We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ate here three times, consistently good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mak Mak Family Restaurant

Mak Mak Family Restaurant
51/2 MOO 4, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
0066800911790
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 171 Restaurants in Ko Chang
Cuisines: Italian, Thai, Vegetarian, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Mak Mak is a cozy family restaurant which serves Thai food as well as European and Italian and has a extended choice of Seafood Bbq. The restaurant is half closed, half open and has a big bar in the center and a free 8" Pool table. There is a childrens playground in the garden. In the restaurant we have a great selection of REAL Italian Ice cream
Stamford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Ate here three times, consistently good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

The owner, Edwin, also gave us invaluable tips of other places to visit. The Pizzas are very good and the thai food tasty and delicious. Laid back for Kae bai and definitely worth a visit. How about some large Leo's?

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    64
    24
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice garden restaurant - Thai/Western Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Getting good Thai food in Koh Chang is not really a problem, however Mak Mak is definitely one of the places that has great Thai food. We did not try the western dishes here although they have a separate kitchen for the same. The beef or chicken Panang curry is something we kept returning for. We ate here about 4-5 times in a stay of 5 weeks.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Bad Hygiene”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

We went to this cute restaurant to play some pool; the table was just behind the bar so we could see the bartender working. I don't like to write bad reviews but in this case I think it needs to be known. We watched the bartender play with a dog then pick him up and put him against his shirt. He then put the dog down and proceeded to work without washing his hands. His shirt was covered in dog hair so he started to shake the hair off his shirt behind the bar where all the glasses, cutlery etc were located. They also have an ice cream stand and we saw him take a spoonful of ice cream (still had not washed his hands), put it in his mouth and then take another spoonful of ice cream with the same spoon! At this point I was disgusted and told him that he cannot do this in a restaurant. He didn't really seem to care. I certainly would not eat or get ice cream here!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
e_nieuwkerk, Owner at Mak Mak Family Restaurant, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Tracy,

I am not happy with this review, but on the other hand thankfull for the feedback. The "bartender" from yesterday evening was our 14 year old son, who helped out since me and my wife were invited for a party. We are very keen on hygiene and what you witnessed is not normal behaviour for our restaurant and staff. I can garantee you that this was an incident since me and my wife are always in the restaurant. I will discuss this with him as soon as he is back from school.

With kind regards

Edwin .Nieuwkerk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“great for the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Have to say the food here is very good with Thai, pizza steak just about anything you could want. And Edwin the owner is a great host. Staff are really good. Have kids great they have a play area with equipment to keep the kids entertained. Not much they have not thought of here.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Great Thai/Western food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

This restaurant is great for great tasty, clean thai food. They also have very good steaks, if you are looking for some western food.
We have been to this restaurant on a previous trip and would highly recommend this restaurant. The staff are very friendly and the food is very good.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mak Mak Family Restaurant also viewed

Ko Chang, Trat Province
Ko Chang Tai, Ko Chang
 
Ko Chang, Trat Province
Ko Chang, Trat Province
 

Been to Mak Mak Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mak Mak Family Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.