We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort is a good choice to choose” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort to your Saves list
Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   26/3 Moo 4 Klong Prao Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand (Formerly Koh Chang Tropicana Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 71 Hotels in Ko Chang
Bangkok, Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
“Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort is a good choice to choose”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

we stayed at Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort for two nights and the quality was excelent.
it also had two pools a restarnut a beach and loads of rooms to live in Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort. choose to live in this resort it also gives you tea for free in the beggning.
Choose Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pius L, General Manager at Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Aryaman S

Warmest greetings from Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort.

Many thanks for having chosen our resort for your recent stay in Koh Chang and for your nice comments about our resort.

Hopefully, we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back at Centara Koh Chang in the near future.

Best regards
Pius M. Luechinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    41
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
40
57
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed in Centara in room 4102 in the 3rd week of December, The weather was fabulous and the room quite cozy,
The area was very nice and calm and beautifully windy - a welcome change from the heat of bangkok.

The rooms were clean and the room service was quick to a degree though there was a degree of confusion when we asked the room service to change our electric kettle (Was dusty and leftover water from before)

The restaurant was brilliant but there could be more Vegetarian choices. The chef did accomodate our request for a vegetarian pizza but we ended up with a pizza which included steamed broccoli and cauliflower(not something we had seen before)

The live music duo in the evenings were my favorite part!! I would come for the music and my husband for the serene calmness.

The biggest complaint we had - the wooden floor was super duper creaky and would make noise everytime with every step we took. Ours was also a connectED room so we could hear the guests next door.. also the room could have been brighter and the decor was slightly falling apart.

Room Tip: Choose a room closer to the beach. Though this is also a brisk walk away. in the middle of trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pius L, General Manager at Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Richa B

Warmest greetings from Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort.

Many thanks for having chosen our resort for your recent stay in Koh Chang and many thanks also for your constructive feedback.

We are very pleased to hear that we could provide you a lovely resort for your holidays with lush greenery, a beautiful atmosphere and a nice and cozy Room.

Especially we thank for your compliments regarding the clean room, our room service, our brilliant restaurant and our Musician at Sea Breeze.

Kindly accept the shortfall of service you experienced with our housekeeping. The kettle in the room indeed should have been changed. We have noted also your comments regarding the wooden floor in your room. We plan the change the floor in this room very soon but have to wait until the festive season is over as we are running full house. We hope this little inconvenience did not disturb you from enjoying your holidays with us.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future and to show you the improvements we made.

Best regards
Pius M. Luechinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden-Baden, Germany
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Overall staying at the Centara Tropicana Resort in Koh Chang was a pleasant experience. The rooms (actually we had a cabin) were clean and reasonably appointed with safe, flatscreen TV and DVD. No smoking but a porch / balcony one could use.
The resort is in a lush, immaculately maintained tropical garden with an abundance of green, ponds and fishes. The seaside restaurant / bar is nice as well as the pools. The resort is located directly on the beach with a pleasant view.The breakfast was good although not terrific.
Clearly a pro was the friendliness and attentiveness of the staff, even for Thailand remarkable and free, stable WiFi throughout hotel premises.
Cons: The shower in the bathroom (both shower and tub) is almost unusable. What a 180 degree fixure is good for excapes me (good for splashing water in your face but not much more). Also, the water is either freaking hot or freaking cold; whenever adjusted it immediately changes. There is an insufficient number of usable power outlets in the room and most of them are switched, means lights must be on in order to have laptop or cellphone charger power.
Third, and this I've found the worst: There is a clear hotel policy that poolside and beachside deckchairs are first-come-first-serve - as it should be. That policy is however not enforced and some staff appareantly had to face complaints when politely pointing out that such thing is not permitted. Since the hotel actually seems to have an abundance of German and Russian guests who " reserve" their deckchairs before 9am and before going to breakfast or into town, two thirds of the deckchairs (which may not be moved since made from wood and heavy) are unoccupied but " reserved".
Although management is German they must realize that German retirees are not the navel of the world, since such facts tend to annoy other guests. And before someone accuses me of anti-German prejudices: I am a German national-doesn't mean that I have to approve of certain bad habits.
Other than that, a pleasant and well appointed resort with efficient and thouroughly polite staff.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pius L, General Manager at Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Jens R

Warmest greetings from Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort.

