We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning and serene surroundings; Not perfect, but would stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barali Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Barali Beach Resort to your Saves list
Barali Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   77 Moo 4 | Klong Prao Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 71 Hotels in Ko Chang
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Stunning and serene surroundings; Not perfect, but would stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Barali Beach resort is located on an amazing stretch of beach - wide and long with plenty of space to feel like you have a private little paradise. The water is crystal clear. Although it isn't really secluded it feels that way.The beach is shallow and therefore very good for children to splash and play. If you want to have a good swim, you will have to venture out quite far from the beach. The beach & pool chairs are comfortable and there were plenty to go around - however, the hotel seemed quite under capacity when we were there. There are hawkers that wander up and down the beach, but with all of the available space, they do not venture too near you, unless you express interest in their wares. The pool itself is small but nice, but could use some refurbishment. There are a few missing tiles. The grounds and views are truly beautiful and well kept...traditional thai hut structures make up the whole of the resort and while each one is near another, the lay out allows for privacy. The view from the beach, pool, and restaurants offer miles of ocean, a touch of harbour, and a glimpse at an island across the water way. The rooms are nicely decorated, clean and well equipped (i.e., flat screen TV, fridge, hairdryer, closet/storage, and even a chaise lounge by the window). The bed was incredibly comfortable, water temperature and pressure was very good, and were far enough away from nearby hotels to be quiet and relaxing. The bathroom is beautiful - with an open air feel, but still private and enclosed. There is some wear and tear, so if you look closely you will some some build up of time and use. If you aren't looking for immaculate modernity or luxury or, you'll be fine. The staff were helpful, but language barriers were an issue at times. Breakfast was okay though the coffee was pretty horrid - amazing morning views though. Dinner in the beach front restaurant was excellent with a great selection of food and drinks. A short walk down the road you will find options for laundry, room and beach snacks, and other meal options (good for lunch as the hotel restaurant was far more expensive). I would stay again and definitely recommend it, if the prices remain reasonable.

Room Tip: Few rooms are actually on the beach with a seaview - and these cost a pretty penny. The other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    27
    12
    8
    3
See reviews for
16
42
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed at Barali in December 2013, which was our fifth stay at the resort. Our stay in December 2013 was the first with our children and I would say that in hindsight Barali is not a family friendly resort but you put up with it because it is on the best stretch of beach on Koh Chang and it has vast stretches of shallow water appropriate for children. We had booked via kohchang.com and requested a family room four four with two children aged 5 and 2. We had stayed at Barali many times before with irksome problems from time to time, but we had problems from the moment we arrived. We arrived at 4pm, tired and hungry, with two equally tired and hungry young children in tow and a ton of luggage. We had requested a room appropriate for a young family with a sea view. The villa we were given was up two flights of steep concrete steps with a balcony and a steep drop to the earth below. There was no cot in our room, no single bed for our five year old and no sea view. We tried to negotiate with the person who showed us to her room but as is the case with Thai people, they treat any feedback with a smile and few words, rather than trying to sort problems out. We tried to explain that the room was inappropriate on a number of levels because of our young family and said we had asked for a sea view room for a family, but were told that as we hadn't booked the room directly with them they were not responsible for not having the room prepared for a family and that we should take up any issue with the intermediary. We were told that many people share a bed with their children so why couldn't our children share our bed with us?! This was totally illogical (and inappropriate, given the high price we had paid for the room) and the hotel just pushed back everything on us, in order to save face. They refuse to take on board constructive feedback and sort out customer problems, but if they made a little more effort could have much better tripadvisor reviews.

They showed us another room next to it, which was quite a way back from the front of the resort and no where near the beach and we said we still weren't happy with it. We weren't being given what we had paid a princely sum for and the hotel was refusing to do anything about it, even though the member of staff said that the resort was only at about 25% capacity, with a large number of free villas remaining. We asked if we could upgrade to a sea view suite so that we would have more room but were told we could have this if we paid another £50 a night. Having already paid around £110 a night, we felt like we were being bled dry, so refused and agreed to stay in the second villa they offered us until a better one could be offered, because by now it was 5pm and the mosquitoes were out in full force.

The next morning my partner went to speak to the manager who, in perfect English, threw everything back on us and said that they were not aware that our booking was for a family and that we should take up the fact that we were not happy with our room with the intermediary. She also said that as our room was not a family room and they were only expecting two adults, they were going to charge us for a cot and for towels for the children! This was just ludicrous.

We eventually got moved to a villa we had stayed in many times before. We met a housekeeper who remembered us from previous stays who kindly agreed to give our children towels and we felt like we'd recouped some of our basic rights back.

