We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice relaxing quiet Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramayana Koh Chang Resort

Save Saved
You added Ramayana Koh Chang Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramayana Koh Chang Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   19/9 Moo 4, Khlong Prao, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 71 Hotels in Ko Chang
A TripAdvisor Member
“Nice relaxing quiet Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was very nice at the Hotel. People there are very friendly. There is no direct Access to the Beach. Every Hour there is a free Transfer to a beach at the Dewa Hotel. We don't recommend that beach because there are a lot of stones in the ocean that makes it impossible to go into the ocean. 15 min walk to the north will take you to a must more nicer beach. And there was nearly nobody, so it was quiet.
The restaurant at the Ramayana is great for having dinner. Great food.
Breakfast is not very good.
The best way to see more of the island is to rent a motorbike.

We would recommend this hotel to other people and friends of us.

Thanks for the great time on Koh Chang.

Andreas & Karin

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikaran S, General Manager at Ramayana Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for the review. It is a pleasure to read your kind appreciation of the staff and services of the resort and for sharing it on TripAdvisor.

I apologize for the breakfast not being upto the mark and will together work on this with my chef on a priority basis.

I am delighted to note that you found the food served at the restaurant for dinner to be great food. This will be very encouraging and motivating for the restaurant team to strive harder for guest perfection.

Yes I agree, the best way to see Koh Chang Island is to rent a motorcycle.

Thank you very much for recommending Ramayana Koh Chang Resort & Spa to others and your friends.

My team and I are looking forward to welcome you back to the resort soon.

Warm Regards,

Vikaran Shivdasani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    96
    30
    9
    3
See reviews for
27
95
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Montpellier, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we had very good experience at this hotel, the staff was so kind to us, even to propose activities with special promotion, even free transport to the waterfall. The breakfast was ok, even if my husband missed bacon ;)
The swimming pool is beautiful, the garden spendid, there are flowers everwhere. The only necessary change could be the bed, they are really to hard.be careful you can not acces a beach, but the hotel offer minibus (every hour) to go to the beach.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikaran S, General Manager at Ramayana Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Soso34070,

Thank you so much for the wonderful comments on the overall quality and the staff services of Ramayana Koh Chang Resort & Spa and for giving us an opportunity to be of service to you.

We are so happy to know that you liked the beautiful landscape of the resort. This is an aspect we are all very passianate about.

Our team at the resort thoroughly enjoy serving guests in the most courteous manner. We do hope you enjoyed the outdoor activities on the island and the waterfall.

My apologies for the hard bed. We do have an option of hard and soft mattresses. I will also discuss with my chef to improve upon the breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ramayana Koh Chang Resort & Spa soon.

Warm Regards,

Vikaran Shivdasani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We came across this hotel whilst on the island looking for last min accommodation. The amazing receptionist showed us the room and was helpful to advise the the online price was the best in the low season. The room was beautiful decorated, clean and very well priced.
All the staff were amazing, and nothing was too much trouble. The pool was amazing! As was the food. Western and Thai to choose from. The salads were fab as well as the BBQ fish.
We stayed for 10 nights, and totally relaxed. Don't be put off that to aren't next to the beach. There is a free shuttle service every hour to the posher sister hotel 5 mins away! Lush beach and you have the posh hotel facilities as well!
We hired a moped at the hotel, very easy and we have great fun!
Take time to walk down to the road to the side of the hotel as this leads to the Aana hotel that is on the fresh river estuary. We had lunch here a few times and hired a Kayak. You can do evening trips to see the fireflies too!
All in all a fab hotel, would thoroughly recommend

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikaran S, General Manager at Ramayana Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Orchardportman,

Thank you for staying at Ramayana Koh Chang Resort & Spa and for sharing your generous feedback through TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to learn that you had a wonderful experience at the Resort and for considering it to be a fab hotel to recommend.

At Ramayana Koh Chang Resort & Spa, we are committed to exceeding guests expectations and your feedback motivates us to strive harder. We believe that it is the small details which make a big difference and help us create very special moments for our guests.

Our team is our biggest strength and your appreciation of the service, guest room and pool and food, encourages them to do even better.

I do hope that you have the occasion to visit us again in the not too distant future.

