thank you to panviman and all the staff , from the minute we got to trat airport they were there to help us from not letting us carry anything and had cold water and cold clothes for us to cool down which we needed , when arriving at panviman we had a very warm and friendly welcome ,it was are first time in Thailand and what a lovely surprise , we had a fantastic holiday and the location was great .
Lovely white sandy beach just outside the hotel . The staff where very friendly and happy to help especially Winnie . Yes there english wasn't great but they all tried there best and we also tried to speak a little thai . The rooms where very impressive and very clean and yes there was a few lizards and ants but what do you expect in the middle of the rain forest . The buffet breakfast was great and lots to choose from. The manager Paul was very friendly and helpful . We stay in rooms 411 , 413 which where perfect and we will definitely be returning in the future. There is lots to do on the inland the water fall is a must do and we had a private speed boat which was great , the snorkelling was fantastic also the elephant trek was great but please choose careful we looked in to this and we founds ban chang trat the best due to the elephants are treated well. We where there for the new year Songkran which was great fun and the kids loved joining in with the water fun in the resort and out on the street ( we got very wet) also the work by the staff for Songkran was wonderful and all staff got very wet and it was lovely to see everyone joining in with the fun.
Many thanks again from Lesley andrew Danielle mika and aleisha .

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Paul K, General Manager at Panviman Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Andrew1974_12,

Greetings from The Panviman Resort Koh Chang!

First of all, thank you for your recent review about our resort. I personally would like to thank you on behalf of the management and staff for your support and being our not only guest but a family. We are glad that our property and staff were able to make you completely relax on your holidays.

You and your family were such a pleasure to have as guests. Mika, Aleisha, Harry and Alfie are lots of fun. I am glad they were able to have their first Songkran festival celebration with us. Leslie, you and your family truly know how to enjoy your holiday. All of the staff send their regards.

We appreciate your lovely review from your previous stay and we hope that you will have even more memorable experience on your next visit. I wish you safe travels and we all look forward to welcoming back very soon.

Best and Personal Regards,

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

First of all, this is a 3.5-star review, not 3 star. First i wanted to write a 2.5 star review but a nice gesture at the end gained it one star.
But it could also have easily been a 5 star review because it has big potential.

Our biggest complaint is about the room. We booked the most expensive room (pool access) because the pictures on the website suggest a wonderful experience. We and especially our kids were very excited about the pool access but as soon as we arrived we saw that the pool is not even near the room. There are several "pool access" rooms like about 15 meters away from the pool. Our complaint (the room was about 30-40 dollars/night more expensive than the regular rooms) was not taken seriously: "that's just how it is...the real pool access rooms are fully booked".

Then there were little things that annoyed us:
- they charged our credit card with 3000 baht at the beginning..."just in case". I haven't seen that in years here in Thailand and it's not a good way to start.

- on the first day we received fruits at 2pm, which is very nice and also common in 4 and 5 star resorts. But we got them only on the first day, the following days we got nothing. And thats obviously the way it is (my thai wife asked about it and they are only served on the first day).

- they sent us (6 people) away from the breakfast table because it was reserved. But there was no reserved sign and after an hour still no one sat there. And we had to split to 2 different tables (one with 4, one with 2 people). That day I wasn't even served coffee, the waitress was obviously not happy because I couldn't understand they way she treated us.

- the rooms are spacious and beautiful and I'm aware that it's hard to keep mosquitos and ants out of the room. But they look old and some of the doors could not be closed without a gap still open. So we had a millipede (!) and other weird animals right in our bedroom.

- room service was good, but they never came before 1pm, for my taste this is way too late.

It's a pity that there is no shadow at all at the pool and the beach. So if you have small children I suggest you go out early in the morning or the late afternoon. (Of course there are sunshades, but no shadow covered area in the kids pool, thats what i mean).

On the plus side there is a great breakfast buffet, mostly nice staff, a beautiful designed resort, free shuttle service to the main road, free wifi access, nice dinner buffets and  gorgeous rooms, especially the bathroom. And it's a good, very calm location (far away from anything).

We forgot the shoes of our son in our room after the checkout. While waiting for the ferry the hotel staff was so kind to bring them to us, that was a great gesture and we appreciated it a lot, since it's a 20 minute drive.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Paul K, General Manager at Panviman Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Yes_i_do,

Thank you very much for taking the time and writing about your stay with the Panviman Koh Chang.

I am sorry to hear that we were not able to fulfill all of your expectations during your stay. Let me explain our layout to you as the other travelers can benefit from your observations.

