We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A green oasis at White sand beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Banpu Koh Chang Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Banpu Koh Chang Resort to your Saves list
Banpu Koh Chang Resort
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   9/11 Moo 4 | White Sand Beach, Ko Chang 23120, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 89 Ko Chang B&B and Inns
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A green oasis at White sand beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This hotel is nicely laid out with lots of trees, flowers, and greenery in between the wooden bungalows and other buildings. The view from the pool area over the sea with the amazing sunsets is nothing but great. On the south end of the White sand beach I could not spot a more cozy place to stay. The service is also excellent with very helpful staff and a restaurant that serves delicious food. We did have a very nice time and the place definately has the potential to be an excellent resort. Unfortunately, the overbooking problems that previous reviewers have mentioned forced us to move from a fantastic seaview bungalow to a the bunker-style family room for the final four days. And the lenghty mail and phone conversations we had to go through before our stay lowers the rating. A few minor things that also affected our overall experience; the mandatory new years dinner was a bit too expensive for what you got, and the beach is actually a bit better at the north end of White sand beach. Nevertheless, if the hotel can handle the bookings better I think that this is one of the best places at White sand beach.

Room Tip: Go for a seaview bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    46
    17
    7
    4
See reviews for
18
29
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Freistadt, Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

On our 3 week trip through Thailand as a couple we planned to stay one week on Koh Chang. Although we planned to travel rather cheap and to stay in Guesthouses instead of fancy resorts we decided to add something special to our trip. We wanted to stay at a real cool beach bungalow for 3 nights and so we did not care much about the price. For 3 nights we payed 13.500 baht (6.750 in advance).

So far so good - after we arrived at the Banpu we had the first disappointing expierience. Instead of getting one of the beachfront bungalows we were assigned to the only one in the back of the garden with almost no beach view and a really bad interior design. The linens were dirty and ripped. The towels were clean - but also ripped and really old. This would have been still acceptable since we are not used to high comfort resorts, but still very disappointing for the high price. The real shock was the moldy, unbearable, terrible smell in the whole bungalow.

We immediatly wanted to change the room but the very unfriendly staffperson told us that this was not possible since the resort was fully booked.

On the next day we were still really disappointed so we were happy as hell after one of the staffpersons told us that we could move to one of the beachfront bungalows. But it only got worse. The smell was indeed as bad a as in the first room (if not worse). During the night we found a bloodstench on the linen which was not caused by us and at last the aircondition broke down. It was not a malfunction - it really broke down and lost about 4 liters of water.

After all we slept 4 hours on the balcony and were bitten by mosquitos all over. On the next day we checked out one night earlier and i had to discuss with the manager via phone because i refused to pay for the last night.

So: STAY AWAY!!!

Room Tip: Stay away especially from Room 200!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I stayed at Banpu Koh Chang for 5 days in November 2012...........it is in a great location, right on the beach; the staff were friendly and helpful, food was pretty good, lovely fresh papaya on the breakfast buffet every day..........I had an upstairs room in the main block and the room was a little bit dull and quite warm (the air-con was not very efficient) that has kept my review to 4 stars, I think that one of the bungalows would be preferable

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This resort is the perfect place to stay in Koh Chang as it is located in the center of the "city" with every service supply within short distance. The resort is a tropical garden containing bungalows and a pool down to the beach. At the beach you can relax in the chairs while having drinks an food if you do not prefer to enjoy the waves and the sea. Walking up the beach is a beautiful experience. The rooms are nice with verandas and there is a good breakfast. Staff is frienly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed at the Banpu and it was a very comfortable place to stay. For about $50 (Australian dollars) per night we were provided with a motel type room which was more than adequate for our stay. Breakfast was included in this price. The staff were very friendly and we met some great people who also stayed at the hotel. The grounds are lush and tropical and the pool was great. It's position right on the beach front was perfect for those lazy afternoons lying back on the lounges enjoying a cold drink. We are returning next year and will be staying at Banpu.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockholm
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

The staff met us daily with a smile. The hotel restaurant with a wonderful view had great thai food and the suite was clean and comfortable. Walking up and down white sands my husband and I could easily see how Banpu differentiated itself with its unique beach location, personal style and the whole facility is a beautiful. garden. Way to expensive wifi (this is general for all hotels at white sands). Wierd because closeby restaurants has free wifi if you buy a drink.

Room Tip: make sure to book as close to the beach as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We booked this hotel because it look nice and had good reviews. At arrival the reception did not find our booking. She/he tryed to give us a familyroom with 7 beds and no windows. (If you are planing to go to Ko Chang with a big family, stay away from this room/hotel.) We got the room we booked two out of three days we stayed there. That room was ok, but it started to look old. The food is ok, exept that we got foodpoison from it. General the hotel was OK, but it starting to look old and it is over priced if you compare it with other hotels at Ko Chang. The receptionist is a impolite and unfriendly person, that should consider a other work.

Room Tip: Book a room on the top floor or you will have bugs on the floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banpu Koh Chang Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banpu Koh Chang Resort

Address: 9/11 Moo 4 | White Sand Beach, Ko Chang 23120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banpu Koh Chang Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Banpu Koh Chang Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banpu Koh Chang Hotel Koh Chang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banpu Koh Chang Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.