We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a nice place on Koh Chang” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bhumiyama Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bhumiyama Beach Resort to your Saves list
Bhumiyama Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   99/1 Moo 4 Klongprao, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 71 Hotels in Ko Chang
UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Still a nice place on Koh Chang”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The Bhumiyama is one of larger hotels on lonely beach, the beachside rooms have lovely views out over the beach and if you are prepared to walk you can get away from the 'crowds'. The staff and the local people are very friendly, it has the best pool in the area and its good that its kept quiet by polietly putting signs up saying the hotel is for guests only ;-)
The only downside would be that there can be all night parties close by - not what you are after, after an all night flight.

Very relaxed and chilled out. Take a torch, as walking up the road at night can be hazardous adventure in the dark dodging tourists after several Changs on mopeds.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    50
    19
    6
    7
See reviews for
23
60
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I came to this resort only to eat lunch just so that I could use the pool and facilities. There is a sign at the entrance saying "Hotel Guests and Customers Only." We naturally assumed if we ate their overpriced (and mediocre) food, we would be hotel customers and thus able to use the pools for the day. (I've done this before at probably 25 hotels and it has never been a problem before. Normally places are happy to get customers and it doesn't cost them anything for us to use the pool.) Apparently the staff didn't understand their own sign, because they refused to let us use the pool even after buying an overpriced $15 lunch (that would be $3 and much better at more local places). Even after speaking with the manager, they would not let us use their pool or chairs (which were mostly empty anyway). The manager insisted that hotel customers are only people sleeping at the hotel. (What does that make a hotel guest? I'm not sure.)

If we had spent the day at their pool, we would have ended up spending a bunch more on drinks and food and it would have cost them nothing, so it's really their loss.

I've never encountered such snotty and rude staff, and certainly not in Thailand where most people are so wonderful and nice. The staff acted like if we weren't staying there, we must be too poor and low class to stay there (clearly a dumb way of thinking when there are many other places to stay and we just happened to be staying somewhere else). Ironically, we were actually thinking of staying at this resort the following night, but after this experience, we would never do that and will tell our friends to stay away from this place.

The food was fine but for $15 for two people with just some noodles and a stir fry in Thailand, it should be incredible. The "cappuccino" (which was nearly $3, more than most locals spend on a meal) had no foam at all, just a few bubbles from some frothy milk, and tasted terrible. Most meals we had in Thailand were more like $1-2 per person and were better and more authentic. (Thailand is generally really inexpensive for very high quality, and locals often pay a dollar or so for a good restaurant meal!) The pool area was pretty average, with construction going on and some things in not-great shape for a supposedly four-star resort. From the facilities, it's more like a 3 star hotel, and the rooms looked just okay from the pictures.

Save your money. Don't stay here.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. Snobby and rude staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

The resort is right on the beach, very nicely set up, rooms would need to be upgraded shortly, but overall a nice alternative if you want to stay at the Lonely Beach - a solid 3 star resort. The beach is nice and clean, water very warm and quiet, good for kids. A lot to do around, including elephant trecking, boat rides, snorkling, diving, etc.

Room Tip: It is a small resort, doubt if it is worth paying extra for being just a bit closer to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Beautiful resort so stayed a second time. Find me a better hotel in Koh Chang in terms of beautiful beach setting and lovely gardens and pools. Other similar hotels are either in the middle of nowhere or on rocky beaches.
Breakfast is a good buffet if hotel busy or a set menu if not many customers. In fact I ordered range of dishes that weren't part of the set menu and they were freshly made at no extra cost. Staff Malewan and Git really friendly.
Five minutes walk is Lonely Beach town that has good food options.
In low season get the two nights for one deal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The resort is so relaxing set on the beach with beautiful pools and gardens in perfect location. Stayed in superior sea view. The room was OK and the sea view can be seen only from the balcony. Still probably worth paying a bit too look at the sea. Breakfast good. A few more TV channels would be good. Funny how a no star resort can have 100 channels but this one has a few crappy ones. Five minutes walk from lonely beach town. This really is a special place. If you can get the two for one low season price even better,