Breakast
There is a wide variety of breakfast items to choose from (bacon, eggs, cereals, fresh fruit, ham, cheese, Thai bread - sugared, not like UK bread) but when it comes down to it, the quality of some of the items is poor (the coffee is like paint stripper and you need a hundred cups of it to get a hit of caffeine, the bread is awful and some of the rolls you could hit on the breakfast bar and they would bounce) and most of the stuff you just wouldn't eat (e.g. cauliflower in butter, peas in tomato sauce were on the menu for several mornings). You just have to find your way around the food issue and be very selective.

Cleanliness of public areas
In the toilet below the pool, one of the taps was broken so couldn't be used, and there was a leak which meant that the toilet floor was flooded daily. My 2 year old and I had several slips and falls as a result. In addition, the toilet wastepaper basket was overflowing with used toilet paper, which was not pleasant.

Wifi
Wifi is extortionately expensive and not free as standard. As a result most guests at the hotel knew that they could get free wifi by simply walking out of the hotel and walking 10 metres to the right or left, where you could get free wifi in every restaurant and bar. The hotel needs to change this outdated policy because I bet they don't get much demand for use of their wifi.

Swimming pool bar
We were at the hotel for 8 days before the swimming pool bar was opened. And even then, a few bottles of alcohol were put behind the bar, but no one was manning it. No-one came by in the whole time we stayed at the hotel to ask if we wanted a drink. We were happy to walk to the beach front bar to get a drink, but it would have been nice to have the option of having someone ask us.

Hotel manager
One morning at breakfast we watched an amazing guy shimmy up a coconut palm without support or harness and hack away at the dead branches. The manager was watching him work and I called down to her from the breakfast bar to say it was amazing to watch him do this job so deftly. She looked back at me, gestured by rubbing her thumb and forefinger together and said, 'you want to pay to watch?'. I was utterly dumbfounded. It just made me feel like the hotel was going to find yet another way of getting cash out of its clientèle. I simply felt like we were cash cows to be milked in any possible way.

Cost of clothes washing
The hotel offers a clothes washing service, as do most hotels in Thailand. However, the cost was again extortionate, with individual items costing several pounds to wash and not even iron. If you walk out of the hotel there is an abundance of shops offering washing for 20 - 40 baht a kilogram, whereas one item washed at the hotel can cost a few hundred baht. I am very pleased to pay a sensible amount of money for a service in Thailand and do not believe that things should cost rock bottom prices, but again, the hotel is just trying to milk its clientele dry at every point, for every possible service.

Pool
The pool is not appropriate for young children unless they can swim, but the beach is a stone's throw from the pool and is very shallow, so fine for children.

Room Tip: If you have children under four request that you are not given a villa with steps up to it. We have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Datchet, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed at the Barali for 6 nights and enjoyed our stay very much. The staff are all friendly and helpful. The rooms are large and comfortable. The only fault really was the shower pressure but it was enough (Deluxe room). The beach at this location is very quiet. The pool is also lovely. Breakfast was good with plenty of options for all nationalities, very nice first thing in the morning to sit overlooking the beach. Would definitely stay there again. We did not eat there other than breakfast so I cannot comment on the food.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Having been to Thailand 5 times and stayed in many Hotels/Resorts (we always travel around) the Barali was my best experience yet. Alot of the hotels have scored 10/10 in some aspects but have been a let down in other ways. The Barali was a 9+/10 across the board. Would I go back? Try and stop me!

Room Tip: This is a small resort with only 40 Villa's so all are near to the beach, Yes a beach front vill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We arrived in Koh Chang by rental car, having been here a few years earlier we had a good idea of where to find the best beach and able to check out a few places before deciding where to spend the last week of a 5 week vacation. We have now stayed in 4 different resorts on the Island and visited dozens more and this is by far the best value for money. The bungalows are great and the staff are simply the best. Since the Russian tourist invasion the Thai staff at most resorts appear to have lost their smiles but not at the Barali. The buffet breakfast was very good but we didn't try the restaurant for evening meals since we prefer to go out for meals. For us, the beach was great and probably the cleanest stretch on Klong Prao so don't really understand the earlier negative comments unless they have made changes since.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a week. We had a lovely beachfront bungalow which we could not complain about. Unfortunately we arrived before NY eve so were subjected to a compulsory gala dinner. $3,500 baht per person is a total rip off, especially when it only includes one cocktail. Food served on the night was terrible & cold.
We had dinner one other night at the resort but were not impressed so ate in town all other days, much better food, value & fun.
It is apalling that WiFi is also an additional cost.
All in all, we loved the accomodation, the quietness of the location but not much else.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pathum Thani
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The Barali Resort is right at the beach, but beach fans do not enjoy the concrete walls and rocks hidden under the water. All of Klong Prao has decent spots for swimming and water fun, the Barali is lacking these. You have to venture to neighboring resorts to really enjoy the beach. Get your act up Barali and remove concrete fortifications from the shoreline.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Barali Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barali Beach Resort

Address: 77 Moo 4 | Klong Prao Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barali Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Barali Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barali Beach Hotel Koh Chang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barali Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.