We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They ripped us off because a motorbike accident” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Magic Garden Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Chang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Magic Garden Resort
Save
You added Magic Garden Resort to your Saves list
37 / 4 Moo 1, Lonely Beach, Ko Chang 23170 , Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“They ripped us off because a motorbike accident”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

At the beginning it was ok until we had a motorbike accident. We had rented a motorbike at the Magic Garden and had a small accident. So we called them when we had that little accident on the road. The guy came, picked up the bike and told us that he will give us a reparation receipt afterwards.

The fee for the fixing was 10,700 bats which was quiet a lot for that little thing. We decided to take photos of all the broken motorbikes parts (mainly plastics) and went to another motorbike shop, far from lonely beach. This motorbike shop studied carefully all the pictures and even showed as the same model of motorbike, which he also had over there, to be sure of all the problems with it.

After that he made a bill of 3,650 bats for the reparation. So the difference between the fee of the Magic Garden and the fee of an independent place was of 7,000 bats!!! At Magic Garen they were obviously trying to rip us off.

We came back to the resort, showed the new bill with the guy, compare both bills and he got quiet angry and upset. He told us to call police and we told him to go ahead (he never did it because he was just a cheater).

It was Sunday and we had to leave the next day on the morning so we had no time to get to the official Honda Shop and get the reparation fee from there. Finally after discussing a lot with that guy (from Magic Garden) and some others working at the motorbike shop where he brought us to repair the bike, we could get a discount of 2500 bats, so we finally paid 8,500 bats even knowing that he was still cheating us. We had no option because he had our passport and we could not spend longer there.

Next morning we left the island as planned but before we went to the Official Honda motorbike shop and they told us that the reparation would have been around 6.000 bats with new and official pieces.

So MAGIC GARDEN RIPPED US OFF some thousands of bats.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    18
    7
    6
    8
See reviews for
2
25
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kho Chang, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

Magic gardens is a great location. It's a little bit south of the highly dense population at White South Beach.

The cost is one of the lowest on the island for the quality. The beach is a quick walk south through the town and very easy access.

The room is nice, it's simple but everything you need: mosquito nets, hot shower, wifi, and a comfortable bed and hammock in every room.

What I like most is the bar and location. They have a nice area where people can relax, catch a football game if you want and talk in a very comfortable lounging area.

The place is run by a Dutch guy, who understands farang mentality. He has really put a lot into making this place comfortable and good.

Every tuesday night there is a party with a free barbeque here. Honestly, I feel like this is the best package on the island for the money.

Room Tip: Go during the off-season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

I stayed at Magic Garden for about a month, from Christmas 2010 till end Jan 2011.
Simply put, a great value for money place: Quiet bungalows in a relaxed garden, hot shower (nowhere else to be found for the same price), good beds, nicely decorated rooms, fan, a hammock and a little terrace.
That for 400 Bath is not something you will easily find elsewhere in lonely beach. (comparable places are going from 500/600 and up).
Relaxed & friendly owner, always willing to help if needed (I deposited my 2500 Euro business laptop in his bungalow when I left for Cambodia for a week – not a place to walk around with an expensive laptop in my opinion).
Staff could sometimes smile a bit more, but are efficient and polite.
Good food, although the Thai kitchen is better than the western kitchen, but this is pretty common in Thailand. Other western restaurants are within 2 minutes walking distance.
Also, it is luckily a few hundred meters away from the noisy places, so at night you have peace and a good sleep (Magic Garden hosts its own parties on Tuesday, so expect to be in bed a bit later, not a problem for most people).
All in all, I will be back on Ko chang (Thailand’s most chill-out backpack island), and I most definitely will stay at Magic Garden. Again, the reason is simple: good value for little money & and a relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

In Januari we went to Koh Chang again and for the second time we spend some time on Lonely Beach and stayed at the Magic Garden. Like last year we had a splendid time here, enjoying the good food, friendly staff and the helpfull owner who even offered me the passengers seat on his motorbike when I had to be somewhere else in time!
We enjoyed the "Magic Tuesday" party night with good free BBQ food very much and although I presume we are a little bit older than most of the visitors, we danced (may be under the influence of the free mojito's?) and loved the live music and good DJ's.
Next year we will be back again!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

