We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice. No more.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mak Mak Family Restaurant

Mak Mak Family Restaurant
51/2 MOO 4, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
0066800911790
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 171 Restaurants in Ko Chang
Cuisines: Italian, Thai, Vegetarian, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Mak Mak is a cozy family restaurant which serves Thai food as well as European and Italian and has a extended choice of Seafood Bbq. The restaurant is half closed, half open and has a big bar in the center and a free 8" Pool table. There is a childrens playground in the garden. In the restaurant we have a great selection of REAL Italian Ice cream
Shoham, Israel
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Nice. No more.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

First - Don't go on a hot noon. The fans are barely fill.
The place itself is nice and comfortable and all is a wooden furniture.

The food is OK no more but with some good dishes like the pizza and the pasta.
Be careful when ordering Thai food because some of them are spicy and some of them are very hot that can bring you to tears.
Service is good but somewhat slow.
The prices are a bit high in comparing to the average prices of other places on the island.

Over all it's an OK restaurant that is a good option if you are staying is this beach.
Not worth a special trip.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    64
    26
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Excellent and very cheap restaurant.
The beef steak is recommended.
Great atmosphere and service:)
The best local and Western food you can find in Thailand.


  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Chang, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“aroi mak mak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

just had the steak, it was amazing along with the sauce and it was huuuuge.definitley one of the best restraunts in koh chang. good atmosphere with a nice owner Edwin. definitley recommend this place to any visitors

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of my favorites in Kai Bae”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I ate at Mak Mak almost every day during my one week stay in Kai Bae. They have two separate kitchens -- one for cooking their European menu, and the other for their Thai menu -- but I generally stuck to their Thai food, and it's all I can comment on.

Their curries are amazing -- some of the best I've had in Thailand so far.

Their other dishes are good, too, but if you're a curry fan, get one! You can't go wrong with any of their choices.

In general, the food here is higher quality than typical Thai food (in my experience). You pay a little extra for it, but not much extra -- and it's worth it.

Oh, and I really liked our server, too. He seemed like a genuinely nice and happy guy.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlaar, Belgium
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best food on 4 weeks Asia trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

By far the best food we had on our trip, excellent service, so just go there :)
We just discovered this one on our last night there, otherwise we would have eaten here so many times!
They don't have a massive sign on the street, so have a look for the name and you'll have an excellent evening. (They are located just in the middle of town, on the north side of the small river where the road goes down a bit)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mak Mak Family Restaurant also viewed

Ko Chang, Trat Province
Ko Chang Tai, Ko Chang
 
Ko Chang, Trat Province
Ko Chang, Trat Province
 

Been to Mak Mak Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mak Mak Family Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.