We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ramayana Koh Chang Resort

Save Saved
You added Ramayana Koh Chang Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramayana Koh Chang Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   19/9 Moo 4, Khlong Prao, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 71 Hotels in Ko Chang
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Really lovely place to stay!Rooms are very clean .We had a large room with balcony overviewing the beautifull gardens.Very peacefull.Restaurants with walking distance but aslo you can rent a scooter from there cheaply.
Restaurant at the resort bit pricey but you can eat not too far away much cheaper.Entertaiment most nights,live band etc.
The only minus to get to the beach you have to go by car ,but its free and every half an hour.

In all I would highly recoment this place to stay!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    96
    30
    9
    3
See reviews for
27
96
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Koh Chang is a good island for water sports, diving, snorkeling or just days out on boat trips. the island has a large sandy beach which is nice.

The Ramayana Hotel is set in some lovely gardens, the staff are very friendly and helpful, the breakfast is good and plentiful. The rooms are very nice, lovely big comfortable bed, large shower room.

If you're going to Koh Chang it's worth staying at the Ramayana. The hotel has no beach but they lay on a bus to their sister hotel where they have a large beach, it's only 3 minutes away.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are the best ones to have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikaran S, General Manager at Ramayana Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Hampo1964,

Thank you for choosing Ramayana Koh Chang Resort & Spa for your stay and a fantastic review. We are so happy you enjoyed Koh Chang island and all the water sport activities and the lovely sandy beaches.

I am delighted to know that every aspect of your experience was excellent. It feels so special to receive such feedback from our guests and I am overwhelmed each time by the commitment of our team to create fond memories of our guest.

Our endeavor is to be known for friendly, intuitive and personalized service and it is great to know that you were impressed with the personal touch in our service delivery.

Many thanks again for taking the time to write the review. We hope that you will plan another holiday with us soon.

Best Regards

Vikaran Shivdasani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

After a lengthy time spent getting there ,the reviews i read where nothing to what was there , staff, yes friendly , but while doing an afternoon siesta with a private sign on the wall ,room staff woke us up to clean the room ??, i carry my computer so i can check photos and travel sites via the HDMI cable to the TV screen every hotel i have been two in Asia has a flat screen "except the Ramayama" ,for the whole stay we had to go to a local bar to actual watch our pics and do travel checks , this was a waste of time as the rooms should state more of there facilitys , air con ,although worked could not be set right we had it on 25deg but our thermonitor showed 23 deg , sleepless nights , the room has the size of 42 sq this seems much smaller , breakfast was nice but there where not enough fans and the hot air made breaky un enjoyable we picked our breaky table by the one that had the least ants on the top ( same ones that where in our room and clothes biting us )our bathroom was tiny with cold water from the shower , there is construction on site but nothing to really worry about as the work is not at the noisey stage , there is a small back gate which goes down to the local river , this gate is for staff only , if you wish to go out to these eatery's you have to go out the front then double back to the side street which was annonying even with a hotel card coming back we had to go the long way ,the decor would be good on Saint Paddys day as the tiles where green the place is showing its age ,, there is no free wifi in the rooms , prehaps the best highlight was when our bus arrived to take us back to Pattaya

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a standard room for three nights over the holiday weekend. The rooms are a good size, comfortable and well furnished. The rooms are all set in beautifully landscaped natural surroundings facing inwards over balconies towards a small cental pool. Generally the service is very good though on the first night our dinner order got lost when the restaurant was completely full. We hired a motorbike to explore the island and visit various beaches and restaurants.The two seafood restaurants down the side road adjacent to the hotel are recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rmrama, ผู้จัดการทั่วไป at Ramayana Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Tim_Pickles

Greeting from Ramayana Koh Chang! On behalf of the Ramayana Kho Chang resort & spa, It is pleasure to have you here. Thank you for sharing your precious moment with us and let us learned how to be better for you. we are promise to give you more comfort whenever you re-visit .Thank you again for your precious comment and hoping to have a chance to service you in the near future.


With Regards,
Kraikiti Dibakanaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The staff were so wonderful and friendly, but in general, the hotel wasn't the best we stayed in - our room was quite dark, and one of the bedside lights didn't work. The shower was lacking in power, and while we had a nice balcony, it was right next to a lot of plants/trees and a small stream which attracted a lot of insects and mosquitos which meant we couldn't sit outside without being bitted to death! But that could have just been unlucky for us... the other rooms might be brighter if they're not positioned under a canopy of trees. Spare pillows are provided in the cupboards but they don't have pillow cases on them, and they smell a bit funky.

The pool however is very nice - quiet and relaxing area to chill out.

There is a waterfall only 3 minutes moped ride down the road, but it costs 200B to visit, we we didn't bother and chose instead to ride about 45 minutes north for a different, free waterfall.

There are plenty of places to go for food in the evenings, including a 7/11 and a pharmacy for snacks and supplies (bug spray!!!)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rmrama, General Manager at Ramayana Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear g-olive89

Greeting from Ramayana Koh Chang! On behalf of the Ramayana Kho Chang resort & spa, It is pleasure to have you here. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and let us learned how to be better for you. we have taken note for anything that you feel discomfort to improve our service to ensure that we would be able make you more comfort whenever you re-visit .Thank you again for your precious comment and hoping to have a chance to service you in the near future.


With Regards,
Kraikiti Dibakanaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I stayed at Ramayana with my husband for 3 nights in the end of March 2013. It was a nice resort with a beautiful garden and friendly staff. We weren't very impressed by the rooms though. The beds were extremely hard and the bathrooms were tiny. The rooms and the linens smelled like mold. The first day we got a plate of fruit to our rooms. We didn't eat from it but the housekeeper didn't take it out in three days so in the end it was totally moldy. There is no free wi-fi in the rooms.

The service in the restaurant was very poor. Don't get the Pad Thai!

It's very far from the beach but the resort runs a shuttle bus hourly.

If you don't have too high expectations this is a fine resort, we just didn't think we got value for our money. There are many nicer resorts on Koh Chang at the same rate.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Could do with a bigger sign or at least one not partially obscured by plants as our driver missed the hotel twice. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Quiet location means not easy to walk around to a nearby restaurant at night, but easy to flag down a taxi. Quiet location does mean a tranquil environment, perfect if you would like a nice little holiday away from the hustle and bustle of a city or a party beach. Nice garden view from the room balcony/terrace, makes you feel like you're in a tropical jungle.

Breakfast is average, not a lot of choices, but still okay for what it's worth. The private beach at their sister hotel is great, and the shuttle to the beach runs hourly. We also booked an elephant trek and a full-day snorkeling trip with the hotel, which turned out great. They can also arrange transportation for your onward travel via minivan.

We booked through Booking.com which had great rates at the time. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramayana Koh Chang Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramayana Koh Chang Resort

Address: 19/9 Moo 4, Khlong Prao, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Ko Chang
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ramayana Koh Chang Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Ramayana Koh Chang Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramayana Koh Chang Hotel Koh Chang
Ramayana Resort Koh Chang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramayana Koh Chang Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.