I stayed at The Magic Garden Resort for 10 days. I've visited Lonely Beach on 3 times over the last 2 years and stayed at many places.
The Magic Garden Resort is located on the edge of Lonely Beach so most nights it is a little quieter then being in the middle of the party scene.
Magic Tuesday is the exception when the resort hosts their 'big night' which starts with a free BBQ, live band and finally International DJ's.
Hi found the owner Matt to be a very helpful guy and all the staff friendly and efficient. I even ended up in the playing for their pool team in the Koh Chang league.
The bungalows are basic but comfortable with a double bed, open shower to the stars and a hammock strung across the terrace. Nice a quite and well positioned and very relaxing. There's is even free wi-fi for each bungalow so if you find it to much stress walking to the bar to email you can easily do it from your hammock. Livin' the dream... it's magic!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

We got to in Koh Chang on 27 Dec and had no choice but to stay at the Magic Garden as all the other resorts in Lonely Beach were full. There were 3 of us and we got a bungalow each. On our second night we returned to find the padlocks of 3 of our bungalows broken off and our rooms had been completely turned over and we had all our valuable possessions such as our ipods and cameras stolen. There are no safes at this resort so we had no choice but to keep them well hidden in our bags but they emptied the whole contents and got them.

What struck us most about this incident is when we alerted the owner of the resort, a dodgy Dutch guy called Matt, he seemed completely uninterested and didnt even make the effort to come to our rooms to see what had happened. When we pressed him that we wanted him to contact the police to come down he laughed it off and said it was not possible. We stayed in bungalows 3, 5 & 6. The next day we asked the people staying in bungalow 4 if their room had been broken into but it hadnt, so it seemed very strange that all of our rooms were broken into and they skipped the middle bungalow.

All in all it is an absolute disgrace that the owner of the resort was completely disinterested in seeing the damage to the doors and room caused by the intruder and I wouldnt put it past that he had some role in our rooms being burgled .

I strongly reccommend to anyone staying in Koy Chang Lonely Beach to avoid at all costs this resort because these break ins must happen on a regular basis there and there is nothing worse than returning to find your room broken into and a hotel owner that wont even help or call the police

Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagicGardenKohChang, Owner at Magic Garden Resort, responded to this review, February 6, 2011
This review is an unjust representation of Magic Garden as a whole, the staff and the owner in particular.
The suggestion that the resort is "suspicious" after a very unfortunate incident happened is beyond reason. As a resort owner one of my biggest fears is theft on the resort. For the last year and a half since the resort is under my ownership and management not a single time has something similar happened.

In regards to this incident on the night it happened. my personal response and my staff's has been as much as it could have been. When alerted of the burglary I inspected the bungalows that got broken into. I sent staff to patrol the immediate surroundings of the Magic Garden to see if we could catch the burglar and protect the other bungalows. I advised the affected guests to go to the tourist police to make a police report the next morning because the local police would not come that night at 3am. At check-out in the morning I gave the guests of the 4 bungalows a complimentary night because of the incident, also I promised to assist in any possible insurance claim.

The following nights my staff, some guests and myself have patrolled throughout the nights. On the 5th night we were able to catch the burglar red handed. After his arrest the police was able to find stolen goods in his apartment in Kai Bai. Currently he and two female accomplices are in jail in Trat. As they found out he has broken into bungalows at 3 different resorts on Lonely Beach in a 2 month time period. A staff member and myself have testified in court against him (he turned out to have a Brazilian nationality). The prosecutor told us that he would probably in prison for 2 - 5 years before being deported out of Thailand.

I understand people get upset and angry when belongings are stolen. It is not right to make false accusations when dealing with this anger. The Magic Garden stands for a laid back, comfortable and safe haven for all travelers. This unfortunate incident will not change that, it made us even stronger in our tactics against criminals so we hope to prevent this from happening in the future.

Matt
owner of Magic Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010 via mobile

We had a great time at the Magic garden resort. The location and set up makes it very special compared to any other resort we've stayed in, and the Dutch owner Matt is very helpful and friendly. The Jungle Theater with free movies was perfect to start the night with dinner. Definately try the red curry! Unfortunately we weren't there for the legendary Magic Tuesday party which we heard are the beat around. We had one of the bungalows with an outside bathroom which was really fun as you could see the wild monkeys swinging through the trees while we were having a shower!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magic Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Garden Resort

Address: 37 / 4 Moo 1, Lonely Beach, Ko Chang 23170 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Ko Chang
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Magic Garden Hotel Koh Chang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magic Garden Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.