We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the Best Value in all of Koh Chang” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Emerald Cove Koh Chang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Emerald Cove Koh Chang to your Saves list
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   88 / 8 Moo 4, Tambol Koh Chang | Amphur, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand (Formerly Amari Emerald Cove Koh Chang)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save an Extra 15% Now!
Ranked #3 of 71 Hotels in Ko Chang
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Probably the Best Value in all of Koh Chang”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

If you are looking for an amazing value in Koh Chang, look no further than the Amari Emerald Cove.

The beach is very nice, despite having murky waters (due to it being Thai rainy season), common throughout Koh Chang. There are many beach chairs and pool chairs available which is nice. One thing I would change is to have the towel/pool staff be a little more proactive in bringing towels over to guests and picking up towels after guests have left (this is normal for 5 star hotels). Also, working with 'towel cards' seems to be a little cheap, but I understand they may do this since guests take home the towels.

The hotel was extremely generous in recognizing my Amari Chorus Centaurus membership, and offered two multiple room upgrades to great ocean facing rooms (we booked 2 rooms), offered us nightly finger foods brought to our rooms, and of course the personal welcome from the manager. Such things really make the stay more enjoyable!

The pool is very large, and despite being a simple rectangular infinity pool, it was very nice and enjoyable!

The rooms are a little outdated, and the beds/tv etc should be modernized, but I believe they are currently undergoing renovations to do just this. However, sitting on the balcony overlooking the extremely well positioned pool, the orange lights, the ocean and the beach makes you really realize you are in paradise!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    154
    46
    10
    7
See reviews for
141
286
21
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Thailand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We did a family outing to Ko Chang and choose the resort because of its character & location. Staff was brilliant and contributed a lot to make our stay a pleasant one. Kids enjoyed the pool area and it was difficult for us to get them out of the water. Despite being officially the rainy season we only had one night of rain but in the daytime we could enjoy the resort without any rain.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We spent just 2 nights here, which was definitely not long enough.... but due to work commitments, we had no choice. The location is very quiet and peaceful. The hotel is larger than we expected and the rooms are very spacious with all the necessary amenities. I loved the bathroom!! A very comfortable bed and the breakfast was amazing - nice buffet style with a good selection of food to suit all tastes. We booked a romantic dinner for 2 on the beach to celebrate our anniversary, but, unfortunately, the weather didn't allow us to stay there long. But Amari gave us a complimentary cake in the room, which was sumptuous. As we were moved from outside to inside for our dinner, there was a slight mix up with the bill, which meant that they came to our room at 10:30 to amend it, but other than that - everything was perfect.

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe room... very spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The staff here are wonderful and couldn't do enough for us, (I was in a wheelchair).

The hotel is lovely, with really big rooms, comfy big beds, good sized bathrooms, & balconies, wooden floors, and free, quick wifi.

We were in an "accessible" room, which meant that we could wheel into the room, although the staff had to put a ramp up to the front door. There was plenty of room to manoeuvre in the room, but unfortunately there is a step into the bathroom, which was fine for me, but may not be for others. Our bathroom had both a bath, and a walk in shower, and the shower had a built in "seat", which was great, (if a little small).

We were there for our honeymoon/ anniversary so we were greeted with a lovely cake, scattered rose petals and a lovely note from the manager, which was a really nice touch.

The design of the hotel is not ideal for those in a wheelchair, but it is manageable. There are wooden walkways connecting the rooms to the reception and main restaurants. However, at the end of the walkway there are 3 steps up, and then down to the pool. This is such a shame, because without this rather pointless structure you would be able to wheel fully around the whole grounds. As it happens, in order to get to the pool, and the spa, we had to wheel all the way back to the reception area, (in the opposite direction), and access it on the other side of the hotel. This got rather annoying after 5 days.

Our room was on the 3rd floor, accessible by a lift. Unfortunately the lift is very small, and only just big enough for my manual wheelchair. Measurements should be requested first if you are in an electric wheelchair and need to use it. We also kept getting stuck in the lift, as there is a lip and a ramp at its entrance, which is really difficult to get over.

