We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ramayana Koh Chang Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ramayana Koh Chang Resort to your Saves list
Ramayana Koh Chang Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   19/9 Moo 4, Khlong Prao, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 71 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bangkok
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

A lovely surprise at this hotel. Great surroundings, good facilities, friendly and obliging staff. The Hanuman room was perfectly adequate with a few extra touches which we did not expect. Would certainly return to this hotel if we go back to Koh Chang.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rmrama, Manager at Ramayana Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear jjbully

On behalf of Ramayana Koh Chang Resort & Spa, I would like to thank you for your compliment. It is the great pleasurer to learn that you are appreciated to stay with us and We promise that we will continue to do all we can to ensure that you will received a better service every time you come back.

We are very proud that you’ve chosen us to looking after your holiday. Thank you for your comment and We are looking forward to seeing you in the near future.

With Regards,
Kraikiti Dibakanaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    118
    36
    14
    4
See reviews for
37
128
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Just returned from the Koh Chang island. We've stayed in Ramayana for 10 days. The territory is big and green, hotel staff is very friendly and ready to help you in any case.
Rooms are very clean and nice, but a bit dark (in garden view rooms). Mattress is really hard, but i like it this way. Sometimes mades forgot to bring you new soap, but tissue was always delivered in time)))
Breakfast is good: fried eggs, omlette,cereal, toasts, sausages, noodles, rice, spaghetti, chicken/pork w spicies, fruits and juices. Also their french-toasts and waffles with honey are awesome =) The food is good both for kids and grown-ups.
The beach is located in 3km from Ramayana on the Dewa territory. We took a motorbike and were independent from the hotels shuttle (it goes to the beach every one hour from 9a.m to 5p.m.) Sea is shallow, about 30-50 meters from the shore you'll have ca 1.6m deep. But it's very clean and transparent. In the middle of October there were no big jelly-fishes this year. Sometimes i saw the small one near the shore, but deeper i didn't noticed any.
There are not a lot of restoraunts near the hotel and if you want to have a choice where to eat it would be easier to rent a bike or car, because the location of Ramayana is not in the hangout place. There are 4-5 restoraunts in 5 minutes walk, if you want more i would not recommend go there on foot, because in 6 p.m. it's already dark and there is no footpath, so you walk on the traffic area. There are no steet lamps on the road and it's hard to see the walking people in the dark. It's not about Ramayana, it's about the whole island if you are not located in the shopping area (anyway, in the room you will find a small lantern which will help to identify you in the road). On the motorbike it took us max 5 minutes to get to our favorite cafe.
I would recommend this hotel both for pairs and families who wants to relax and have a rest from noise.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashdod, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed At Ramayana Hotel between 12/8/11-25/8/11 (2 weeks) by myself at the Hanuman deluxe room (with breakfast). This hotel look amazing inside & out! I call the surrounding a "modern jungle", You can enjoy a true nature (even made by humans...) in the most relaxing & comfortable way! The surrounding of this hotel is simply outstanding (see my pics)! Perfect 4 people who come 4 relaxation like myself & perfect spot 4 couples in Honeymoon or sort... The Hanuman deluxe room is very nice looking and comfortable room with space and a great view from the porch. The price 4 the room by the way is more than reasonable!
The Breakfast is very basic one, but this is the standard I'm used 2 in The Thai hotels so I never have High expectation there, but the restaurant have very good meals 4 lunch/supper and with good price.
Please do try the spa!!! especially the "Hot herbal massage"- the best I've got ever! (& I've been 6 time in Thailand...) this spa in general looks great, U can for only 200 baht get a private Jacuzzi & Sauna 4 an Hour!
Just the looks of my pics from there after more than a year makes me drool all over the place...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khanom, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We spent 5 nights at Ramayana in a beautiful and clean room overlooking the green garden. No major issues, everything went smooth from the check-in to the check-out. Big room with terrace, lovely bathroom, bathrobes and beach towels available, the minibar is not expensive at all. Spotless clean!
The resort doesn't have beach access but offers shuttle transfer (every hour) to The Dewa (as far as I understood the two resorts share the same owners) where you can chill on comfy sunbeds or enjoy the huge beach.
Tips on transportation: from/to the pier it costs 60thb/person to Ramayana, from/to White Beach it's 50thb/person. If you go out on the main road it shouldn't take more than 5 minutes before a taxi comes - just wave and it will stop to pick you up. Once you check-out and need to go to the pier, ask the reception about the taxi coming every hour to pick-up guests for transfer. It charges the same rate, only it picks you up from the reception, no need to drag your luggage to the main road.

