We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience! Very romantic and relaxing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Emerald Cove Koh Chang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Emerald Cove Koh Chang to your Saves list
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   88 / 8 Moo 4, Tambol Koh Chang | Amphur, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand (Formerly Amari Emerald Cove Koh Chang)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save an Extra 15% Now!
Ranked #3 of 71 Hotels in Ko Chang
Lviv, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Amazing experience! Very romantic and relaxing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Stayed here with my boyfriend for 7 nights and loved every minute of it. Very gay friendly, although the entire country is gay friendly. Beautiful rooms, great views, amazing service!!! We were also upgraded a room free of charge, I was given a birthday cake for breakfast and they accommodated for a beautiful bouquet of flowers for me ;)
Beach or pool, you choose! Both have everything set up for a comfortable and relaxing stay.
Also visited they SPA center for a 3 hour treatment, priceless!!!
Thank you to all of the staff for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies, sea view offers sunset and the mountain view is also very good and very co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    153
    46
    10
    7
See reviews for
140
285
21
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pattaya, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Very nice hotel with a very good breakfast.The pool is 50 meter long and the hotel have a private beach.Staff is very friendly.You can park your car in front of the hotel.Free news paper in the morning

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We arrived at the Amari after 3 days in busy and noisy Bangkok and immediately loved the peaceful and quiet atmosphere of the Amari. Beautiful lighting in the evening, lovely beach and wonderful large pool. The rooms were clean and spacious and we especially enjoyed the option of a quiet ceiling fan rather than having to use the air-conditioning all night (which is available in the room).
The hotel does not offer a pick up service to and from the airport, but it is no trouble at all to arrange your return ticket at the airport (just don't forget to budget in additional 800 Baht). You are taken in an air conditioned mini bus to the front door.
Be mindful when you travel with young children, some main walkways are surrounded by water and have no safety rails. There is a lovely children's pool area which looked great fun for the entire family.
The hotel also offers romantic candlelight dinners for 2 at the beach at special request.
Breakfast offered great buffet choices for all ages and nationalities.
If you don't wish to eat at the hotel, there are plenty of restaurant choices nearby.
I certainly would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We booked the hotel from hotel.com because ranking in trip advisor was very good.
But disappointed!
Amenities in the room is not good especially bed & pillow very low grade!
Breakfast like rural 3 star hotel. No mini bar available only on request.
Air conditioner and TV very old. Room not clean.
Swimming pool was dirty and limit only one pool towel per person!
Car park far from the hotel and not pick up service event raining.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at The Emerald Cove Koh Chang, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Chokdeebangkok, thank you very much for taking the time to post once more your experience, after your comment has on first stage been taken out from TripAdvisor already.

At Amari, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore any feedback is very important to us.

Please rest assured that we have deeply checked your feedback together with the team, because it was for us very important to address your concerns.
As for example our car park is directly on hotel side and our hotel rooms are newly set up with 40 inch flat screen TV’s - as well our pool is at any time well maintained, we were very surprised about this feedback but as well anxious to improve further.

Thank you again for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu, China
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I had looked forward to visiting the Amari for many years and finally went there in September/October and generally liked the place. Our room was a grand deluxe ocean facing suite which as you could imagine, had nice ocean views over the pool. The room needed upgrading but the hotel is in the process of doing this and the rooms we saw that were refurbished were nice.
The hotel is right on the beach and has a great pool and the beach is close by. I have written a review about the hotel restaurants which were not great, the one nearest the pool is much better.
There were problems with the hotel which I would consider to be large if I was there at peak time. Firsly, you can hear noise from the other rooms, I am not too sure what you can do about this except get a room on the top floor. Secondly, the restaurant used for breakfast is really small and the lay out does not serve well with guests going into a room to get their food and then having to exit by one door. I just think it would be a nightmare in the high season.
Overall i liked the hotel but I do not think I would rush back. Mind you we had (free of charge) daily massages and spa treatments and the ladies who work there make up for any short coming the hotel may have.
We will see what it is like after all the upgrades.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor to escape your neighbours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at The Emerald Cove Koh Chang, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Stephentaynton,

thank you very much for taking the time posting your comment following your recent stay at Amari Emerald Cove Koh Chang.

It was indeed a pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us, besides some highlighted guessing in your posting about the peak and high season.

As we never heard so far about this, please let me clarify as well from our side that actually our air conditioned breakfast area (buffet) has been appreciated (since the opening of the property nearly 10 years ago)
from our guest and we have as well received high appreciation on our oversized public- and restaurant areas, which have been built to serve and to host our guest based
on a 100% occupancy of 165 guest rooms at any time.

At Amari, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.
Thank you again for sharing your experience and please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address
any problem and comment - to prevent future occurrence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erfurt, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Ideally located at the beach. Great atmosphere in the evening hours, great lighting. Super Pool. nice staff.
Very happy once again!!!
The breakfast was very versatile and it can be taken both internally and externally.
The spa area is great, if a little expensive compared to the many other massage shops in the area.

Room Tip: View of the pool or sea is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

This was the second time we have stayed at the Amari Emerald Cove. Check-in was smooth and efficient as we were greeted by the manager Peter and staff with drinks. We were not disappointed on our return, spacious refurbished rooms with new flat screen TV's installed. Leisure facilities are to a high standard with gym, 50 metre Olympic pool plus a superb spa available with reasonably priced treatments. The buffet breakfast is excellent with a wide variety of east meets west options. Sun beds are ideally placed at the sea front for those romantic couples that wish to drink a cocktail during happy hour and watch the sunset.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool and sea capture the sun most of the day plus have the added bonus of seei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Emerald Cove Koh Chang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emerald Cove Koh Chang

Address: 88 / 8 Moo 4, Tambol Koh Chang | Amphur, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand (Formerly Amari Emerald Cove Koh Chang)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Ko Chang
#21 Spa Hotel in Ko Chang
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Emerald Cove Koh Chang 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the wild beauty and peaceful setting of Koh Chang, one of Thailand's best-kept island secrets, at The Emerald Cove Koh Chang. This five-star Koh Chang resort on set on secluded Klong Prao Beach offers 165 rooms and suites, all with views of either the sea to the west or the jungle-covered hills to the east. While the soothing modern Thai interiors of the rooms and suites tempt you to relax inside, Koh Chang adventures await just outside your door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Emerald Cove Koh Chang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Emerald Cove Koh Chang Hotel Koh Chang
Amari Emerald Cove Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Emerald Cove Koh Chang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.