Many thanks for having chosen our resort for your recent stay in Koh Chang and for your constructive feedback we have received from you.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you were very pleased with your room (a Cabana Room), our well maintained tropical garden, our seaside Restaurant and Bar and our nice Pools. Especially we appreciate your comments towards our friendly staff.

We have noted your comments regarding the shower in room and the water pressure. Kindly accept our apology for the inconvenience this may have caused to you. We will have a look into this. We are at the process of adding additional power sockets to our Cabana rooms as nowadays people bring a lot of electric gadgets with them (at our Superior and Deluxe Rooms: it been done already).

Regarding the reservation of the long chairs at the beach, this is in issue we are looking into it but we have not found the best solution yet. However, we make sure that we have at all time enough long chairs available for our guests, maybe not at the preferred location, but for sure around the various location at our Beach.

Once again, many thanks for your constructive feedback. Hopefully we will have to pleasure of welcoming you back soon at Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort.

best regards
Pius M. Luechinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in a Deluxe premier cabana, cost an average of $180 per night including breakfast for 2 adtls and 2 kids.

This resort is for families! And it is fantastic. Only two complaints:
1- the light inside the room is very low.
2- the hotel (and similarly the rest of the hotels nearby) is like at least 2km walking from to the road. So it was really difficult to walk during the day from our room to the street outside. The hotel needs to seriously look to invest into a golf cart, mini car, tuk tuk, horse carriage or any wheels to transport guests from the lobby to street.

Other than that the resort is absolutely beautiful, leash gardens, and well looked after. Room is nice. Splash pool is great, kids loved the water slides, I enjoyed the jacuzzi. The beach is nice, enough sun beds. The water is not of the highest quality on klong prao, but it is definitely quieter and well suited to families.

Breakfast is OK. Above average but not fantastic... However, lovely ambiance and loved having my coffee on the beach.

We had BBQ buffet which was OK...not excellent, the steak/beef were not that great.

We kayaked to the nearby island and it was lovely.

Overall, I love koh Chang and I'm glad we picked Centara. It was a fantastic family holiday. I just hope the hotel will offer some sort of transport from the lobby to the street.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pius L, General Manager at Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear AdamCath

Warmest greetings from Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort.

Many thanks for having chosen our resort for your recent stay in Koh Chang and for your constructive feedback.

We are very pleased to hear that we could provide you a perfect family holiday and that you consider our hotel very beautiful and that your kids adored the water slides at our Splash Pool.

We have noted your comments regarding the light in the rooms (Cabanas) where the light is a little bit low and we are looking into the options of adding a reading light. Walking to the mian street does not take more than 4-5 minutes.

Once again, many thanks for your feedback. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

best regards
Pius M. Luechinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 4nights in december 2014 in a Deluxe room. When arriving (at night) after a 14 hour trip from Phnom Penh we were pleasantly surprised with Centara Tropicana. Our room (1208) was good, though very remote from everything, as the resort is quite large. (Centrally located between the major island beaches - a good basis to explore the island)

The next morning we walked the resort to get to breakfast. Beautiful gardens with rooms all spread out (made us wonder why they offered room in the back, while 50% of nicer rooms were obviously vacant. Our room only had warm water to shower during last day...) Wifi throughout resort is crappy and intermittent at best.

Breakfast is ok, enough choice, though quality of what is offered is so-so. In this price range i have had much better in Asia. Staff is very friendly and helpful, service levels are very good.

Dinner at the resort was ok, though quite pricy. You can have a better dinner for 1/3 of price 3 minutes walk outside the resort. Evening entertainment is nice, wide variety of drinks in a nice ambiance.

If you plan to stay here, be sure to book a (centrally located) Cabana on the resort and be sure to mention if hot water is not working, as it can work - we discovered on last day:)

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pius L, General Manager at Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Michiel V

Warmest greetings from Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort. Many thanks for having chosen our resort for your recent stay in Koh Chang.

We are pleased to hear that you were pleasantly surprised with Centara Koh Chang Tropicana upon your arrival from a long trip. With over 65,000sqm of greenery, our hotel grounds are indeed quite large. Kindly note that you booked a Deluxe Rooms. Deluxe Rooms and Superior Rooms are located in the Garden Wing, within a short walk to the Beach, while our Cabanas are located in front of the Garden Wing and are located closer to the Beach.