While on Koh Chang it's worth renting a car (Toyota Vios @ 1,200 thb/24h + another 600thb for gasoline) and drive around the island. The scenery and vibe on the East coast is unbelievably different than on the West coast.
A must see - the fishermen village on SE coast. A must do - lunch or dinner in one of the restaurants in Salak Phet.

If you want to go on a snorkelling trip check the many travel agencies on White Beach and do not book it through the hotel -- they add at least 200thb to the regular prices. Also, do not believe what is written in the presentation book you find in the room about the entrance fee at the waterfall as being 400thb. It's completely absurd for anyone to ask that money - all National Parks in Thailand have the same entrance fee for foreigners and that is 200 thb/person.

Watch-out at the resort:
- the internet tends to fail from time to time and they can't really do anything about it (it's the same problem on all the islands in Thailand)
- check carefully when they bring back the laundry, the whites may not be as white as you want them to be; return it to the reception if it happens and ask them either to try again until they are white or refund you for the damaged pieces of clothing
- the humidity level is extremely high, it takes a few days for a bathing suit to dry on the terrace. For the same reason the pillows and the blanket in the room have a funny humid smell.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We got a great deal on a booking website. Room was large, well designed and very clean and comfortable. Staff were mostly helpful and friendly. Western food restaurant was very poor. We didn't eat in the Thai restaurant.
Pool was great, in a garden setting and we spent lots of time there.
A good location and quiet.
We slept well on a big bed.
Bathrooms were clean and maintained regularly

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Lovely rooms, great pool in a nice garden setting. Staff were friendly and courteous. However, the food at the "western" restaurant was terrible and service appalling. The live band free every night might be good after a number of cocktails, but sound pretty poor without. Hire a motorbike down the road and save a few dollars

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed with two friends in one of the bungalow-style villas in Ramayana Resort last October 2011. Rooms were good (although could use some brighter lighting options) and the bathrooms were interesting. Our two bathrooms were situated in a common open-air area of the villa. When you're taking a bath or using the toilet, you feel like you're bathing outdoors--although of course there are still walls and bathroom doors to give you the necessary privacy.

Staff were wonderfully efficient and friendly and speak good English. They were helpful in assisting us on which day tour packages to get. You would think that hotels would normally charge exorbitant prices for tour packages, but I didn't feel that in Ramayana. It cost us around THB 300-450 / person to go on an elephant trek, and around THB 500 for a trip to an island via speed boat to do some snorkeling. Not bad at all!

Visitors booking a room here shouldn't expect it to be a beach resort; it's very clear on their website that Ramayana is a garden resort situated by the main road. I don't consider its location a minus, because Ramayana offfers free shuttle trips to its sister resort, Dewa, which has a beachfront. I strongly advise not swimming there though because when we visited the beach, the shore and water were full of jelly fish! If you need to do some swimming and snorkeling, just take a day tour package and head off to the islands. It's not inconvenient at all. There's also a lovely pool in Ramayana where you can take a quick dip and order snacks/alcohol by the bar (although they kinda took forever preparing our orders).

Don't forget to get a massage in the Ramayana spa. Excellent Thai massage and body scrub!

Overall, my friends and I had a fantastic time at Ramayana.

Room Tip: If you're traveling with friends, get the villas. More fun and space for everyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramayana Koh Chang Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramayana Koh Chang Resort

Address: 19/9 Moo 4, Khlong Prao, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Ko Chang
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ramayana Koh Chang Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ramayana Koh Chang Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramayana Koh Chang Hotel Koh Chang
Ramayana Resort Koh Chang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramayana Koh Chang Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.