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Very nice place but not worth putting up with the horrible staff who are seriously the most anal bunch of Thai people I have ever encountered. When there was a misunderstanding about the number of people allowed in room because the agency who booked it for us advertised the rooms as four person rooms the cleaning staff freaked and called the management so part of our group had to go elsewhere. Then the freaked out when part of the group wanted to come watch movie in our room and we had to get permission from the front desk but we were told not to let them even use the toilet. Seriously most ridiculous stay I have ever had anywhere. Find somewhere else to stay where the staff actually acts like normal Mai pen rai Thai people!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The Bhumiyama came well reviewed so we booked it. Great idea!
The hotel resort is located at the southern end of Lonely Beach, Koh Chang. We stayed both at Klong Prao and Lonely Beach and much preferred Lonely Beach as a soft sandy beach to hang out at. Great water, few rocks, sheltered, not too crowded..
Along this stretch are (I think) only 4 hotel/accommodation options. Bhumiyama (south end) and Siam Beach Resort (not Siam Beach Huts) at the north end, are the two more luxurious hotels. They aren't going to be the most amazing hotels ever, but they are well maintained and have most things you may want and very comfortable and great location. Other Lonely Beach accom is not on the sandy stretch of the beach front, so stay here if you want to walk metres from your room onto the beach. Next to Bhumiyama is Nature Resort which is more aimed at backpackers wanting something nicer than normal with lots of beach bungalows. It has a great beach front bar and restaurant that most other hotel guests eat and rink at during the day. There is also Siam Beach Huts which are fine but basic and cheap.
We stayed in a Deluxe Beach View bungalow at Bhumiyama. Very clean, neat private outside bathroom with shower and bath, quite comfortable bed (if you don't mind the Thai standard extremely firm mattress). Large room, free wifi (not super fast), cable TV, genuine good view of beach across beautiful pools.
There are plenty of lounges looking onto the beach and staff who bring you over towels and umbrellas if you want. The pools are also warm and lovely but it's hard to swim there when the beach is beckoning you.
It is a 5 minute walk south to Lonely Beach village where there are plenty of places to eat and drink. We only had breakfast at the hotel. It seems the htoel has given up competing with the village eateries and bars. Bhumiyama doesn't really seem to offer lunch or dinner in more than an obligatory way. Breakfast overlooks the beach and the buffet is pretty good but light on for choice for we vegetarians.
Lunch os good next door on the beach at Nature resort or walk/scoot into town. We liked The Kitchen just as you come into the main strip, cheap, good, friendly, pretty quick by Thai standards, but its on the roadside so not "romantic". The best food we had was from a food stall run by a woman called Og(?) in Soi 1 directly opposite Stone Free. Delicious food if you can find a plastic stool on the rough tables crammed in between the fence and the Soi. So cheap, absolutely authentic and she is so very friendly and obliging. You can grab a 40Baht Chang while you wait from her icebox. You can tell it's good as everyone who has been in Lonely Beach a few days has "discovered" her and it can get pretty busy. On that topic we ate a Pad Thai the day before at Stone Free - terrible, tasteless, not even vaguely resembling a real Pad Thai. Maybe their other food is OK but it's better to eat and Og's and enjoy Stone Free's live music filtering across the lane.
So I would definitely recommend Bhumiyama and Lonely Beach. The village does have a lot of young visitors and there can be a party atmosphere but it didn't bother us at all. In the evening some nights you will hear some doof doof music coming from along the beach near Bhumiyama but not too late. If it worries you, get up, join in and paaaaarty. And Lonely Beach has a great beach dog population. They are clean, healthy safe dogs owned by the nearby traders. Say Hi. Give them a pat. Sadly, we did see a couple of fearful Russian tourists raise a hand and throw sand unnecessarily at a dog. Disgraceful. Ignorant. There is one cute small dog with a curly tail who may even join you for a swim and cuddle.

Room Tip: Try to get a beach view. Worth the extra few Baht.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bhumiyama Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bhumiyama Beach Resort

Address: 99/1 Moo 4 Klongprao, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Ko Chang
#14 Luxury Hotel in Ko Chang
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bhumiyama Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Bhumiyama Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bhumiyama Beach Hotel Koh Chang
Hotel Bhumiyama Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bhumiyama Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.