We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good beach holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort to your Saves list
Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   26/3 Moo 4 Klong Prao Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand (Formerly Koh Chang Tropicana Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 71 Hotels in Ko Chang
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good beach holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights in between Bangkok and Hanoi visits, so really enjoyed getting away from city life.

The resort was right on the beach, which was lovely. The room was good, bathroom great and free wifi very fast. Breakfast was average, but lots of choice.

Can recommend Tonsai restaurant in the village - we ate here 3 evenings and loved it. Also ate in the Pilot Bar right on the beach, which was good.

My partner did a one-day Thai cookery course at the Blue Lagoon, which is a 5 min walk from Tropicana - recommended.

We also got the baht bus along to Lonely Beach for the day, This is a more lively, backpackers' type place - worth a visit for a change of scene.

Overall, we had a great time despite it being the start of the rainy season and there being a few intense thunderstorms/downpours. Feels quite unspoilt/untouristy still. Beautiful island.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pius L, General Manager at Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Sarah F

Warm greetings from Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort.

On behalf of the entire team, we would like to thank you for taking your valuable time to share your experience with us.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Especially many thanks for your complimenting our lovely beach, our room, our bathroom and the various choices we offer for Breakfast.

Despite we entered rainy season, the sun is still shining mostly daily and the rain is not daily and mostly only just for a short time.

We look forward of having the pleasure to welcoming you back at Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort in the near future.

Best regard
Pius M. Luechinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    34
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
36
46
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Though my stay was short (2 nights) it was a really relaxing experience and it didn't take me long to have that real holiday feeling. The hotel is set in wonderfull gardens, which gives every bungalow really a lot of privacy. For those that want there are a lot of activities from morning yoga on the beach to Muay Thai lessons; or you can just chill out at the nice and very long beach or go for a walk. I didn't try but they also have canoes available and a big kids' centre. The service is good and the food is nice, above all, it is really good value for money. When I booked I didn't expect to get such a quality for this kind of price! To me the perfect getaway from bustling Bangkok

Room Tip: The bungalows are really worth their price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pius L, General Manager at Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Stylishnomad

Warm greetings from Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort.

On behalf of the entire team, we would like to thank you for taking your valuable time to share your experience with us.

We are very pleased to hear that you felt so relaxed in our resort and that you get so fast into your holiday mood. Indeed our big tropical garden with over 65,000sqm helps to enjoy your holiday at its best. Our daily complimentary Yoga on the beach is definitely a good way of starting any days or just to chill on our nice beach or at one of our Swimming Pools and enjoy the stunning sunset.

We look forward of welcoming you back at Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort for another perfect getaway from bustling Bangkok.

Best regards
Pius M. Luechinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We recently had a great vacation at Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort. We really loved the Resort: great Location right next to the long beach, good architecture of the Hotel nicely surrounded by beautiful landscape. The Food in the Restaurant was really good and all over the Hotel very friendly and helpful Service. We had a great time and really can recommend the Hotel.

Room Tip: beachside rooms are really lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pius L, General Manager at Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Elly5

Warm greetings from Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort.

On behalf of the entire team, we would like to thank you for taking a few moments of your valuable time to complete so share your experience with us.

We are very happy to hear that you have fully enjoyed your stay with us at the Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort. Your very positive comment on our performance has been well received by all of us. Our resort has indeed one of the best beaches on Koh Chang and our huge garden (over 65,000sqm) provides the perfect setting for a memorable stay.

We look forward of welcoming you back at Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort in the near future.

Best regards
Pius M. Luechinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

A beautiful resort. Extremely friendly staff who go out of their way to accommodate you. Clean, modern, spacious rooms with MASSIVE comfortable beds. 2 amazing pools with water slide and pool bar. So relaxing being able to sit around the pool on beautiful sun loungers or comfy cushions, or even the pool bar, watching the kids having fun and then joining in! The sunset cocktail bar is pure heaven! Happy hour is just as the sun sets so its even more perfect, sitting on the beach bean bags sipping 2 cocktails for the price of 1! The Sea Breeze restaurant has a varied menu for very reasonable prices. There is the option of gaining some 'free money' which we did and makes it worth while eating and drinking in the resort. No need to leave! We ate outside of the resort once at lunchtime and once at dinner but nowhere was as nice as the resort. The entertainment was amazing and we spent every evening listening to the lovely singers who even let us join in! Breakfast buffet was DELICIOUS! Lots of variety so everyone in our party was happy from the 2 year old to the 70 year old! Free yoga on the beach every morning. I didn;t want to leave and will definitely be going back again. Thanks Centara! :)

Room Tip: We had the standard room and it was more than spacious. We were also right next to the kids pool whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pius L, General Manager at Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Deborah E

Warm greetings from Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort.

