We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the reviews are true - good and bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Siam Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Siam Beach Resort to your Saves list
Siam Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   100/1 Moo 4,Lonely Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“All the reviews are true - good and bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

The location is fantastic. The resort end of the beach is quiet and peaceful. The other end is a party scene but they are far enough away so as not to be bothersome.

The staff is on island time so if you want a drink fast, go up to the bar and get it or wait a bit, it will come eventually.

The pool was good. Most of the time there were towels. Replacement towels... See island time above.

Beds are very firm... Welcome to Thailand. Rooms vary from little bungalows, not on the beach to small pool villas and beach front rooms with AWESOME views and sunsets.

BBQ every night was fantastic. Food SUPER. prawns, pork spare ribs, green curry and scallops were our favorites. Eating on the beach with small waves crashing, lovely. Breakfast had good variety, quality was average.

All in all very fun relaxing place with limitations.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    42
    43
    34
    38
See reviews for
32
94
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

booked a deluxe bungalow... well there is nothing deluxe about it, but its clean and new. the roof leaked during the rain, staff was helpful and reliable.
food at the restaurant was mediocre, but the main waiter was INCREDIBLY RUDE! they have some sort of a deal where they cook everything in an outside kitchen in the evening and there is an option of walking around and choosing your food, when on the second day i've asked for regular menu I was YELLED АТ by this waiter.
to sum up: beach is good, room is ok, receptionists are great, restaurant staff - differs.

Room Tip: if you stay in the deluxe bungalows on the top of the hill try to get F1, F2 or F3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

stayed here in Jan 2011 couldn't fault the place. So booked again for feb 2012. What a difference a wear makes! Run down, mold in bathrooms, doors don't close, gap at bottom of doors lets in large mosquito, breakfast pitiful, staff on reception very rude and ineffective. setting beautiful beach bar staff lovely. Very very disappointed as brought the whole family our second visit.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

The Siam Beach resort has many sleeping options - we booked the newly built jungle bungalows at 1800 Tb per night. The whole setting is not finished yet, but we knew that, so no worries. But unfortunately the built the water system a bit wrong, so the bungalow stinks incredibly from the bathroom. Pretty much spoils a holiday. The communal amenities are design to cater for many guests, therefore rather unpersonal and no cosy atmosphere. The breakfast offers many choices, but again presentation of food is not very attractive. Swimming pool is nice, but only app. 10 deckchairs for more than 300 guests seems insufficient...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

As the lonely planet did not exactly tells you were is the best beach and minimum tourists, we booked a different hotel from Bangkok. After founding out there was no beach at all we moved to Siam Beach which beach was nice and the sea was clean. First we asked for a hotel room - they told us they have free rooms for 2200 baths that was to much - in one our different receptions told us they have cheaper for 1530 baths - these are located across the road - inside are nicely furnisher but there is a big rubissh around. Than we took rooms fo 1900 baths (the most expensive from our whole stay in Thailand) - the rooms are very spacious, very nice bathrooms, very clean. The swimming pool was nice and cold, there is just about 5 sunbeds so you are unable to get one as they are occupied from the morning. It seemsed to me that this resort was famous in the 90s, than it started to decay...the morning buffet was nice but after one hour I got a big food poisoning for the rest of the day - the questions is if it was cased by the hotel food....

Room Tip: When you stay with the beach and the sea on your back get the rooms at the right hand side at the en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for 4 night. Much to expensive seeing all the rubbish, non-organized service, ugly building. This ugly hotel has nothing to do with a romantic beach paradise.
But...their bamboo huts are terific! Nice scenery and fair prices.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Siam Beach Resort has a stunning location right on the beach, with a lovely pool. We stayed in a poolside villa and the room was great - maybe a bit pricey, but we felt for the size, view, location and amenities it wasn't too bad. The room is big, with a TV, AC, tea and coffee making facilities and a lovely bathroom.
The staff were very helpful in organising taxis and excursions for us, and were also happy to change our room when we wanted to move from a hillside bungalow to a poolside villa (because the bungalows are terrible, the rooms are 200% nicer).
The restaurant isn't fantastic, but you can walk down the beach and eat somewhere else. Breakfast being included is a bonus - it's not a five-star buffet, but it fills you up before you hit the beach!

Room Tip: Pick a room near the pool so you can get up early to secure yourself a pool chair and towels! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Siam Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siam Beach Resort

Address: 100/1 Moo 4,Lonely Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Siam Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new hotel rooms and Luxury Pool Villas in the Siam Beach Resort, located on the very best spot of the still peaceful Lonely Beach on Koh Chang island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Siam Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siam Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.