We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“John is the man. Thank you.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elephant and Castle Bungalows

Save Saved
You added Elephant and Castle Bungalows to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elephant and Castle Bungalows
13/13 1 moo4, Pearl Beach, Ko Chang, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 87 Ko Chang B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“John is the man. Thank you.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

These bungalows are great...it is an inexpensive place located in a good location on white sand beach area and away from the main road so they are quiet. The bungalows are comfortable and clean (cleanest bathrooms anywhere), the dogs are friendly, and the owner, John, is a really awesome guy. He gives great advise on where to eat and party, makes an amazing breakfast if you want a change from rice, and is a good guy to just share stories with. I highly recommend this place for families and group travellers of all budgets.

Room Tip: Any bungalow is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
52
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rijswijk, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

...for the two days and nights I spent at your place. Very memorable days (and nights) they were indeed. You are the best hosts a traveller can wish for, the bungalow was simple but nice and clean, the bacon and eggs very tasty and your coffee to die for. And many many thanks for taking me to the supermarkets and to the snorkelling spot. I had a wonderful meal at Saffron by the Sea, just across the road, one of John's many great tips. Don't miss this.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The bungalows are very clean and away from the main road. John makes the best bacon and eggs breakfast and gives very useful advises on the island. Perfect for couples and families. Really close to the best beach (quiet and beautiful) of Ko Chang.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

( April 2013 ) After travelling around southern thailand we made our way to Koh Chang. After all the hussle and bussle of bangkok and phuket it was like travelling back in time as soon as we stepped off the ferry. From being recommended and contacting John via facebook, to arranging are Thai wedding ceremony, John and Lan were fantastic hosts and really made our holiday.
On arrival John welcomed us with a can of beer, a smile and an explanation of how things were run at the 'Elephant and Castle.
The bungalow was simple but very clean, tidy and charming with views to the sea from our balcony.

Our 11 night stay included several meals cooked by either John or Lan ( Delicious)!!

The hire of the moped to explore the island and fantastic help and advice on where to go and what to do.

There is everything that you could ever need on the island. Quiet beaches, pubs, clubs, any food you fancy, watersports, elephant treks, quad rides, paintballing, shooting, the list goes on......

We were planning on travelling onto Koh Samet, but as soon as we arrived at the Elephant and Castle we knew we were not leaving until we went home.

Best experience we have both had......Ever.
We will be back. :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Spent the month of March 2013 at the Elephant & Castle and it is without doubt still the place to be on Koh Chang. The site has matured since I was last there and looks even better, can't say the same about John though, and Lan has put in a new concrete driveway. Stayed in one of the top bungalows this time and the views are just awesome. Had the chance to check out other accommodation when I was there and realized how ridiculously cheap Johns prices are. Similar spec bungalows are renting for over twice the price depending on the location and I have yet to find a better location than this. So my advice would be book early because the secret is out now.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portadown, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Just returned to the chilly Highlands after a wonderful few weeks at the elephant and castle. Koh Chang is a lovely friendly island off the coast of Trat. Half of the island is uncommercialised and the other half is a low key easy going mix of pubs, bars and restaurants with amazing low prices and excellent food. The elephant and castle is a fabulous resort of newly built wooden bungalows with all mod cons set in a beautiful jungle garden with views of the sea. The owners John and Lan are kindest and friendliest people I have ever met and cant do enough for you. The standards are really high and John cooks wonderful british food and Lan does amazing Thai food at really low prices. The resort is just of the main road (there is only 1 round the island) and there are plenty of bars, beaches, and more just minutes away and a taxis up and down the road constantly. This was a holiday of a lifetime that I hope to repeat again and again.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Me and my partner checked in to the Elephant & Castle for a week in April and we found it to be homely, welcoming and peaceful. The hospitality of John and his wife Lan was second to none, and they made us feel like part of the crew as soon as we arrived. Indeed, as soon as we set foot onto the property, John made us a cup of tea and sat down with us to recommend the best places to eat and drink in the vicinity. Being English ourselves, we appreciated this immensely, especially after a long trip.
The bungalows themselves are cosy and clean, and you get your own porch, complete with hammock and washing line, which made the area a nice place to chill out in after a hard day's scootering around the island.
If you're lucky, you might be able to sample the delights of Lan's cooking, which my partner and I both agreed was the best food we tasted whilst on the island. John does his own cooking too, and if steak's on the menu, make sure you have it - I didn't, and I regretted it once the aroma filled the air.
The prices for the room, food and bike hire were better than the average island prices, and what you're getting is well worth the value. What's more, it's within easy reach of beautiful beaches, good nightlife and excellent restaurants, whilst remaining far enough away to retain some peace and quiet when you need it. This is the only place I'll be staying if I'm ever on Koh Chang again.

I must add that John went out of his way to make us feel at home, making sure we had everything we needed and even helped us out on our last night with a minor pickle regarding transport. He was a gentleman and a scholar and my partner and I appreciated it greatly. I must also stress that whilst John is 'front of house staff', his wife Lan 'keeps the engine running' (John's words I think), so together they make a great team and provide a warm and unique accommodation experience. You're not just getting a place to stay, you're getting lovely people who genuinely care about your time there, and the Tripadvisor award really does speak for itself.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elephant and Castle Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant and Castle Bungalows

Address: 13/13 1 moo4, Pearl Beach, Ko Chang, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a peaceful hillside, in beautiful gardens,backing onto the jungle with sea views.5 bungalows have air con, 1 is fan only. All have king size double bed, separate shower/WC, free WiFi,TV & balcony. The bungalows are kept spotlessly clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Elephant and Castle Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elephant and Castle Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.