-We have a total of 50 rooms all together with 33 Deluxe Room and 17 Pool Access rooms. Some of the Pool Access rooms has pool view (pool in front of the room) and some have Sea View (pool access in the back of the room). Depending on availability and request, we can accommodate your preference.

-Welcome fruit basket are presented in your room at the time of check-in (always) on the first day of arrival.

-I am terribly sorry about the table at the breakfast situation. We could have easily set you another table of 6. I will bring this up with the FB manager. Thank you for your note on our variety at breakfast and lovely service from our staff.

-Yes I remember now, it was just yesterday that you'd checked out. I told the driver to rush the shoes back to you (without charge) to the pier, fearing that you might miss your flight. I'm glad he made it to you in time.

Again, I am sincerely sorry you did not experience the wonderful time other guests have written about. We'd love the chance to welcome your return and meet all of your vacationing needs next time.

Thank you once again for your review!

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

I did not have time to say goodbye. I want to say that Winnie are very well mannered, delicate and pleasant person, responsive and heat comes from you From the beginning you made a good impression. Winnie are very affable and kind person!!
Stay always so wonderful!
All of our big company said that you are very correct employee for the hotel Panviman and they should be glad that Winnie working at their hotel! thank you for all of us all.
I hope we'll meet again!
Vacation super, top class hotel! I liked it very much. Even if I go to Koh Chang, I will live only in Panviman
Russian and said: "Не прощаемся!" that the translation "does not say goodbye"!
my English is not very correct to write, but I hope you understand

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Paul K, General Manager at Panviman Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear VKseniia,

Greetings from The Panviman Resort Koh Chang!

First of all, thank you for your recent review about our resort. I personally would like to thank you on behalf of the management (especially Winnie) and staff for your support and being our not only guest but a family. It was an real honor for us to host a Birthday batch for you and your family. You guys really know how to party I must say!

We appreciate your lovely review from your previous stay and we hope that you will have even more memorable experience on your next visit. Winnie also sends her regards. I wish you safe travels and we all look forward to welcoming back very soon.

Best and Personal Regards,

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulawayo, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We were met at the hotel by the Panviman driver with cold water and cold aromatic facecloths! Loved it... The trip was uneventful and very nice, driving over the dirt road to the hotel we got a bit worried but were very happy when we saw the hotel. We got an upgrade to a pool access room... nice!

Positives:
Room was lovely and spacious with all the amenities we needed.
We had private pool access via walkway so was totally private in our room and on the balcony
We were conveniently located close to the restaurant, spa and beach
The main pool is simply amazing!
The beach is really nice, long and white and clean most of the time.
The Spa is reasonable with wonderfully well trained staff. The foot massage is outstanding!
THE FOOD: The a la carte Thai food menu is EXCELLENT!!! Very reasonable as we went into town as well for dinner one night and the hotel food is similarly priced and some of the best Thai food we've ever eaten! We did not join the international buffet night as the Thai menu was excellent. We had about everything on the menu and we are still dreaming about the Chicken with cashew nut, Duck red curry, Pork salad etc. Guys your food is outstanding and not expensive - well done!
The breakfast is varied and fresh. You can maybe just add freshly squeezed fruit juice!
THE STAFF: they were super friendly and always tried their very best to help - thank you!

NEGATIVES:
Room: The mirror in our bathroom needs replacing, the shell border is busy falling apart and making a mess. (Room 413)
The bath although impressive is way too big! We never once filled it.
The biggest problem was a HUGE shortage of staff. Always had to search for waiters around the pool, (huge money lost guys!) There was a bit of a language problem but we overcome that quite easily. Mostly staff tried their best but were not trained properly, simple things like how to serve a customer etc. They tried their very best but for a 5 star establishment this is not good enough. The hotel manager was nowhere in site. The F&B manager could not be everywhere at the same time but whenever he was around things did go a little smoother. You can improve hugely here, if you sort this out and modernize a little you will be the top resort for a long time to come.
We had a no disturb sign on our door as I was taking a shower, after hearing something in the room I walked out with a towel around me (luckily!) and found the office lady standing in the middle of the room with a notice about work that will commence shortly! What a shock!! She could have just pushed it through under the door?!!
The singer during the international buffet were a little painful, you might do better to just play your normal CD like other evenings.

After saying all this, we still had a wonderful time at Panviman and would consider staying there again as the setting is wonderful and the food was simply amazing!!

If you are up for a walk, turn left on the beach and walk way down, cross the little river and find a little place called the Pilot bar. They have amazing cocktails for dirt cheap. This was our favorite place for pre-dinner drinks every night. A bit of a walk but worth it.