Thank you,

Warm Regards,

Vikaran Shivdasani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Besides the greenery and relaxing atmosphere of the place, you will be impressed by good service and wonderful hospitality here like I do. However, they need to be prepared for the rush hour during breakfast and try to have the food and kitchenware ready at all times.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikaran S, General Manager at Ramayana Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Premyuda L,

Thank you for staying at Ramayana Koh Chang Resort & Spa and for sharing feedback of your stay through TripAdvisor.

I apologize for the inconvenience you had at breakfast, that the food was not being replinished on time during the rush hour. We will take corrective measures to ensure that this problem will be resolved.

Your very positive feedback of your stay is very motivating. I am delighted that you had a wonderful experience and that you enjoyed your stay at the resort.

The team members are very happy at reading your comments about the wonderful hospitality.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Ramayana Koh Chang Resort & Spa.

Thank you,

Warm Regards,

Vikaran Shivdasani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

Excellent resort with a warm and friendly staff. The rooms were very comfortable and cozy however the TV was very outdated with mostly thai channels. The breakfast was average in spread but options are available at a stone's throw. The pool was extremely relaxing with a jacuzzi next to it. There were various spa options available and the resort also had their own well equipped gym. The beach is not connected but sharing of the Deva resort beach works out just fine.

Overall the family had an amazing experience with the resort. We will most probably be back again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikaran S, General Manager at Ramayana Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Samrat4546,

It was a pleasure to have your family and you stay at Ramayana Koh Chang Resort & Spa and we thank you for sharing detailed feedback of your stay on TripAdvisor.

Please accept my apologize for the old TV's and limited TV channels. New TV's are in the plan and will be installed by October this year. We do provide all the major news, movie and entertainment TV channels for guests viewing pleasure. We will also definitely look into the beakfast spread and improve upon this.

Your appreciation of the resort ambience, pool, jacuzzi, spa and gym and service of the staff is very motivating.

The team and I, are delighted to note that you had an amazing experience at the resort and will most probably be back again.

The team and I, look forward to that pleasure and eagerly await your return to the resort.

Warm Regards,

Vikaran Shivdasani
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

We came for three days and enjoyed every minute. The staff is super friendly, especialy if you know a couple of words in Thai. The facilties ate great and the rooms are no less than magical. The value we got was great. We warmly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikaran S, General Manager at Ramayana Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at Ramayana Koh Chang Resort & Spa and thank you for sharing your encouraging feedback through TripAdvisor.

Your appreciation of the Resort, the room and the team is encouraging indeed. Ramayana Koh Chang Resort & Spa is an oasis for our guests and promotes an ideal ambience to relax and rejuvenate.

The team is indeed our strength and they make every effort to look after our guests and give them a memorable experience.

We believe it is the small details, which make the big difference and drive us towards perfection.

Thank you for your generous compliments.

The team and I, look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully very soon.

Warm Regards,

Vikaran Shivdasani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I came for the 2nd time already and love it.
The staff was SUPER-friendly on both out visits, even people had changed.
Location is good to go everywhere on the west coast.
Nice, spacious and quiet rooms with private small terrace/balcony.
Good value for money.
It's cheaper because it does not have a private beach, but shuttle to a partner resort (7min). the whole resort has green plants everywhere just like a botanical garden, and very well taken care of. The pool is nice, very clean and was never really crowded.
The mini bar offers are cheaper than in 7-11.

Because we went in the rainy season, we had 2 half days of rain, most days only half hour to 1 hour, and 2 days no rain at all. It was mostly cloudy, what I liked more than the burning sun.

Downside in the low season is that they don't serve a full breakfast buffet (what they did still in January). But even the order-by-menu choices are not bad, also because they are flexible with individual wishes.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikaran S, General Manager at Ramayana Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Georg T,

It was a great pleasure to have you stay at Ramayana Koh Chang Resort & Spa for the second time, and we thank you for sharing feedback of your stay through TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to receive your feedback and to learn that you liked the landscape of the resort and enjoyed the swimming pool and liked the room you were staying in.

Thank you also for your feedback regarding the staff being SUPER-friendly. We will share your feedback to the team and I am sure this will motivate them further to exceed guest expectations.

The team and I, look forward to your continued visits.

Thank you once again.

Warm Regards,

Vikaran Shivdasani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramayana Koh Chang Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramayana Koh Chang Resort

Address: 19/9 Moo 4, Khlong Prao, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Ko Chang
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ramayana Koh Chang Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Ramayana Koh Chang Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramayana Koh Chang Hotel Koh Chang
Ramayana Resort Koh Chang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramayana Koh Chang Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.