On behalf of the entire team, we would like to thank you for taking your valuable time to share your experience with us.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We especially appreciate your comments regarding our clean, modern and spacious rooms with comfortable beds, our 2 amazing pools (one with a water slide and a pool bar) and our Sunset Bar.

Indeed, our prices in the restaurant and bars are not that much higher than at local restaurants outside the resort, especially if you take advantage of our Bonanza offer. The Yoga on the beach is definitely a good way of starting any days.

Once again, many thanks for sharing your stay. We look forward of welcoming you to back at Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort in the near future.

Best regard
Pius M. Luechinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed with my family during May 10-13, 2014
pros;
- reasonable price and spacious room (we stayed in the premium deluxe cabana).
- friendly staff
- breakfast was good with varieties. personally liked the banana pancakes. but food replenishment was slower after 9 AM.

cons;
- white sand beach but there is a dirty canal nearby the hotel beach which leaks dirty water pass hotel beach.
- poor welcoming and luggage handling during check in. I understand that it was during the peak holiday period but the hotel should have prepared better.
- air con in our room wasn't cold during daytime and bedside lamp wasn't working. Could have called for maintenance but staff should have checked everything is in well working order before allow guests in the room.
- bed mattress was no the hard side and the pillows were too high (thick).

tips: for a little over usd100, premium deluxe cabana including breakfast is a really good deal. don't bother paying more with the "sea view" price since the sea view bungalows are not directly connected to the beach but is next to the pool and the seaside restaurant.

Room Tip: for a little over usd100, premium deluxe cabana including breakfast is a really good deal. don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pius L, General Manager at Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Wate49

Warm greetings from Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort.

On behalf of the entire team, we would like to thank you for taking your valuable time to share your experience with us.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We thank you also very much for your comments about our Premium Deluxe Cabana, which are indeed reasonable priced and spacious, many thanks also for your compliments for our Breakfast buffet and our friendly staff.
Please accept our shortfall of service you experienced with the slow replenishment of the buffet after 9:00am and the poor welcoming/luggage handling during your check in.

The issue with the air-condition and the bedside lamp not working should indeed not have happened. We will analyze what went wrong and will take measure to avoid any future problems.

The canal next to our resort does not leak dirty water to the sea. The water comes down from the mountains and during low tides; the water cannot reach the sea. Some plants in the water develop sometimes a kind of smell. However, the local authorities already looking into this matter and will be solved shortly.

Once again, many thanks for sharing your experience with us. We look forward of having the pleasure to welcoming you to back at Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort in the near future.

Best regard
Pius M. Luechinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

This is the first time we are in a Centara, and we are not disappointed!

We stayed in a premium cabana for 3 nights, the interior was great: you feel the Thainess. Staff were friendly and knew what they were doing - that wasn't always the case in Thai resorts. Both of us enjoyed the spa very much. The large garden was really lush and tropical, it made the heat more bearable. We loved the strolls on the beach, the resort has a great location. I think 3 nights is a little too short, not enough time to enjoy all the facilities. We would like to come back for a minimum of 5 nights next time, to be totally unwind.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pius L, General Manager at Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear TYT535

Many thanks for your positive review. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort.

We are very happy to hear that your enjoyed our Cabana Room. Our Cabana Rooms give you this special “Thainess” feeling together with its tropical look. Also we appreciate your comments on our friendly staff and that you enjoyed your treatment at our Cenvaree Spa.

One of the highlight of our resort is indeed the huge tropical garden. With over 65,000sqm (43 rai) of lush greenery, our guest can enjoy nature at its best.

We are looking forward of welcoming you back again, hopefully for a longer stay next time.

Best regards

Pius M. Luechinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We were at the hotel for 7 nights and had the best time! The rooms were spacious and clean and the beds were comfortable. Very nice beach and excellent service. Service staff was very attentive and helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them. Superb breakfast buffet and the restaurants also did good food in the evenings as well as snacks in the daytime. Room service was very nice as well. The spa in the hotel was heavenly. Definitely recommend this hotel and would love to go back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pius L, General Manager at Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Tanya M

Many thanks for your positive review. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort.

Your positive comments on our spacious rooms with the comfortable beds, the nice beach and the excellent service facilities have been well received by all of us. We are also very happy to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast buffet, the restaurant and our Cenvaree Spa.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at anytime in the future!

Best Regards
Pius M. Luechinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort

Address: 26/3 Moo 4 Klong Prao Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand (Formerly Koh Chang Tropicana Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Ko Chang
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ko Chang
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the inviting sands of Klong Praow Beach, Koh Chang, The 4-star Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort appoints a unique tropical design inspired by the fine mixture of green tropical landscape, white powder sand beach and crystal clear sea of this ideal location. Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort has been welcoming visitors from all over the world with heartfelt services, complete guest services, perfect bedroom amenities, plenty of activities and fresh seafood dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking and Tingo so you can book your Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Chang Tropicana Resort And Spa
Koh Chang Tropicana Hotel Koh Chang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.