We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extended stay three times” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amari Emerald Cove Koh Chang

Save Saved
You added Amari Emerald Cove Koh Chang to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Amari Emerald Cove Koh Chang
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   88 / 8 Moo 4, Tambol Koh Chang | Amphur, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save an Extra 15% Now!
Ranked #3 of 71 hotels in Ko Chang
Trondheim, Norway
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Extended stay three times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We just couldn't leave this hotel, so we changed our plans.
Great hotel with the best service.
A very lovely and clean hotel. Good breakfast and very good food in the hotel-restaurants.
We took the cooking-class and learned to make thai-food; great!
The pool is big and the beach is nice. Comfortable beds outside, and always clean and dry towels.
We also used the spa several times. Comfortable and good quality massage!
We will highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: We had a superiorroom with a garden view. Big room with a kingsize bed, extra bed and sofa. Good spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    336
    150
    44
    9
    7
See reviews for
122
259
19
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at Amari Emerald Cove two times now, the first was for our honeymoon in February 2010 and we went back a second time bringing our parents along for the journey in November 2011. The Amari is the best 5 star resort in Koh Chang. From the moment we arrived at Trat Airport, we were greeted by a driver with a friendly face who offers us a cool towel and refreshing drink as we drive to the pier to catch the ferry. When we arrived at the hotel, the staff are very friendly and welcoming. The rooms are fantastic, clean and the perfect place to stay. The restaurant staff and SPA staff are extremely friendly and helpful and also remembered us from our last visit which is always nice! The manager walked past us in the reception area and offered to take a photo of our group which was a nice touch.

The Amari pool is not that big but the atmosphere is nice, the bar by the pool is great and the staff are very good with taking orders and bringing it to you on your sun lounger :-)

The beach directly in front of the Amari is not much of a beach, however within 10-20 meters is a long stretch of beach with lots of restaurants and other resorts also to enjoy.

The restaurant food is fantastic, I would recommend the 5 course private dining on the beach that the hotel offers as it is very romantic and a perfect way to begin or end your holiday :-) Hotel prices are fairly reasonable given it is a 5 star resort and they have happy hour everyday which is 2 for 1!

The only downside we have ever had was with the wifi connection to the room (it didnt work on one of our stays) we had paid in advance for this as part of our room package and they told us it was an issue with their server on the island and that it couldn't be fixed (we were not offered a refund or compensation of any kind - but we didnt ask for it either) Not a big deal as the only reason we needed the wifi was to check our work emails !! It was a good excuse not to work in the end....

All in all we would recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bognor regis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Stayed at the Amari for 8 nights in April with a family of 5, 2 teenagers and a 5 year old.
Firstly if you are planning to stay on Koh Chang and like to save money, have some freedom and like a little adventure, then hire a car in Bangkok and drive to the island. It is very easy, excellent dual carriageway and a relatively straight forward drive.

It took us 5 hours to get from BAngkok to the ferry port. Having a car on Koh Chang was a godsend. the island is relatively large and it just meant that whenever we wanted to visit another beach or drive to a resturant then we could get up and go without relying on taxis.

The Amari is a lovely resort, the rooms are spacious and the pool area is outstanding.
I tipped the cleaner 100 baht on the first day and then found that we were always looked after with extra towell and such like whenever we wanted. We had a room that faced away from the beach, the view obviosuly wasn't as good but it was about £20 cheaper a night. As we had 2 rooms and therefore saved £300 it was worth it.

The breakfast is superb, everything you could possibly want to eat and service with a smile.
There is loads of sapce around the stunning pool and when we saw little of the annoying practice of people trying to save beds with their towells. The whole area was busy enough to have a little atmosphere but never crowded. The pool was open to guests 24hours which was nice as sometimes at 10 o'clock in the evening you fancy a quick dip.

