We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not reccomend” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Klong Prao Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Klong Prao Resort to your Saves list
Klong Prao Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   21/1 Moo 4, Tambol Koh Chang, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
THB2,200 (THB)
Ranked #26 of 71 Hotels in Ko Chang
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Do not reccomend”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Overall I do not recommend this hotel.
I lived in bungalow, just near the reception. We met NY 2012 in clone prao resort.
Pluses:
Nice location, a lot of space, big area
Excellent breakfast, you can find anything there
Good beach
Good and not expensive restaraunt

Minuses:
Old bungalows, required renovation, noisy ac
NOISY. I lived not far from the restaurant, and till 10.30-11.00 they played music, live. On the main road just near the hotel there is a bar with live music. So you listen dance till midnight. And the noisiest were the most expensive bungalows!
New Year celebration is a separate story. They developed scene like for Woodstock, and starting from 6 pm till midnight they played the worst Russian music I ever heard. After midnight till 1 am hotel staff made their own dance. 
This hotel doesn't care about people comfort at all. Most of the people were with children, so they were not happy to listen music all nights
Russians. The hotel become Russian oriented more and more. About 70% people were from former USSR. Even new year party led primarily in Russian.
Lack of sun beds on the beach. If you want to have a place - reserve it with the towel befor 9 am. After that time you will find all the places occupied by towels, but without people mostly. 

Good place but needs new management, how understand what comfort is.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    67
    21
    13
    9
See reviews for
52
43
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Latvia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

I have stayed there 2 nights and I really like this property. If didn`t like something, then I even don`t remember it, cause territory and all surrounding was really nice!

+ beautiful territory with inside lake - seems like a park.
+ wide beach coast (everybody could take a sun near beach and don`t bother other person)
+ the best - didn`t need even to use umbrellas to protect against sun, but palms was the best and natural shadow)
+ wide rooms and standard room property was at refurbishment - so standard rooms will be absolutely new.
+ dinner at hotel restaurant is very good and prices is cheap
+ exactly of hotel entrance is shop street and as well bike rent
+ breakfast have more choice than other hotels and breakfast building located at lake coast

- minus don`t have, just enjoy!:)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton BC Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

Stayed here on April 8th to the 15th and had a fantastic holiday. Not a 5 star but the beach and resturant more than made up for it. The resturant staff and food were 5 star with full menu and they have a great barbeque every night also. The beach is difinetly 5 star..I was feeding dinner to 8 people and 2 bottles of good Austraian wine for 100 Canadian or 3000 bhat. The rooms were clean, big and had nice balconies.The only thing wrong with the room is that there is not enough plug-ins. Always go to the caribean for holidays but decided to visit Thailand this time. Very different style of resort but enjoyed it just the same. Very good breakfast which was included but you have to be there early. My son and his girlfriend and her family are Thai's and they go here all the time. We rented scooters just outside the main gate and I travelled all over the island looking at all the other beaches. There were some nicer resorts but they were all cramed togeather just like Cancun in Mexico. This beach is very private and only has this resort on it. Dollar for dollar, beach for beach this place is fantastic. I have stayed at a lot of resorts worldwide and while this isn't a 5 star it is the best on Koh Chang in my opinion.

Room Tip: Take an extension cord. Not enough plug-ins in rm
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

We stayed at the Klong Prao Resort for 5 nights. The resort is beautiful, our room was great and the beach is one of the best we've seen on the island.
The service was the only thing that could be better, as they almost charge you extra for every question you ask, but apart from that we had a great time there.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

This was our third stay at Klong Prao Resort and for sure our last.

First time we went it was all great, good rooms, nice staff, nice area.

Second time with children was also good, but on the past 6 months from first stay we started to see lack of maintenance on the area - but nothing serious. We still enjoyed our stay with the children.

The third time this summer was quite a letdown, the hotel had decayed drastically the past 1-1,5 year. The service was also not so good as before, here are some minor points. PS: I could go on and on with writing bad points.

1. The beach was very dirty (Ok, it is rain season), was only partly cleaned one time on our 10 day stay.
2. Pool area was extremely dirty, tiles slippery cause never cleaned, near no umbrellas - the ones there where partly broken and dirty.
3. Pool toilet was not cleaned ones under our stay.
4. Sunbeds broken and dirty pillows, to get pillows we actually needed to behind a storage in the ladiestoilet to get them - and clean them ourselves outside.
5. Area around breakfast restaurant was dirty (breakfast was good)
6. The deluxe seaview rooms we had was good and clean, but the building was dirty.

From my point of view it seems like the hotel has a total lack of management regarding maintenance, we could see the "cleaning staff" just hanging around smoking looking at the sea. One man started clean the tiles around the pool area for approx 10-15 minutes, put down the tools he used and left. The tools just lied on the ground near the sunbeds for several days before someone removed them.

Klong Prao Resort has surroundings that easily could make this the best hotel in the area, if they only bother to clean it up and do some minor repairs the hotel could be outstanding.

If they do that I would easily recommend the hotel to anybody, but as long as the hotel has this lack of management and maintenance my recommendation is to not stay there.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

My wife and I have been travelling throughout SE Asia for the past 3 weeks and this hotel is by far the worst that we have stayed in. We're not very picky and this is the first time we've rated a a hotel this poorly. Here is why:

1) They lied to us upon check-in. When we checked in they told us that the hotel was very full and the room we requested was no longer available so instead they would upgrade us to a poolside villa. When we got to or room it was more of a downgrade than an upgrade. They gave us the basement of a villa where the upstairs was already rented out. The room smelled of mold, had construction going on outside, was located in the back of te resort far from the beach and had 2 single beds (vs. the double we paid for). We were not happy and after we complained they moved us to a better room (but still a downgrade from what we paid for).

2) The room they gave us was another disaster. This one was closer to the beach but it too smelt of mold, the light in the bathroom was broken, the air conditioner was broken, there were ants (or something) crawling on the ceiling, there were over 20 mosquitos in the room (we killed 23) and the room was very poorly maintained (i.e. broken tiles, hole in he door, etc).

Positives include:
1) Resort was on the beach and the beach is a really beautiful white sanded beach!
2) Hotel grounds are nicely maintained

Overall, this hotel is very poorly managed and it needs a lot of repairs to get it up to par. You definitely do not get what you pay for. Also, based on the two rooms we saw there is a very serious mold problem that needs to be addressed. Better insect control would also be a bonus!

My advice would be to look for another hotel in the area. Koh Chang is absolutely beautiful and we saw a lot of great places on the drive to ours.

Good luck and happy hotel hunting!
Ryan & Mel

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Klong Prao Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klong Prao Resort

Address: 21/1 Moo 4, Tambol Koh Chang, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Klong Prao Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Klong Prao Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Klong Prao Hotel Koh Chang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Klong Prao Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.