We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just take it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ramayana Koh Chang Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ramayana Koh Chang Resort to your Saves list
Ramayana Koh Chang Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   19/9 Moo 4, Khlong Prao, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 71 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Just take it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Staff are all very nice and helpful.
Room is clean and nice contemporary decoration. Breakfast is excellent. Location is not close to the beach and unable to walk but they provide shuttle car. Take it!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    123
    37
    15
    4
See reviews for
40
137
13
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

You can't go wrong staying at such a beautiful hotel set in a lush tropical setting. I stayed in the Ravana suite which is gorgeous and lots of attention to detail. Very nice pool, restaurant was good you can eat for as little as 60 baht if you like. Staff are extremely helpful and the grounds are meticulously clean. Good Internet signal in the lobby, lots of tours you can easily book at the desk. You can walk to nearby restaurants or roam around the beach area which is a short 5 minute shuttle to their sister hotel. I had a very relaxing stay, would absolutely come back here. A real gem!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Ramayana is a good choice for couples or families looking for a quiet place to stay. The property is set back in the jungle and has a nice pool in the middle with a bar. All the rooms I saw had a nice patio that overlooks the garden that the property is set in. There is no beach directly on the property but there is a shuttle that runs every hour to their sister property, "The Dewa", that has a beach. They also run shuttles to the White Sand Beach which is the main town with restaurants and bars. They have scooters for rent as well but they're pricey compared with what you can get at other places on the island. You pay for convenience. Don't pick this place if you're looking for a good fitness center. The spa, according to my girlfriend, was also pretty mediocre. The water pressure in the shower was minimal and it was only lukewarm.

Room Tip: The junior suite is not as big as you would expect from a junior suite but it's still a very nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rmrama, Manager at Ramayana Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Allan S,


Greeting from Ramayana Koh Chang! On behalf of the Ramayana Kho Chang resort & spa, It is a great pleasure to have you here. Thank you for your feedback and a chance to look after you.at ramayana,We will do our best to ensure that you will be more comfort everytime visit us.Thank you again for your precious comment and hoping to have a chance to service you again.

Kraikiti Dibakanaka
Resident manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed there for a couple of days and found it a great value for money. The resort is clean and has a relaxing atmosphere although it is not on the beach but transfer to the beach was offered in just a short ride. What really impresses us here was the very friendly staff and very tasty food in the resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We have been to Thailand before and we know what to expect, especially with places where you think that you are getting a good deal. We didn't expect much from our stay here, we thought that it would be below standard but we booked late so we thought that as long as it was sufficient it would be okay. Even then we were still disappointed. There was so many things wrong with this place that I will only briefly go into the main points on why you should not stay here if you have other options:

1) Very, very, exceptionally bad service. The woman in the reception, not the manager, was beyond rude every time we had to talk to her. It was shocking and unnecessary. This was particularly bad when we were checking-in; we booked online a couple days before, a Queen size bed, and when we got there she said that we could only get two single beds because we had just booked that day. After trying to argue we gave up and just took it.

2) Fresh looking blood stains on the sheets, the blood was not ours.

3) When we got there the safe was locked. We had to ask 3 times to get it unlocked and finally after two days of pestering them the manager came and unlocked it. Luckily nothing went missing before then but you really need it for peace of mind.

4) We were running out of clean laundry so we used their overpriced service, which claimed same day return if brought in before 10 am. We explicitly asked if we would get it back that evening, otherwise we wouldn't have given them almost all of our clothing. We did not get our laundry back until almost a day later than it should have been back. This isn't a big deal if you aren't counting on it, but we were...

5) At this point we should have known better but we thought that it would be great to not have to worry about our trip back to Bangkok so we booked transportation through the hotel. This was a very poor life choice. It cost 1000 baht each, showed up about a hour late, and took over eight hours to get to Bangkok. The 1000 baht is overpriced, you can get way better. The driver blamed the first people he picked up on his being late but according to them that wasn't true. They told us were would be there before dinner but we got there at 9 pm and the other people in the minibus almost missed their flights.

Generally this place was really run down. The room wasn't ever nice or clean, the floors were very dirty and there was black mold in our shower. The beds were also rock hard, I like a hard bed but this was a bit much. The pool was also dirty and food in the restaurant was not good. The pool server never wanted to get change and once even asked for a 100% tip.

On our second day we talked to the manager about our dissatisfaction with the room, the safe, the service, and the laundry, and she just said "sorry". We gave them the opportunity to improve but to them sorry was sufficient to make up for all of this.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rmrama, Manager at Ramayana Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Alexis B

Greeting from Ramayana Koh Chang! On behalf of the Ramayana Kho Chang resort & spa, It is pleasure to have you here. Thank you for your comment. so we have learned how to be better from your comment.Even there are some activities that operated by the outsource operator such as laundry, Transfer service we still can learned from your comment and share to our supplier to improve thier service. and we have taken note for anything that you may discomfort to improve our service to ensure that we would be able make you more comfort whenever you visit us.Thank you again for your precious comment and hoping to have a chance to service you again.


With Regards,
Kraikiti Dibakanaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed during the low season so that might explain why we were so spoiled. The restaurant was great with many choices. We rented scooters from the hotel, really practical. The resort is not by the sea but we survived by using the nice pool. = )

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rmrama, Manager at Ramayana Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Martin B.

Greeting from Ramayana Koh Chang!

It is a great honor to learn that you have a present time with us at Ramayana Resort & Spa Koh Chang.Thank you for your compliment.We promise to do our best to ensure that you will bemore comfortable everytime you come back. Thank you again for your valuable comment. and Happy new year.

With Regards,
Kraikiti Dibakanaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Chon Buri, Thailand
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Set amongst well-kept gardens, The Ramayana is located on the main road on the west cost of Koh Chang. The nice stuff: the people are friendly, the place is well maintained on the outside and the restaurants of reasonable price and quality. Beach access is via the sister Dewa Hotel 3km south, or a shared terrace a further few kms down the road, both accessed by hourly shuttle. Nice ambience around the pool/bar. Location OK if you want to see the west-side (not as much to see on the east side) of Koh Chang. The bad stuff: easily the hardest beds I have ever slept on (billiard-table hard); batteries flat in the TV remote; room phone did not work; globes blown in the bed-side tables (this is basic stuff but I'm sick of hotels getting away with it - it's not that hard to get it right); lousy bathroom layout (no bench-space); rooms dark/poorly lit; the restaurants are near the main road which really detracts from the ambience, as does the hideous 80's-style MIDI (= Japanese call-waiting music) accompaniment of the singers at night time. Friday night barbecue theme was over-priced and inadequate. I did not use the spa, which was pretty busy. I would only stay there as a last resort, which it may well be at this time of year (January).

Room Tip: Request a soft bed, or maybe some kind of padded protector. I don't know if they had either, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rmrama, Manager at Ramayana Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Geoff W.


Greeting from Ramayana Koh Chang! On behalf of the Ramayana Kho Chang resort & spa, It is pleasure to have you here. Thank you for your comment. We will learn to maintain the good thing that you comment and take note for anything that you may not impress to improve our service. We will do our best to ensure that we would be able make you more comfort the next time you visit us.Thank you again for your precious comment and hoping to have a chance to service you again.

Kraikiti Dibakanaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramayana Koh Chang Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramayana Koh Chang Resort

Address: 19/9 Moo 4, Khlong Prao, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Ko Chang
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ramayana Koh Chang Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Ramayana Koh Chang Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramayana Koh Chang Hotel Koh Chang
Ramayana Resort Koh Chang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramayana Koh Chang Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.