The beach directly in front of the hotel lacks sand, the sea comes right up to the low wall, but 50 metres along the beach there is a huge expanse of sand to play on, or even lay on. The sea was fantastic and the view looking back in land, amazing.
Within 200 metres there are 4 or 5 restuarants on the beach. Very passable, good value thai food.
The Amari is set back about 50 metres form the road that encircels the whole island, so it is always quiet. In fact it is generally in quite a quiet part of the island. The main road has, perhaps 15 shops, 2 or 3 massage places, and a couple of restuarants.
We used the shops often to buy soft drinks, snacks and the like.
My daughter and I both enjoyed a couple of quality massages for 200 baht of an evening.
We did not really eat at the hotel except for a burger at lunch time. Would always rather eat at little restuarants in different locations. However the lunch menu is very good value for such an upmarket resort.
Before I left I read lots of reports on trip adviser complaing about Russians at the Amari, when I was there this was not a problem at all. There were guests of many different nationalities, and although Russians are a little offish in their attitude and seem to regard manners as a weakness I didn't find them to be a problem.
All in all I would recommend anyone to stay at the Amari, but I would also say, get a car.
If you like to lay on sunbeds all day fine, but if you want to see the island and eat in different locations every night then drive yourselves.
Any questions I would be happy to answer, email on leeridout@hotmail.com

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

After a 7 hr drive and a ferry ride we finally arrived at Koh Chang fatigued. The ride from the pier to the hotel was 20 minutes on the mountain side. Must say the hotel has an excellent location right on the beach , beutifully done up with very beutiful rooms . We chose the seafacing room and teh view was just superb. Hotel has three pools and teh larger one is just amazing! Breakfast ( the only meal we had) was beautifully tucked up with all that one can imagine ! The staff was very friendly especially the lady at the front desk.
Would like to stay the hotel again on my next visit. The only downside i see is its away from the activity in town and teh beach has corals, so beware you might hurt your feet. There are sign postings all around warning you of corals!!

Room Tip: Choose a sea facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

The Amari is a good hotel but for my taste overpriced. We like to stay in luxery resorts once a while but then we also expect perfect service. At the time we strayed, it was occupied with a bigger group of East-Europe country and we felt not welcomed there. The same with the entire island Koh Chang. Koh Kood and Koh Mak are much nicer and more natural.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

After a 5 hour drive from Bangkok we arrived on the island - surprised it was a little backward with ram-shackled buildings, shops and restaurants. However there was nothing run down about the hotel - very impressive. Staff very friendly and polite - down side - arrived about 5pm and one of the rooms was not ready - waited 30 mins - not what I expected from a 5 star hotel. Room was great - clean big, beautiful bathroom - the double bed was massive. Maid service was hit and miss we had to keep asking for toilet rolls, towels and the complimentary water. They were not very consistent.
Grounds were clean and well kept - the pool was excellent - 50m long and ideal for swimming in. Hotel fronted on to the beach - not the best beach in the world. Mind the coral as you walk in, you cannot see it as the water is not clear because of the sand being stirred up by the waves.
Tip - walk past the lady statue in the pool down the steps, turn left on the beach until you reach 2nd and 3rd palm tree (10m) and then head out in to the sea - you miss the coral. The beach is low sloping.
Breakfast was excellent - wide choice - European and Asian food.
The hotel was 5 star and had 5 star prices, venture out for meals and drinks within 100m you have loads of choices at a quarter of the price and the food was very tasty and enjoyable.
Downside - the hotel is 3 storeys high and looks like a block of posh flats.
Would not stop there again only as there were several hotels on the island that looked liked they had more character.

Room Tip: You have to book an expensive room type if you want a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

we checked in for three nights and stayed for five.after a 9 hour drive from bankok we finally arrived after the ferry ride at emerald cove,a lovely resort with a great view AND BRILLIANT POOL AND.THE SEA WAS GREAT FUN .the food in thai resturant and Italian was superb,but there are sopme good thai restaurants near by and cheap to.all the staff where very polite with a thai smile that was genuine. our daughter drove back to bangkok but we flew and then on to chang mai.

Room Tip: we hAD a sea view but all the rooms are the same so not sure if worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amari Emerald Cove Koh Chang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Emerald Cove Koh Chang

Address: 88 / 8 Moo 4, Tambol Koh Chang | Amphur, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ko Chang
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ko Chang
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amari Emerald Cove Koh Chang 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the wild beauty and peaceful setting of Koh Chang, one of Thailand’s best-kept island secrets, at Amari Emerald Cove Koh Chang. This five-star Koh Chang resort on set on secluded Klong Prao Beach offers 165 rooms and suites, all with views of either the sea to the west or the jungle-covered hills to the east. While the soothing modern Thai interiors of the rooms and suites tempt you to relax inside, Koh Chang adventures await just outside your door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amari Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Splendia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Amari Emerald Cove Koh Chang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Emerald Cove Koh Chang Hotel Koh Chang
Amari Emerald Cove Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amari Emerald Cove Koh Chang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.