We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Resort for sure” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Klong Prao Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Klong Prao Resort to your Saves list
Klong Prao Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   21/1 Moo 4, Tambol Koh Chang, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
THB2,200 (THB)
Ranked #28 of 71 Hotels in Ko Chang
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Budget Resort for sure”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The beach and the sea were beautiful, there is no escaping it. But if you are looking for luxury on a Thai island then look somewhere else. We got the impression that Koh Chang is the most budget of all the islands and Klong Prao resort the most budget of resorts on this island.

The rooms are basic but clean enough, the resort is basic but again kept quite clean and all the people who worked there seemed nice enough.

The resort also seems to be located far away from all the lively places on the island. So far that you forking out quite a lot of money on a taxi to get anywhere decent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    62
    21
    13
    9
See reviews for
46
43
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Good enough for us - no luxery but very good. Staff very friendly. Newly renovated, started last year so we haven't seen the difference yet...we are usually there in the beginning of november, just before the great "invasion of tourists,
so to speak" ALSO called high season....
Gittan & Bosse, Stockholm, Sweden

Room Tip: Be nice and people will be nice back
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Just spent 2 nights here, the room was 2,400 baht, little bit more than I like to pay, but to be honest it's hard to get rooms on a beach resort for less than 1,500 - 2,000 baht. We are a family of 4 and I thought the room was a pleasant change, 2 double beds, very large room, nice bathroom, T.V and fridge.

The restaurant was excellent but the drinks a little pricey, best thing is it's right on the beach, ideal place to sit in the shade while the children play on the beach.

As for the beach, really can't fault it, large, shallow, uncrowded, perfect for children. The resort is set in a beautiful location around a small lake, it is well kept and manicured. No complaints about the service, but we never had the rooms made over the 2 day period, that was our choice.

Included in the price we had breakfast for 3 people, although we did all manage to eat. I will say that the inclusive breakfast probably saved us at least 400 baht per day, making the mean price of this place 1,900 baht per day. If the price was a 1000 baht cheaper I would stay here every time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The hotel is quite far from anything. The breakfast was pretty average, you could give it a miss. It gave us an upset stomach and was the only place to do so after spending three weeks in Thailand. The rooms are quite dated and the beds are hard but that's a given in Thailand.

The pluses: The bbq dinner was great value for money and delicious! I would go back just for the dinner. The beach is nice and quiet.
Full of Russians so if you are of an ethnic minority and don't mind being invisible then you'll be fine.
No wifi and you have to pay for internet if you want to use it in the lobby. Even that isn't complimentary! So for the price you're paying, stay elsewhere! Safe's aren't in your room they're in reception. I expected better service in a resort like this but it was pretty bad. I've had better service at other hotels in Thailand.

I would recommend Lonely Beach which is further up from Klong Prao.

Room Tip: You could pay extra for the detached huts but I would just stay at another resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Settle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

What a shame. Revisited this hotel because we were so impressed a few years ago to find a very tired hotel with unattentive abrubt staff not willing to help.We experienced 2 days of no hot water with 3 days of a leaking toilet and the bathroom floor flooded.This hotel has the most beautiful setting,white sandy beach,warm shallow clear sea,set around a lake,lovely.Its a pity the staff dont appeciate it and the management dont paint it !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Terrible place.
Everything outdated: the pool, restaurant, rooms (even the deluxe room we booked). Rooms + public spaces are not clean. When we stayed here, there were only Russian people around.
Atmosphere very much on making money and so un-Thai.

We moved to a newly openend hotel a few hundred meters further, which was actually great.

My advise: don't book!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

I have mixed opinions on this resort. Overall it was a lovely stay. It's important that you know how to drive a motobike. If no then DONT stay here. It's far from everything and hard to get a taxi. If you drive a moto, then it is good..you will be far from the noise and clubbing etc..but easy accessible in 12 min moto drive.

We had a beach front villa for $130 a night. Two major problems. The room is not a villa it is a bungalow of a medium quality. Nice from the outside but not inside. It's not on the beach, there is the main pathway, landscape of grass and then the beach. You can't even open the blinds because all hotel traffic is between your room and the grass landscape. Our room was in the corner and as such it was behind a building where the delux room are. Are you freaking kidding me?..a front beach villa is behind a delux room building! .. no view of the beach of course.

Room, bed etc.. are average.
Staff can barely speak English. Even at the reception it is hard to just communicate some words.
I forgot my glasses near the pool at 10 pm...checked them by 8 am next day..they were stolen.

Pool is dirty. You swim with the flies!
Not enough sun bed on the beach. Never managed to get one.


The good points: Absolutely lovely long beach. We loved it. So you really don't care about the pool.
Restaurant is nice, value for money....seafood bbq is yummm

Cheap massage on the grass overlooking the beach. We had two hrs massage daily...sooo nice with the beach sound in the background.

Breakfast is ok. Fruit was not covered...flies everywhere.

Close to waterfall, elephants trekking but again you need a motobike.

They provide umbrella in the room which is handy.

Overall good location, nice stay...but beach front villa is not a villa and not what you expect as a beach front.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Klong Prao Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klong Prao Resort

Address: 21/1 Moo 4, Tambol Koh Chang, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Klong Prao Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Klong Prao Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Klong Prao Hotel Koh Chang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Klong Prao Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.