We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bhumiyama Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bhumiyama Beach Resort to your Saves list
Bhumiyama Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   99/1 Moo 4 Klongprao, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 71 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights. Basically, I was too lazy to move. My biggest complaint is the breakfast. Stale cornflakes, very limited choices, etc. Instead of list all my complaints about the breakfast, I should just say it is the worst I've spread I've had in Thailand. For the price we paid, you'd at least get this right. Lets spend a minute and compare this to chang buri in white sands. The bathroom: the chang buri bathroom is smaller, nicer. Bhumiyama is bigger with lots of nature light. Bhumiyama has the edge. The Bhumiyama room is bigger, but our extra outlets didn't work, the painted concrete feel didn't vibe, but the balcony was nice. Because I don't spend a lot time in the room, the edge goes to Chang Buri. Second, no room service! of course, given the quality of the breakfast, if there was room service I bet it would suck. Location: for beach life, Bhuiyama, hands down. For party life, Chang Buri hands down.
It all comes down to the price, simply put, for what Bhumiyama offers, the price isn't that good

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    53
    19
    6
    7
See reviews for
23
62
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I don't know where to begin on this. I got the feeling that this hotel was like a faded movie star. It was once really great, but now had faded away to obscurity. My room while clean and basic, overlooked the staff dorms. If I sat out on my balcony I looked into a bunch of guys shaving and listening to music while surrounded by a run down mechanical equipment. Clearly not what I was looking for in a view.

The hotel pitches itself as a resort and spa, but when I asked about the spa services I was told that the spa was closed since they couldn't find any employees. They offered to send me to a nearby spa, but it wasn't opened on the days I was there which the staff at the hotel were unaware of.

I felt really bad for the restaurant staff because no one was eating there, but you couldn't blame them since the one night we did eat there the food was mediocre at best. Free breakfast was nice, but the omelets had barely anything in them, and when I poured some milk in my cereal it was on the edge of spoiled.

The pool area was lovely and was great to swim in. There was an area for a swim up bar, but it looked like that had been abandoned long ago. Not sure if this place went through some troubled times, but it definitely needs a major overhaul in terms of its services and staff.

Room Tip: Try the bigger rooms by the beach they're worth the extra few bucks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
modiin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at this resort for 7 nights. The rooms are spacious and well equipped, the beds are very comfortable, and the staff was very helpful and nice. They addressed each issue professionally and attended our every need. The location is wonderful - right on lonely beach, and lonely beach center was just 5-7 minutes away. Wi-Fi was also available. Overall, it was wonderful, and I will probably return to this resort if I return to koh chang.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

A really nice place, great stuff. Great location if you're looking to stay in lonely beach. Very clean. If you're looking to have a great time in a fair price this is the place!.......................................................

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We loved this place. The hotel is situated right on Lonely beach and is set in gorgeous gardens. The restaurant serves good food, and the staff, many of them Cambodian, are lovely. The included breakfast was a mahooosive affair with steaks and rich sauces to go along with the usual things. It made for a very filling start to the day!
It is definitely worth asking for a sea facing villa if available, but even the ones towards the back seemed lovely. All the rooms are set in 2 story individual little villas, and are quite charming. My only negative would be the somewhat eclectic miss mash of decor styles in the room, it ran from fake Victorian to ultra modern, and some that was hard to identify...but all good! The bathroom was fine with plenty of hot water in the shower, but the bath not a great success.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

4 nights here in a garden room, 20 metres to the pool! Free Internet. Friendly, helpful check in. Huge room, great bathroom, no bugs! TV could use a couple extra channels, and the air con was a little temperamental but those things aside, very good! Poolside was the place to be, and the good thing is there a 2 adjoining pools. Pool staff are friendly and accommodating, moving deck chairs and umbrellas etc but not at all in your face. Same with food and bar service staff. Meet Mr T at the restaurant, he is friendly 5 star for sure and deserves a thank you! Right on the beach! Overall exceptional value here, we paid 55AUD per night including free cooked breakfast buffet and Internet! Rainy season but only rained once in ten days!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I booked this hotel at the last minute and got a two for one deal, that meant that I paid just over 3,000 Baht a room for two nights so it worked out at about 1,550 per night per room. We were travelling as a family with five kid's in tow. We managed to get two adjoining rooms so that the three oldest kids could stay in the adjoining room (age 12, 11 and 10) they charged for one extra bed at 500 per night inc breakfast which was fair. The two youngest kids aged 5 and 3 stayed on an extra bed in our room for free, with breakfast free. I thought that the management were very accommodating towards us as a large family and I found the resort to be very family friendly. The swimming pool was excellent although it needs dedicated toilets as the nearest WC's are in the restaurant or your room., The beach is beautiful and very clean, but a word of warning! The sea was quite rough and to be honest the breakers were big enough to surf, there is a strong tide and it could easily pull you onto the rocks, if you are not a strong swimmer. Parents be aware of this and be 100% vigilant at all times if you intend letting your kids swim in the sea here. The food was a little bit overpriced with a 10% service charge and the buffet breakfast only just adequate but the view from the restaurants upper floor helped to compensate for this. I would definitely stay there again for the rate that I just paid in Low Season but I wouldn't want to pay more than 2,500 per night per room in High Season because the resort next door is a full on back-packer party destination. I would imagine that the beach will be overrun in high season and no doubt noisy until the early hours. Overall a great family resort but the food is a bit overpriced for the standard that is served.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms that are near to the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bhumiyama Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bhumiyama Beach Resort

Address: 99/1 Moo 4 Klongprao, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Ko Chang
#14 Luxury Hotel in Ko Chang
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bhumiyama Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bhumiyama Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bhumiyama Beach Hotel Koh Chang
Hotel Bhumiyama Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bhumiyama Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.