Room Tip: Our friends stayed in a normal deluxe room which was an exact replica to ours but without pool acces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Paul K, General Manager at Panviman Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Beingalive,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at The Panviman Koh Chang.

Thank you for your kind comments about our rooms and food. Our Executive Chef beamed at the compliments and he passed it on to his staff. We are also in the process of departmental retraining process. We will be training from Standard Operating Procedures to more English lessons to our staffs. Thank you for the note that even though the staff's English is poor, they are always eager to help. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations. We value your comments and we will take whatever steps we can to correct the problem.

I assure you that we will not turn our back to this useful feedback and this will be our tool to improve our service standards. You will see the improvements on your next visit with us, I promise.

Best Regards,
Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We know Koh Chang quite well and are really pleased that this time we decided to splash out and pay Panviman prices for our nine day stay. We had a wonderful relaxing holiday. The staff were attentive and very helpful from the moment of our arrival until we left nine days later. They noticed that my husband had difficulty in walking and upgraded us to a room closer to the beach and restaurant. The resort was obviously built some years ago but it is beautifully maintained and set in lovely gardens with many of the species plants named with their botanical names as well as common names. The resort is right on a lovely long white sandy beach that shelves gently into the ocean. We would both love to return before too long.

Room Tip: We loved our room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Paul K, General Manager at Panviman Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear SallyandJeremy,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at The Panviman, Koh Chang!

First of all, please let me take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with our resort. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your holiday and had a great time with us. I am glad we were able to accommodate all of your needs.

Again, we thank you for your positive feedback. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations and we value your comment, we will do more than our best to maintain and keep improving all parts of our services.

Best Regards,

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I have been to Koh Chang many times, so i decided to come back for 4 days and spent some time at the Panviman.

I booked the de luxe pool access Option, in hope of some privacy and quiteness for the little time i had.

When I arrived after a long drive from BKK i had to wait, the room seemed not be ready. They also told me I have to give them 3000 Bath in cash as a deposit, to make sure all expenses are covered. So much for starting a trusting relationship....

The room then finaly was ready.

High prices generate high expectations. However this hotel never is worth the 200US a night. Hardly anyone speaks english, the service is mediocre. Once I Ordered Dinner with roomservice, which was difficult enough due to the language barrier. However the leftovers and plates stayed in my room for the next 2 days, nobody picked it up.

The Bathroom looks nice, but its dirty. Spiderwebs under the roof, the bathtube full of stains, the area which is covered with white little rocks is full of hair and toilette paper yuck.

There was no night i was able to sleep without earplugs, last night some chinese guy rented the room right beside me together with 3 girls. There was party all night long, laughter shouting, jumping into the pool right in front of my veranda.

I tried to get the attention of the receiption, no success.

The garden is well kept, and the beach is nice, however I am not to come back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Paul K, General Manager at Panviman Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Riticulous,

Thank you very much for taking the time and writing about your stay with the Panviman Koh Chang.

I am sorry to hear that we were not able to fulfill all of your expectations during your stay. It is quite surprising to hear about the cleanliness of our rooms, but I will bring it up at our head department meeting to ensure high quality of cleaning standards always. It is also a first to hear about noise complaints because our security patrol the ground 24 hours. Any guests making loud noises that would disturb the other guests are asked to kindly stop.

Again, I am sincerely sorry you did not experience the wonderful time other guests have written about. We'd love the chance to welcome your return and meet all of your vacationing needs next time.

Thank you once again for your review!

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
1.5 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
4.3 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#18 of 71 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 stars 604 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
#8 of 71 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 stars 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
0.8 mi away
The Dewa Koh Chang
The Dewa Koh Chang
#9 of 71 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 stars 609 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panviman Koh Chang Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panviman Koh Chang Resort

Address: 8/15 Khlong Prao Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Ko Chang
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ko Chang
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Panviman Koh Chang Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panviman Koh Chang Resort Koh Chang, the legendary island in the Gulf of Siam, is a part of a National Marine Park where pristine natural beauty is kept intact.Panviman, or 'Paradise Alike', is nestled at Klong Prao beach, a tranquil part of the island and idyllic for swimming, offering a unique blend of serenity and relaxation within a traditional Thai architectural setting. Great value for money and a unique experience of traditional Thai hospitality.All of the resort's 50 deluxe rooms are majestically set in a tropical lush garden; it reflects the mood of pure comfort. All rooms feature private spacious terraces, and beautiful back-to-nature style bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelBookers, Agoda, Hotels.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Panviman Koh Chang Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panviman Resort Koh Chang Hotel Koh Chang
Panviman Hotel Koh Chang
Panviman Koh Chang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panviman Koh Chang Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.