The design of the pool is also not ideal for those with mobility difficulties, as unfortunately there is only one set of steps at one end of the pool to get in and out. If therefore it is busy and you were only able to get a sun lounger at the top end of the pool, (next to the pool bar), you have to walk the entire length of the pool to be able to use it. This is shame.

This is also the case for breakfast too. Breakfast is available in one of the restaurants, and unfortunately there is a step down. Thankfully on the third day, the food & beverage manager arranged for a ramp to be put down for us, which was very much appreciated.

The shop and tour desk are accessible down a ramp, but then bizarrely, up a step?! Someone just missed the design concept with this one! The bar too, where they have live music is also up a flight of steps, so unfortunately I didn't get a chance to check this out.

Breakfast itself was really good, with a big selection of cooked breakfast, pastries, fruit etc. We were happy with both the quantity & quality.

The staff were exceptional, particularly the concierge, who would go out of his way to assist us every day, and deserves a special mention - he was lovely!

The hotel is right on the beach, but unfortunately there was quite a lot of rubbish in the water, so we spent our time at the pool instead. It's a lovely view though, looking out on the sea, from your sun lounger.

We had dinner in one of the restaurants one night, as it was included in our stay. The restaurant could do with a few more portable fans, as unfortunately I overheated so much, that I couldn't finish my dinner. This was a shame as the food was good. Unfortunately though, there were only 2 other families in the restaurant, so unfortunately very little atmosphere. Some music might have helped.

We also had a one hour massage included in our stay, and I have to say that the massage was lovely, the spa rooms beautiful, but not at all accessible. The spa is accessed up several steps, and then the rooms are down several more. They are beautiful though, and look out right on the beach, although I did feel slightly exposed at the end of the massage, with the lights on, no clothes on, and the curtains open!

All in all, a lovely hotel, with very comfortable rooms and lovely, helpful staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor accessible room if in a wheelchair.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights during a weekend motorcycle trip. The hotel is nice, but a bit far from the main spot where all the restaurants and bars (white sand beach).

The room was large, nice and clean, with wooden floor and free Wifi. The breakfast was great with a good choice of food. The Amari is the best hotel on the island and definitely recommend it, for a stay on Koh Chang.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

People always say this hotel is 5 stars hotel in Koh Chang. But for me I can give them only 3.5-4stars. My first impression with this hotel isn't so good due to the check in service. Staff is not so helpful and give me wrong information about ABF. Room is quite old but enough space for small children. Some equipment in toilet are not functional. ABF is very simple. It's not so much choice of food, taste of food and service are average. The swimming pool is very big and very nice. This is a highlight of this hotel. Beach is beautiful but not recommend for swim. I would rate this hotel 6.5/10.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockatoo, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were blown away by the resorts gardens and pool. It is immaculate and in prime position to watch the sun se over the sea. On our holidays we never spend all or time in the resort, but everything was so divine that we ate all our meals here, enjoyed drinks at the bar and enjoyed just about everything this resort had to offer. Probably because it was slightly away from all the action, but 10/10 for everything else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Emerald Cove Koh Chang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emerald Cove Koh Chang

Address: 88 / 8 Moo 4, Tambol Koh Chang | Amphur, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand (Formerly Amari Emerald Cove Koh Chang)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ko Chang
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
#3 Spa Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Emerald Cove Koh Chang 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the wild beauty and peaceful setting of Koh Chang, one of Thailand's best-kept island secrets, at The Emerald Cove Koh Chang. This five-star Koh Chang resort on set on secluded Klong Prao Beach offers 165 rooms and suites, all with views of either the sea to the west or the jungle-covered hills to the east. While the soothing modern Thai interiors of the rooms and suites tempt you to relax inside, Koh Chang adventures await just outside your door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Emerald Cove Koh Chang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Emerald Cove Koh Chang Hotel Koh Chang
Amari Emerald Cove Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Emerald Cove Koh Chang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.