We apologize for the shortfall of hot water you experienced. Our water is heated at 60C but due to the location of certain rooms, the water can sometimes drops a few degrees or may take a lit bit longer until the hot water is running fully. We provide free WiFi throughout the resort and we just have changed our WiFi connection at the resort to fiber optic cable. However, this is an Island and unfortunately, internet connection is not always as good as on the mainland.

We believe that we offer reasonable prices in our Restaurants and Bars. Indeed, you can eat cheaper outside of the resort, but we make sure that we treat also our staff fairly, paying vacation and weekly day off, health insurance, accommodation etc not to mention the various health checks we are doing to guarantee a safe experience to our guests.

Nevertheless, we thank you very much for your constructive feedback which helps us where we can further improve our service and guest expectations.

Hopefully, we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back at Centara Koh Chang Tropicana during your next visit to to Koh Chang.

best regards
Pius M. Luechinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundsvall
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Klong prao beach was the area on Koh Chang we liked the least. The condition of the beach was not good when me and my family were there. The water level was very high and the beach was a bit like a sewer, not nice. The beach strip in front of Tropicana had a lot of coral splitter and I hurt my foot a little bit when walking the beach.

The resort has a nice pool area, great staff and service level. Breakfast at the resort was very good. The fitness room was also very good and far better than KC grandes. The wi-fi on the resort wasn't very good. Slow connection and kicked out very often. The resort is a little bit to big for my taste, we had a room near the splash pool and it was a little walk to get to the beach area. The room was big and suited our family with two adults and two children(3 and 6 years). The children visited the kids club a couple of times and liked it there.

We ate one night at the restaurant and none of us vere impressed. Pizza was prefabricated and my t-bone steak wasn't very good, tasteless and not very tender. For pizza go to Pilot bar at the other side of the Klong.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pius L, General Manager at Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear MackanSundsvall

Warmest greetings from Centara Koh Chang.

Many thanks for having chosen our resort for recent stay in Koh Chang. We are very pleased to hear that you consider us a Great Resort.

We especially appreciate your comments regarding our nice pool area, our great staff, our good breakfast and our good fitness center. Happy also to hear that your children enjoyed our Kids Club. Our resort with over 65,000sqm of tropical garden is indeed not small. Walking distance from our Garden Wing (Superior and Deluxe Rooms are located in the Garden Wing) to the reception and Fitness/Spa area is short but may take 3-4 minutes walking to reach the Restaurant, the Beach or the Sea Breeze Pool. We suggest that if you look for something closer to the beach, our Cabanas are the best options.

Regarding our location, kindly note that most people consider Klong Prao beach as one of the best beach in Koh Chang. There are some corals, wearing some shoes always help.

We thank you again for sharing your experience and looking forward of welcoming you back again in the near future.

best regards
Pius M. Luechinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The Centara Tropicana is in a nice quiet location. The service is good in most areas however housekeeping was a bit lax. The food is reasonable & good for all meals in all locations. The beach in front of the hotel is poor.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pius L, General Manager at Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Kraminator888

Warmest greetings from Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort.

Many thanks for having our chosen our resort for your recent stay in Koh Chang. We are very pleased to hear that you could spend a quiet and relaxed stay with us. We are also very pleased to hear that you appreciated our good service and that you consider our food we offer at reasonable prices and of good quality.

We have noted your comments that you considered our housekeeping service a bit lax and will look into it how we further can improve it. Klong Prao, where we are located, is considered to have one of the best beach of Koh Chang. As this area is also part of the National Park, we are not allowed to remove corals on our beach.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at Centara Koh Chang Tropicana again in the near future.

Best regards
Pius M. Luechinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort

Address: 26/3 Moo 4 Klong Prao Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand (Formerly Koh Chang Tropicana Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Ko Chang
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ko Chang
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the inviting sands of Klong Praow Beach, Koh Chang, The 4-star Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort appoints a unique tropical design inspired by the fine mixture of green tropical landscape, white powder sand beach and crystal clear sea of this ideal location. Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort has been welcoming visitors from all over the world with heartfelt services, complete guest services, perfect bedroom amenities, plenty of activities and fresh seafood dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking and Tingo so you can book your Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Chang Tropicana Resort And Spa
Koh Chang Tropicana Hotel Koh Chang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.