We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ban Kwan Chang

Ban Kwan Chang
22/16 Moo 4, Tumbol Ko Chang | Aumphur Ko Chang, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
+66 81 919 3995
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 40 things to do in Ko Chang
Attraction details
Bradford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We had a 1 hour elephant trek and it was awful. We felt quite put off by the way we were greeted. No explanation just give us your money. The way the elephants were treated was awful. Our guide repeatedly hit the elephant and she was bleeding in two places on her trunk when we came to feed her. It was traumatic and all of us felt really disturbed by our visit and we wished we hadn't gone.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    59
    19
    14
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vantaa, Finland
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“It was the best experience on Koh Chang”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We were very pleased with our one hour elephant trekking. We had a really great guide and nicely behaving elephant. It was private tour. The tour took it's place in beautiful setting in the jungle, we also crossed a small river. The guide jumped away from the elephant after awhile and the rest of the journey we ride the elephant on our own. It was amazing. The guide took our camera and took dozens of pictures of us riding the elephant. He spoke English very well. At the end of the tour I was allowed to ride on the neck of the elephant. It was really nice experience, her skin felt funny and rough under my bare feet. They took good care of us. Before the ride we got water bottles. After the ride we got soft drinks and fresh pineapple. Really nice location. 1 km away from the camp there's Klong Jao Leuam Waterfall, there were no other tourists, just us in the jungle. Wow.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“wonderful day of my holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

i liked everything ,the elephants are beautifully kept and seem very happy , the walk down to the river to bath with them was quite an experience, i would recommend this trip to all visitors to koh chang

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Definitley worth visiting!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I was a little apprehensive about elephant trekking because I was worried about animal cruelty, but someone on the island said that the elephants are well treated.
The excursion involved a taxi pick-up, swimming with the elephants, free bottled water, pineapple, the actual trek through the jungle and them feeding the elephants bananas afterwards. This was all for 900 baht each which I think is good value for what we got.

I didn't see any mistreatment and the mahoots were friendly enough, although there seemed to find my fear of spiders in the jungle hilarious,.

The mahoots offered to take photos half way through and let you sit on the neck of the elephant. Obviously a tip is expected afterwards (but this is expected everywhere is Thailand). It was definitely worth it because we got some fabulous photos.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic, remote camp with well treated elephants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is well off the beaten track unlike the other elephant camps on the island which are located right alonside the main roads with treks up dried out riverbeds :-( Pick the option to scrub the elephants in the river, absolutey amazing experience! Mahoots clearly love their elephants, ours had been with his elephant (Shuree) for 7 years. All elephants are female and rescued from Northern Thailand. The trek itself takes you well into the jungle where you will see butterflies (one landed on my foot), birds and perhaps even monkeys.....but the silence is what struck me, so peaceful just the sounds of jungle life. Mahoots are very quiet also, just encouraging grunts to communicate with the elephant, no hitting or shouting. Excellent. We were not asked for any more money than what we paid for our trek, but gave our Mahoot money as he took literally dozens of excellent photo's for us, we thought he was only going to take a couple! We also bought souveneirs from their camp as I would rather the money went to them, than buy the same souveneirs i White Sands ;-)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ban Kwan Chang also viewed

 

Been to Ban Kwan Chang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ban Kwan Chang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.