We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome and awful at the same time” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nature Beach Resort Koh Chang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Nature Beach Resort Koh Chang to your Saves list
Nature Beach Resort Koh Chang
98 Moo 4, Koh Chang, Ko Chang, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Avoca Beach, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awesome and awful at the same time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

There was a lot of awesome and a lot of awful in this place which makes it a tough one to review. The location is fantastic right on the water and for me, the best part about this place was the relaxing and tonic Thai massages from the women set up on the beach. The set up of the restaurant is perfect, really chilled out and as long as you're having a beer it feels like you're holidaying in a tropical paradise. However, the feeling subsides quickly as soon as you order some food which was generally greasy, salty slop and definitely the worst I tasted in Thailand.

Unfortunately, previous reviews about the poor service are accurate although given the way I saw some of the guests treating the staff, it's hard to know whether the employees are just fed up with the behaviour of inconsiderate tourists. At one point I saw a European tourist way out in the sea screaming abuse at the barmen and demanding he come into the water to bring him a beer. I don't know that I'd be flashing an award winning Thai smile if I had to put up with that every day either...

We tried two different rooms - the more expensive ones at the back near the road which were really comfortable, nicely decorated and quiet. After the first night we moved to a bungalow which was much cheaper, also clean but the beds were so hard you could put a full glass of water on one end of the mattress and jump up and down at the other end without spilling a drop. Given the choice again, I'd pay more for the quiet room and decent night's sleep but despite the sleepless nights, the bungalows were still pretty good for the price. As I found in most places in Thailand, the pillow were enormous and (I found) impossible to sleep on comfortably, but that's a personal preference.

There can be a lot of doof doof music at night so its a great place to be if you're there to party. Pack some ear plugs if you're not. All in all, we had a good few days and made the best of this stunning location despite it's shortcomings.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    27
    19
    22
    8
See reviews for
4
31
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chania Town, Greece
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed there for 15 days...The staff is not the friendliest but when you get to know them you realise that these are persons who work 20 hours a day and doing the best they can!We had a great stay with 2 young children.The room we stayed at was a little bit more expensive that it should since the resort doesn't have any "5 star services" .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I stayed here for two nights excellent location with reasonable accommodation. The only thing that really let's the place down are the male staff, I don't expect to be waited on like I'm at a five star resort but it became almost comical by the end. I think if you are a group of girls you may receive a very different service, but otherwise its awful. Expect to be point blank ignored quite often and get used to going to the service hatch to get food, bills etc

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are good and an ok price. The beach is lovely and the bar food and drinks price is good. However, if you are a couple of single ladies expect the best service ever from prompt food arrival to free buckets. Travelling in a couple, family or you are a man- enjoy watching Thai men sleaze over girls whilst ignoring your order. All female staff great but the majority of waiters are guys and generally couldn't give two hoots if you are wilting away through hunger!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Chang, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The rooms were dirty, the cheapest rooms are hard to get to at the back of the resort right next to the road an the very loud neighbours, yes the beach itself was beautiful but the arrogant, unhelpful, egotistic slimy bar staff made me three night stay an anxious and scary time. As two female travellers looking for a relaxing escape the unwanted attention from the bar staff was annoying and the laughter and jokes about drugs and the continued encouragement to drink..even offering free cocktails all night were made in such a way that we both felt very unsafe.This occurred thought breakfast lunch and dinner time, On our last night one of the bar tenders came an knocked on our door at two am. We didnt answer. We made it very clear we were not interested in any attention to the point of being rude as no one could take a hint. We Do not recommend nature resort. The staff weren't the only problem but the defiantly were the biggest.

Room Tip: Just don't!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

placed at the beach and for every budget. I tooked the bungalow in front with a view to the ocean. very nice and a nice sunset. the food in the open restarant was also not bad at all.
the only bad thing I can say is that the whole staff never smile. this is really uncommon for Thailand.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Put off immediately by front desk service. We had 4 small carryons with us and not once did the front desk lady offer to help as she led us to our rooms. We were dismissed rather quickly and treated in a very thoughtless manner.

Courtesy and service skills in restaurant very poor, general cleanliness especially around the canal needs to be stepped up. Mediocre food, prices ok.

Verdict: Pick another place to spend your time and money. Plenty of options closer to lonely beach that offer accom at the same price but with much better service and food.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nature Beach Resort Koh Chang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nature Beach Resort Koh Chang

Address: 98 Moo 4, Koh Chang, Ko Chang, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Nature Beach Resort Koh Chang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nature Beach Resort Koh Chang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.